We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$434
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
US$348
US$314
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sir Albert Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$372
US$352
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aalders(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$556
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveller rating
820
151
46
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
151
46
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla riveriver viewbeautiful hotelclassic hotelan executive suiteturn down serviceconcierge staffsteam roomthe check in processrain showerduty managerstar hotelan upgradewonderful staybeautiful roommetro stationcoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
683 - 688 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2010

booked and paid 2 nites here. 2 hrs after checking in late at nite left hotel for the marriot never mind room paid for. its bad eneough the hotel is out of the way and next to major road construction but this is meant to be a business hotel but sadly there was no internet access (manager admitted they were having problems so wonder why they didnt tell people beforehand) and room was really shabby with dirty carpets and mirror in clothes wardrobe hanging from its nail (surely housekeeping check these things??). clearly it needs new management and a refurbishment. the marriot on the other hand was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UKHANOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Dear valued guest,

We hope you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. We are very sorry to learn that we have not been able to live up to your expectations. System errors can unfortunately occur but we agree that your room should have been immaculate upon your arrival. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. With kind regards, the Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Wanted a luxury hotel for a special occasion, so we went on the recommendation of 2 well known travel sources, instead of listening to the gripes people had about this hotel on tripadvisor. Did not live up to a 5 star hotel, paid 420 Euros/night for 5 nights for an executive river view room on the 4th floor. Room was large, but very dimly lit in all areas, river view was not that impressive. 2 windows overlooking the river, but one was in the bathroom, well actually in the shower stall. Very nice, large bathroom with huge shower and separate tub.

Hotel was quiet overall, except whenever anyone walked down the hallway, the sound/vibration of their footsteps disrupted our sleep, especially early in the morning. Many early riser business people and maids up and down the hallway. The head of our bed was against the hallway wall, never seen this in a hotel before. No coffee maker in our room. We were offered 2 glasses of complimentary champagne (by the woman who checked us in) that never came; don't offer anything you can't deliver. I should have known service would be questionable when I emailed the hotel a question before my stay, and never heard back from them. After waiting 14 days for a response, I sent a follow-up email entitled "2nd request", then I received a response.

Housekeeping was not stellar, we had to complain to housekeeping that our rug had not been vaccuumed in 3 days and one of our trash cans was not emptied after morning maid service. It was cleaned though after turn-down service. I suppose they didn't see that the rug needed vacuuming due to the bad lighting. Rather than using a vacuum to clean up crumbs, housekeeping deemed it more appropriate to cover the crumbs with the floor mat and slippers left during turndown service. This is 5 star service? Hardly. Sometimes our robes were hung up, and other times not. Sometimes our slippers were laid out bedside with turn-down service and sometimes not. Small things, but things that should be mastered by a 5 star hotel.

The concierge, his name was Aad, was outstanding. He was a pleasure and always helpful. On our first day we sat down for breakfast and waited a long time before we were approached by staff. We had omelettes that were delicious. We asked for 2 glasses of water which were brought out from the kitchen already poured, so we were very surprised when we were charged 9 Euros for the 2 glasses. It was our first meal in Amsterdam, so we were not aware that most places only have bottled water. Not many restaurants/ cafes close by to grab breakfast, would have preferred a hotel with a more central location, but we opted for the Amstel river view. We didn't feel the hotel was a value for the price we paid. The rooms need some updating too. Permanent furniture indentations in many spots of the rug where furniture previously was, crack in the ceiling over the bed, mismatched paint to cover another repair on the ceiling.

Prepaid for a better price 3 months in advance, so don't understand why there is a pending credit card charge for almost $2000 plus another misc amount. All extras that were charged to our room were paid upon check-out.

If you really love Van Gogh, go to the Kroeller Muller museum in Otterlo, it's actually better than the Van Gogh museum! Would not recommend hotel based on value and location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkpanther8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

No one made us feel welcome. From the front desk reception to the breakfast waitress to the room service staff member who never showed up with a bucket of ice. Very cold, cool staff with an attitude. However, the concierge was terrific!! and recommended a great Thai restaurant nearby....since we were very put off to walk in to the hotel dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herondoodle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Lets begin with the service...amazing. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful and even provided a couple extra umbrellas for our friends who came to visit (we of course returned the umbrellas afterward). There is a very lovely man who we went to for any concierge need and I'm sad to say I didn't get his name because he was fantastic! We would even let pick restaurants for us...we just trusted his judgment. The rooms were very clean, cozy and always happy to give us any extra toiletries if needed (we were three girls traveling overall). It's obviously not for the traveler on a budget but the money spent was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

For my second trip to Amsterdam, I decided to stay in the famous InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am thrilled I made this decision, as it was an excellent experience from beginning to end. I booked a standard city-view room and, as an InterContinental Ambassador, was upgraded to an executive river-view room. The room was beautifully laid-out in a classical style and was well-serviced. The carpet was a bit worn in some areas, but this was not to the overall detriment of the room. The hotel's fitness centre was well-stocked, including a beautiful 15m swimming pool at river level. Complimentary coffee, juice and snacks were available in the pool bar.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet area approximately 15-minutes stroll along the river to the city centre. For those not willing to make the walk, there is a stylish cafe/bar just opposite the hotel.

Staff were extremely helpful throughout the stay. The only minor problem was that there was no one to greet us and take our bags at check-in. The receptionist had to take our bags to our room for us.

I will certainly be staying at the Amstel Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews