We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snooty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Snooty”
Reviewed 23 April 2006

I have stayed at many fine hotels throughout America. This hotel is very lovely to look at but not one bit welcoming. The staff is aloof and watches your every move. This is not a property for teen-age guests. Late one evening we were escorted to our room by a stuffy employee. I don't think he believed we were actually registered in the hotel. The room and bath were probably the roomiest I've ever seen. The breakfast was very extensive and the champagne was a nice touch. I didn't think much of the location since it costs us 12 euros for every taxi trip. I ordered a cranberry and grey goose at the bar and it cost me 10 euros. That's around $13.00 US. We checked out 3 days early to move closer into town.

This property would be perfect for someone like Caroline Kennedy but not your average upper class American.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bugmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    130
    41
    14
    17
See reviews for
129
406
59
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2006

Can't really believe all the great reviews of this hotel. My main beef is with the parent company Inter Continental Hotels. I booked the hotel only the day before arrival and was told that the only room left was an Executive King with River View at €375 per night. We booked for 5 nights. It did seem expensive but judging from the reviews on this site I thought it would be worth it. Upon arrival we were put into a Square Facing room (not river) and told this was all that was available with no explanation or apology. With exception of the view the room was fine, although upon closer inspection the CD player was not working which was replaced the following day. Also, the speakers in the bathroom were only connected to the TV and not the CD player?!? Why they set it up in this manner is beyond me. This along with the fact the TV was at least 10 years old and the in house films were fed through on VHS (bad quality) and only 2 english channels is definitely not what I would expect from 'one of the best hotels' in the Netherlands. The minibar prices were a joke - €5.00 for a mars bar! The setting of the hotel is very grand but seeming very dated now, and the staff have the air about them that you should be grateful to be there. I have stayed in many fantastic hotels in the world - this may have been one once but certainly isn't now. The hotel is fairly close to the city centre although it is a walk of 15-20 mins. Upon checking out I was told that for 2 of the nights the rate had risen to €440.00 per night - I complained this was not what was quoted and they said that I should take it up with central reservations - again without any apology or sign of empathy for the customer. For the money it was very disappointing. I have complained to Inter Continental about the room rate change with no response so far...

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank jim3171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

This hotel defines perfection. Service, facilities, rooms, location. Words can't describe it. Book now!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travel_realist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Again an exceptional stay...
As an RA in IC Hotels schema we were upraded to an exec suite with full (free) bar. The staff, including a wonderful SAS vet on minibar replenishment detail, were attentive to a fault. The style, the ambience, and the comfort of this hotel are all five star. I'll be back. I love the city...

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank Zhaunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorshire, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2005

There are just not enough words to describe this hotel.

Room was Exec Suite on Second floor over looking the Square.

As another review has said - Breakfast is a rip off - not worth the 32.50euros at all.

Afternoon tea though is fantastic.

If you are Royal Ambassador, the free mini bar is great.

Excellent staff. The Bar next to the La Rive restaurant isn't as expensive as I expected for the class of hotel for drinks - though 95 euros for Hine, althought I had a free taste, was stretching it a bit.

Bathroom was excellent, L'Occitain toiletries. One of the best baths I have ever been in - huge and very deep.

Will be going back there in a couple of months - even if its only to empty the mini bar.

And I also took fotos.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank goneroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

Amsterdam is a very cool city, and the Amstel is one amazing hotel. You know you are in for a special treat when the taxi pulls up at the front door. Just the hotel lobby is stunning enough to take your breathe away - and that's just the beginning.

Our room, while not on the canal side, was over the top comfortable. Great bed with luxury linens and a bathroom so special - I actually took pictures. Got my first try at a rainshower (ok - but I prefer body massages), and even got to enjoy a soak in the lovely deep tub.

But we spent most of our time in the hotel in the wonderful pool area. Right on the canal, you could relax in the hot tub and watch the constant stream of boats passing by just yards from where you were sitting. Free coffee, fruit, and nuts made spending time here a total pleasure.

I even opted for a massage one afternoon. Truly relaxing and decandent.

One caution - the restaurant in the Amstel is one of Amsterdams best - La Rive. Dinner there is not to be missed - and you will want to make reservations way ahead. But breakfast is served in the same location - and it's way over the top on price! After getting ripped off the first morning, we asked at the hotel staff for alternatives, and got sent to a lovely cafe just around the corner. 1/3 the price - and better quality. More fun too. The third morning we had to catch an early flight - and the totally attentive staff provided us with coffee in the sitting room. Perfect again.

I would go back like a shot - eat dinner at La Rive again - no problem (Cheese course alone is worth the price of admission). Just avoid that breakfast and you are all set.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank thesouplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing