We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Had pleasure of staying here in one of the suites for 3 nights, and must say probably one of the best Intercontis I have had the pleasure to stay at, service allround was impeccable, everything about the hotel was 1st Class from check in to check out was excellent.
Worth a visit for any occassion, either business or something special hard to be dispointed here.
Only fault encountered in my 3 night stay was concierge recommended a local Italian restaurant, which was very very poor, surprised such a 1st class hotel sends its clients there! but other then that hard to find fault.

Give it a go. but not the Italian!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

This hotel is amazing! Great service and location.
The food is great. The bar on the lower level is very friendly with great service.

Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
Thank MayV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

a first rate plus hotel on the water, One is led to their room and there is a fruit basket and the room is very unhotel-like. The bathroom was terrific. Everything about the room was first rate. It is a perfect hotel. Only one complaint: The restaurant is not geared for American tastes but that makes sense. I love this place.

Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank tunisfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed here three times now and this time splurged on a River view suite which was enormous.

This hotel is very expensive and has to be the best in Amsterdam. Its a classic Grand Hotel, that attracts an older, wealthy customer base. Its a 20 min walk at least from the centre and thats no bad thing these days. Got ripped off twice by taxi drivers changing the price once they knew where your staying. So get the hotel to book taxi's etc if you can

Service is impeccable, and linens, towels etc top class. If we are being ultra picky, I think its time for a decoration. Some of the wall papers are starting to look a tiny bit shabby.

All in all a fine, grand traditional hotel. Expensive, but you get what you pay for in life.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This hotel was wonderful- got a very early check in from the airport and very considerate service. We had the beautiful honeymoon suite and loved the private, secret balcony on the 2nd floor. Perfect service, a spotless room with great amenities. Yes, outside the city center so if this is a problem, reconsider- a most comfortable bed-very impressed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed for two nights at Intercontinental Amstel Hotel, hotel being situated on the Amstel River not in the centre of the city but ideally placed for transport links and not too long a walk to the centre.

On arrival we were directed to a receptionist to check-in and asked to sit down while a room was found for us. We were given an upgrade due to being Platinum Ambassador status and given a room with a river view. The room was not ready so we went for a coffee in the Amstel Lounge. When the room was ready, the lady came and give us our room cards.

The room was luxuriously appointed with a sitting area, large TV with DVD player and radio tuner. We were given a welcome gift of a delft ornament. The view from the room was delightful. As it was a very warm weekend we used the aircon - it worked fairly well but could be an issue on a hot day.

Fresh fruit was delivered to the room on numerous occaisions and a turndown service each night chocolates and a weather forecast card placed on the bed.

We had breakfast on one occaision, the staff were attentive, The large continental breakfast was nicely laid out and we were given a table overlooking the river. Other breakfast options were available at extra cost.

The pool area was well maintained with large pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi. There were sun loungers outside which I made use of as the weather was pleasant. The staff came out at regular intervals to take drink orders.

A refined hotel and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

i guess we all want a bit of luxury sometimes , there is no doubt that the amstel is a luxurious place to stay.
i didnt eat ther e because frankly i couldnt afford to...and to be honest even if i could afford to , id rather give my money to oxfam or some deserving cause and eat down the road where prices are more reasonable.
my main reason for writing this review is to warn drivers , in particular disabled drivers...that there is no free parking for the disabled , this amazed me in a country like holland.i had just driven back from poland where every place i stayed did have free disabled parking.
whatever youe views may be about whether disable drivers should have free parking..and its a matter that should be debated...even if you decide to stump up the 100 usd , 66 euros , 60 gbp for overnight parking DRIVE VERY VERY CAREFULLY.
in some effort , i suppose to stop those unwilling to pay to park at the side of the hotel , basically on the street....no obvious parking signs , nothing to indicate that you are parking up in a concierge contolled environment ..whatever that may mean.
the management have deemed it wise , and no doubt profitable to erct metal barriers approximately one foot high , which are a bit like the nothern lights....now you see em ...now you dont...now unlike the nothern star , which all joni maitchell fans know is constant...these barriers are able to be erected and dismantled by the staff of the concierge controlled environment...so basically what was not ther 10 mins ago may be there 10 minutes later when you have finished checking in , and in many cases decide d to find somewhere less exorbitantly expensive to park up for the night.
i afraid that this happened to me , when i parked my car for 10 mins to check inthere was no barrier to my left ...when i came back i dint notice the one foot high metall barrier to my left....according to the laws of physics , if you think about it , right hand drive car et al..i would have needed to have a car at leat 20 feet in height to see the one foot tall barrier that wasnt there when i checked in.
well you know the next bit...to reverse out was s very tight manouevre but i managed it without hitting anything invisible , it was when i tried to drive off , forwards that is that i hit the thing i couldnt see that wasnt ther 10 minutes earlier.
this caused massive damage to my car...did the hotel workers in the concierge controlled environment came to help me pick up the pieces ,literally of my car....a big no
did anyone try to assist me , again a big no.
it has to be said that after i had written the management alettr to the effect that i thought it a bad idea to erct invisible barriers and i was thinking of suing , their technical team reassembled some bits of my car so that i could continue my journey to england , but they would take no responsibility or acknowledge the fact that these tiny barriers are dangerous.
tips and guidelines from myself are..........if you really have to park there , stop on the street and tell the concierge people that you want to park and pay 60 pounds for the privilege , the dont touch your car until it is facing in a straight line again...because if you drive it and out of the so called car park you run a high risk of running into something that you cannot see and whose existence is known of only by those powerful concierge people
BEWARE

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winkydinkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £319 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing