We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dylan Amsterdam
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$307
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$372
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$283
US$208
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$324
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
446
136
37
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
136
37
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelmichelin star restaurantnine streetsgreat boutiquerestaurant staffbeautiful hotelespresso machinebeautiful canalperfect locationmini barsteep stairsdam squarevinkelesconciergeblakesslhduplex
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed there with my boyfriend on a romantic weekend in Amsterdam, and we both loved the stylish yet friendly atmosphere of the hotel. We had a very good surprise with the room as it was bigger than what the pictures looked, and service was amazing, discreet and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agatha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Dylan.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our hotel and that you were pleased with your room.
We will be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A beautiful hotel, very stylish.
Wonderful service, friendly and helpful staff.
Big rooms (could be cosier, but good anyway).
Nice location. Close to everything and very intimate at the same time.
Lobby with a fireplace is perfect in the rainy weather.
Great restaurant with a Michelin star.
Wine card is very good.
Small details that make you happy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiebelaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in the Dylan Amsterdam.
We are happy to read that you were satsified with the provided service and that you enjoyed our fireplace in the lobby.
We will be happy to welcome you again,

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Located on a quiet canal, the Dylan is the perfect place to come home to after touring the city. It is dark, comforting and makes you feel stylish and sexy. We had a great room overlooking the canal, ( room #39). Huge by any standards. Service was great and unobtrusive. The common areas are all the photos promise...and more. It is not inexpensive by any means. But if you can, it's worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doggydoc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to read that you were pleased with the location and room 34.
We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Dylan. Amsterdam was the last stop on a 15 day vacation, and we arrived in Amsterdam after travelling throughout Italy. It was really a great last stop and helped to end an amazing vacation on a great note.

The hotel is beautiful - very modern and moody with a lot of different textures and flecks of bright color. They upgraded us on arrival to a duplex room which was beautiful. Our bedroom was on the first floor and bathroom on the second which worked out fine for us, but may be challenging for those who have trouble with stairs so keep that in mind when you choose a room.

Everything was extremely clean, the shower had great water pressure and there was a large bath. The only drawback was no normal mirror in the bathroom (only a zoomed in one), but it is also entirely possible that we were to dumb to figure out where it was!

The hotel staff was lovely and accommodating, helping with directions, maps, taxis, etc. They have two restaurants, one is a Michelin rated restaurant called Vinkeles although we did not eat there we did eat at their other restaurant Occo, and also ordered room service one of the nights. The food was great! Breakfast was lovely each morning although not included in the room rate so keep that in mind when you budget.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The location was in the best part of Amsterdam (in my opinion) which was the "9 streets" area. Very quiet and beautiful with canals all around and within walking distance to a number of great attractions like Ann Frank house and flower market, and in the best shopping area in Amsterdam if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Our duplex room (number 17) was very quiet, easy access to everything in the hotel, and was a split level room which I liked since it felt very specious, especially considering room sizes in Europe.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
Also on behalve of our staff, we were glad to serve you in the last days of your vacation and that you enjoyed room 17 and the "9 streets" area.
We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Extremely forthcoming staff. Perfect breakfast. Parking valet service, at a price.
Intimate athmosphere throughout the entire hotel.
Harry Potter -like intricate flights of stairs! Very stylish theme rooms.
I totally love this centre-ville hotel.

Room Tip: . Our first stay we slept in a 'two-story' room, which meant the bathroom, tub and shower were under ceiling beams, up a flight of stairs... tricky when I get up at night.... Second time around we asked for a level room. A/C works wonders during hot summer weather.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaParamaribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are lucky to hear that you were pleased with the atmosphere throughout our hotel. We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews