We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bob" would love it...”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #23 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

It seems that the heritage that comes with the name, obliges to perfection!
Located in one of the most scenic, vibrant and upbeat locations in central Amsterdam, "The Dylan" offers what you may miss in touristy destinations...warmth, comfort and that touch of luxury that lets you relax feeling special, without being overtly posh and arrogant!
Carefully decorated rooms balancing between minimal and maximal, with the weight leaning towards the maximal design side with a classic scent. Upfront electronic devices let you connect to the world outside and an espresso machine connects you with the world "inside"...All common areas are warm and inviting for some quality chatting time! And after you party in the hype bars around "The Dylan", don't forget to treat yourself something from the late-night menu that runs from 11pm-11am...we're spoilt and we love it...enjoy it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about your stay at The Dylan and for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our all services as well as our hotel’s facilities and the location. We strive every day to ensure our guests feel welcome and take home great memories with them – therefore, it is a delight reading these beautiful words.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Lovely hotel. great rooms, nice bar Very quiet. Well located for a walk into town, and near several bars and restaurants. Free wifi throughout. Very friendly staff. Very cosy for a winter break. Would recommend this

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and to read you experienced your stay at The Dylan as a cosy winter break, with a convenient location and friendly staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedbacl and we look forward welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Thank you for a fabulous stay at the hotel Dylan, this weekend.


We got an early Check in time as soon as we got to you (room number 4) a cozy little room. Of you fantastic reception.
The room was perfect, maybe missing a seating area.
Missing hooks for outer clothing at the door, but works to hang in the wardrobe

The bathroom hard with hot and cold water and the mouthpiece, but the bathtub big and comfortable, missing a full-length mirror.

The bed and the color scheme of the room was perfect.

We got up amazing canapée to the room that we ordered, on time.

We had a drink in the bar before dinner, nothing to talk about, was good.

We where showed a table on the restaurag Vinkeles. ordered the respective glass of champagne and studied the menu
(a bit overpriced on the the small glas of champagne) but good.

We chose the big tasting menu with wine package. Fantastic food (something small main dishes)
Wine packetet was unfortunately not so good, most white wines of high acidity and tookin leaves of care of the food
and did not marry with the food. But it is a matter of taste. I myself sommelier and it's very personal with wine flavor.
We hadde a fantastic evening at Vinkeles.

We slept wonderfully, quiet and comfortable.

The breakfast was good maybe missing hot buffee, but everything was frech and good, and friendly staff.

The early dinner on Sunday felt like to forget, but we got a table, and ate in all its simplicity.

Big plus to the reception, wonderful staff.

Always stay at SLH when we are traveling and Dylan is now one of our favorites.
We really liked Dylan and hope to come back to you.

Room Tip: Get personal with e-mail to the hotel, there are different decorating rooms see their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclas_lindfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay at The Dylan. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your dinner at restaurant Vinkeles. We very much appreciate the beautiful comments you make about our staff and services and I will certainly forward them to the entire team.

We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in The Dylan from the 7th to the 11th of December and loved every moment. Throughout our stay the ‘Dylan Team’ made us feel very at ease and any requests we made were professionally dealt with. The decor used throughout is tasteful, fairly modern but better still cosy and relaxing and would appeal to any age group. Its location in Keizersgracht makes walking into the main parts of Amsterdam quite easy and for exploring further afield we used the hop on hop off bus.

The highlight for us however has to be the food. On the first night we ate in Brasserie OCCO and had a dish of freshly made pasta in a sherry sauce with asparagus and white truffle grated over the top – absolutely divine! Pudding wasn’t bad either and the wines recommended to compliment the dishes were perfect.

On our final evening we dined in restaurant Vinkeles – all I’m going to say about that is - if you like fine dining – then do not deny yourself – go there. The food is glorious and it is such fun. We also had a chance to meet with Executive Chef Dennis Kuipers who seemed to make a point of popping into the restaurant during the evening to personally ensure his diners were enjoying their meals which we appreciated.

When we are due to visit Amsterdam again we will not hesitate to return to The Dylan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and it is a pleasure to you how much you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the decor, location, staff and thank you for highlighting your dining experiences at Brasserie OCCO and restaurant Vinkeles.

It is great to read that you will not hesitate to return upon your next visit to Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Just writing my review while sitting by the fire at the hotel- I have never written a review before but had to pass on what a wonderful stay I had at the Dylan! We were here for a mini honeymoon break and they greeted us with champagne on check in- a lovely surprise! Very pleasant breakfast and the staff could not do more to ensure you enjoyed your stay! Room was small but cozy and the location is perfect. A tasteful beautiful hotel- thank you for having us

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for these beautiful words and for taking the time to post a review! It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay at The Dylan. We look forward welcoming you again and we wish you all the very best for 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I love The Dylan, this hotel has a lot of style, the rooms are beautifully done and very confortable, great location on a canal
Very good service from everyone
The bar area is very beautifull, we had breakfast at the restaurant and it was very pleasant
Like it a lot!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audry v, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are pleased that you found your room as well as the location and our service perfect for your stay. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Went there for an afternoon coffee. Trying to escape the snow and cold.
Excellent sercice and felt welcomed. A bit high on the age average :) but that was to be expected.
Nice coffee, excellent athmosphere.
I recommand

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audry v, Director of Sales at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for your review – we are very happy to read you enjoyed your afternoon coffee at The Dylan! We look forward to welcome you back in the furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £250 - £748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing