We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great trip”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #23 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Having arrived before the check in time the reception kindly stored our bags and did all the paperwork etc before we left sightseeing to avoid being held up on our return.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, a short walk to the museumplein, a short walk in the other direction to Anne franks house and if you don't fancy walking, there are tram stops 2 minutes away from the hotel.
The rooms were lovely, beds were so comfortable and the bathroom was big enough for a party! Some lovely toiletries too! The bar was somewhere we spent maybe too much time but the bar staff were delightful and very knowledgable. Breakfast was great, a wide array of meats, cheeses, breads, yoghurts and more. We also had lunch at the hotel's brasserie which was also lovely with some great homemade ice cream and sorbets. There is a gym at the hotel but very small with 3 cardio machines (bike, treadmill, stepper) and a small weights multi gym - never busy though.
All in all a very quiet hotel but that is what we were looking for in our weekend away. I would highly recommend it but not for young children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgieemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us.
The Dylan is located in the city centre of Amsterdam, just a short walk to various places of interest. Indeed perfect if you want to go for a nice stroll or do some sightseeing.
We appreciate your thoughts regarding our service; it will serve as an encouragement as we continue striving to provide exceptional service always. Moreover, it is a pleasure reading your comments regarding the room and breakfast.

Thank you once more for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back as our guests in the future!

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

The staff of this hotel was very friendly. We landed very early in the morning and the staff was very kind and checked us in and even upgraded our room for us since that was empty that early in the morning. We expected to just drop our bags off and walk around Amsterdam until the room was ready so it was a very pleasant surprise. The whole stay there every member of the staff was extremely pleasant. The room was great with the bathroom on the 2nd floor of our room. The bed was very comfortable and overall very clean. I recommend eating at the restaurant Vinkeles, this was a dining experience to remember. It will be a meal I will never forget. We ordered the chefs menu along with the wine pairing. Every dish was so elegantly prepared and the flavors contrasted so perfectly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sokolovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of the room, which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had three fantastic nights at the Dylan to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel is in a quiet location on the Keizersgracht canal, but only minutes from lots of good bars and restaurants. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, and ready to help with any questions or requests we had. Our room was large and comfortable, and the public areas cool and inviting.

We will definitely go back to the Dylan; if only all hotels were as good as this one!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorset_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting The Dylan Amsterdam. It is an absolute honor to read your wonderful words about the hotel and our team.

As you already mention, The Dylan is located very well in the center of Amsterdam, just around the corner of the 9-streets shopping district, bars and wonderful restaurants.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights.Arrived to find friendly staff and a very welcoming and relaxed feel. Within 3 hours of arriving they had arranged a massage for us before dinner. The bistro restaurant has great food and a wine list, we couldn't get into the Michelin starred restaurant ( it was fully booked, which is a compliment indeed in these economic times ) but were not disappointed by the Bistro. During our 2 day stay we must have met over 20 staff and universally they smiled and couldn't do enough for us. Go in the summer and I bet the courtyard is stunning for evening drinks.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fredandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I found this hotel by walking around Amsterdam. I couldn't get a room at the Pulitzer for my next stay in eAmsterdam because of a big convention and I came across this hotel. The bent over backwards to get me a room and accommodate me. This alone won me over but when I saw the room and experienced the professional service I was again won over. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it is supposed to be one of the best. The location is just down the canal from the Pulitzer so it has an equally convenient location for everything. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Dylan Amsterdam and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It is great to know that you found our location convenient for your stay. We are delighted to read that you experienced excellent service throughout your stay at The Dylan, which is something we always aim for.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Yours sincerely,
René Bornmann
General Manager The Dylan Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I am currently staying at The Dylan and it is a great experience. The staff are excellent, they are so helpful, the style and design is very impressive and the hotel has a wonderful feel to it. It is in a great location and easy to reach all attractions.

I have stayed at many 5* hotels in the world and this stay certainly ranks amongst the best! If you like a smaller hotel and a more personal experience.

I would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely words on The Dylan Amsterdam and for taking the time to write a review.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the hotel's staff, design and location in specific. Thank you for ranking our hotel amongst the best 5-star hotels in the world - it is an honor and pleasure to receive such a beautiful compliment.
We are looking forward welcoming you back as our guest!

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

It seems that the heritage that comes with the name, obliges to perfection!
Located in one of the most scenic, vibrant and upbeat locations in central Amsterdam, "The Dylan" offers what you may miss in touristy destinations...warmth, comfort and that touch of luxury that lets you relax feeling special, without being overtly posh and arrogant!
Carefully decorated rooms balancing between minimal and maximal, with the weight leaning towards the maximal design side with a classic scent. Upfront electronic devices let you connect to the world outside and an espresso machine connects you with the world "inside"...All common areas are warm and inviting for some quality chatting time! And after you party in the hype bars around "The Dylan", don't forget to treat yourself something from the late-night menu that runs from 11pm-11am...we're spoilt and we love it...enjoy it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about your stay at The Dylan and for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our all services as well as our hotel’s facilities and the location. We strive every day to ensure our guests feel welcome and take home great memories with them – therefore, it is a delight reading these beautiful words.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
862 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,175 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £250 - £743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing