We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #22 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Dylan is in a great location for seeing all of the sights. The duplex room was lovely and all hotel personnel were warm and helpful, especially the bartender!The buffet breakfast offers a nice variety and the terrace is lovely for a drink or snack. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    126
    34
    25
    12
See reviews for
72
291
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. Ideal location, fantastic food, 3 star Michelin restaurant--this hotel has it all.
The concierge, Stewart, was able to assist my disabled husband with any and all of our needs-including a dr. extra large taxi's for his comfort.
All staff were highly professional, spoke perfect English and offered a smile thoughout our stay.
A regular room will get you a courtyard view-which is nice--but if you want to splurge, get a deluxe room and you will be on a higher floor with a canal view.

Room Tip: Just remember, the rooms are European, so smaller than a typical 5 star hotel in the US.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at The Dylan. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet street with a canal - this is Amsterdam.
The common areas are tastefully decorated, very welcoming and pleasant. Service is good, if a bit amateurish. The restaurant is a destination itself, and very difficult to get a reservation there.
The room was small, nicely decorated, but the aesthetics prevail on the functionality: this is something I find very irritating. Traveling a lot, I cannot sacrifice functionality and simplicity to quirkiness that borders on weirdness: I do not like if i have to study a booklet of instruction to operate the dimmer of the bathroom light...

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marco56italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Spend a weekend in Amsterdam en route to East Africa. From the moment of arrival to our departure the Dylan was perfect. Lovely common spaces, restaurant areas and garden. Location in the prettiest part of the city. Friendly staff. Rooms well appointed. Dinner at their restaurant Vinkeles was memorable and delicious. Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWSWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I recently stayed at the Dylan hotel and was very impressed and satisfied. This is a very nice small luxury hotel best suited for single travelers or couples. It is very well located near the major attractions in Amsterdam. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was included in the room price and was very good. The lunch was also very good, and if the weather is nice, I would recommend you eating in the outdoor courtyard. Some rooms have an upstairs bathroom which may not be for everyone, so check first if you don't want this option. The WiFi was very good all throughout the hotel and very fast. Although this hotel is somewhat expensive, it is truly a very nice small hotel, something to be enjoyed. As stated in the title of my review, I really didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask where the bathroom is. It may be upstairs. A room facing the inner courtyard might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDBLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had heard the Dylan was a great boutique hotel to try in Amsterdam, and I wasn't disappointed. The location is amazing...right in the heart of things and easy access to everything. Service and style were first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inxile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed at the Dylan during a business trip to Amsterdam. Now this is not an option for the faint of heart as it is quite pricey even for a luxury hotel. Having said that, the hotel is truly first class. I stayed in a duplex style suite which i have to say was architecturally very interesting. The room was as luxurious as the price would imply and the room service food was very good. The hotel staff was extremely professional and helpful and the bartender was quite an engaging and interesting fellow. The hotel is located along a canal in a truly beautiful area of the city. I would definitely stay there again on any further Amsterdam trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller4lifexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing