We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #21 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a quite the oasis in the middle of the best part of old Amsterdam. Beautiful rooms. First rate service. The restaurant in the hotel, Vinkles, is absolutely top notch. Great service and food. Highly recommended in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonCornutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful and very delighted review regarding your stay at The Dylan Amsterdam. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and that you really enjoyed your room and the experience with us.

We are delighted you really appreciated the quality of service provided by the team, as well as your culinary experience at restaurant Vinkeles. It will be our great pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team.

Thank you once more for sharing your review and for recommending the hotel to other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have been before for dinner, and a friend of us suggested that we stayed at the Dylan this time. The hotel is a small a boutique hotel, its pretty and cozy. The service is so so, it has too many stairs all over the place, and in much of their rooms, where you have the bed in one floor, and the bathroom in another. It is not a place where you feel that service is everything, they are accommodating, but they don't' go out of their way to give a good service. We liked it, but expected more.

Room Tip: Be aware that the duplex rooms have the bathroom in one floor, and the the bed in other. The stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for your constructive comments and for sharing your feedback with us, which is valuable to us in improving the service to our guests.

It is a pleasure to read that you have experienced the hotel as pretty and cosy. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

On one side, we are grateful for the unique building, which originates from the 18th century. On the other side, with The Dylan being a monumental building, this also comes along with certain limitations.

Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the lack of service you may have experienced. We always strive for the highest level of service and professionalism.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
We hope that you will consider staying at The Dylan again so that we may show you the high level of service which we are known for.

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank IlyasH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Beautiful hotel on the Kaizergracht, looking over the canals. Quite central, only 10 minutes walk to the Centrum. Staff were very courteous and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Room was delightful.
Easy for me to say as my girlfriend treated me but definitely worth the visit

Room Tip: Deluxe double rooms were spacious and the bathrooms beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkieJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Dylan.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and really appreciated the hotel's location and the room.

Your kind words on the team and service are greatly appreciated and I will certainly be sharing these with all of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was our fifth visit to The Dylan and as unique as the previous visits thanks to choosing a different room type each time. The service is excellent and it was a safe haven on Queen's Day/Coronation Day. The location allows for ample walking experiences as well.

Our room (#16) was two stories with the bed and couch downstairs and a large bath up the spiral staircase. As we were near the elevator plus the bed was near the door, we did hear more noise than we wanted to.

We dined at Vinkele's and it was the best meal of our two-week vacation. Forget the cost and take advantage of a superb restaurant.

The weather was too cool (cold?) to sit in the courtyard with the exception of one day (blankets provided!). We have found the courtyard to be a spectacular place in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are thankful for your words. Besides, it is a pleasure to have welcomed you for the fifth time already!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our room and your dining experience in restaurant Vinkeles. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.
Once again we are appreciative to your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Wonderful hotel with great staff. Perfect location for the museums and other attractions. Very good Michelin starred restaurant with knowledgeable sommelier.
Bedroom was great but the bathroom we had was a bit cramped and the design of the sink and shower were not extraordinary. Next time we will ask for a bath and not a shower.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask fro a bath not a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your effort to recommend our hotel to others.

We are delighted you really appreciated our very central and convenient location in the heart of Amsterdam, within walking distance to the main museums and attractions. Besides, it is a pleasure to read that you experienced a great dinner in restaurant Vinkeles.

Please feel free to approach our staff at any time and to next time ask for a separate bath or shower according to your likings.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £274 - £809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing