We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy ,boring and very dark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dylan Amsterdam
Ranked #22 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Generally the reviews of this hotel are good so we booked for a 3 night weekend break .On check-in we sat at the desk for 10 minutes before the receptionist acknowledged our presence .She was on the phone .Very rude and unwelcoming

We asked the concierge if we could rent a bike .he said no they were all out .When asked if he could help us organise bike rentals, he told us the shop was down the road.i reminded him that in a hotel with this price tag i expected him to organise it for us .I complained to the manager about the attitude of his staff and he was very apologetic and organised complimentary bikes .
The hotel restaurant was over priced ,boring and the food was tastless ,avoid it .Although Amsterdam is not really a foodie city there are much better options ,such as Yamagata's at the Okura hotel which was excellent and a pancake house 200 M from the Anne Frank House called the pancake bakery
BUT the worst thing about the Dylan was it was so dark.Our bedroom had one small window and lots of dark wooden furniture
Overall i would give the Dylan a miss .Try the Grand or Pullitzer or the Amstel which is very expensive .
Some advice -dont miss the Anne Frank House and the Van Gogh museum and pre book the Anne Frank visit on the Internet ,it saves a lot of time lining up .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frontierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

Would I go again? No, for 350 euros a night I'd rather book a nice and cosy B&B and have a perfect 7 course meal for the same price. But all attractive B&B's were booked. The entrance was grand, room was beautifully furnished with luxury mini bar, bathroom very modern and stylish. Nice details like bottle of fresh water and nice chocolats, apples and a welcome-letter. Perfect breakfast (they offered included but I had to pay for it. I had it refunded later, after complaint), with fresh exotic fruit, fresh juices, crispy croissants, etc. All personell was very friendly and perfectly educated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

- and I stay in a lot of good hotels. Beautiful salon and lobby, fireplace, great food, good music everywhere, very nice rooms, and great people and superb location. Worth every cent!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gleonhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The position is fantastic, the ambiance great and the staff friendly but genuine. The rooms was luxurious , one little niggle was the open plan bathroom offered little privacy. After countless trips to this great city on biz and pleasure I have at last found THE hotel. Expensive, yes, especially for us Brits, but worth every €.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rvrman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We loved the hotel, thought the bar, restaurant and lounge were superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we ran into a little difficulty. The bedroom was good, but not really very luxurious - wardrobe was non existent, and the room itself was small. It was our decision to go for a two-floor room, but the bathroom upstairs was a bit impractical - steep stairs to climb in the dark in the middle of the night! The breakfasts are expensive - we ate out the second day, but the quality of food was good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lizzie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Canel facing room was great, service excellent and dinner on Saturday evening in the hotel restaurant was amongst the best I have ever had. Staff friendly and professional and v helpful. Hotel is in an excellent location enabling you to walk to most places. 1000 euros for two nights (including Sat night dinner), so not cheap but if you have that sort of budget for a weekend then stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Andy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Arrived at the Dylan on the morning after Christmas Day '08 and our room was ready after an all-night flight from Dulles. It was really frigid in Amsterdam and the room, which was overlooking the courtyard, was quite drafty. My wife speaks Dutch (an impenitrable language for me) and we were treated very courteously by the staff. I would say that our black & white Asian-theme room was chic but shabby and needed rennovation. The bathroom sink was very low and you had to bend over to see yourself in the mirror all the time. Most distressing was that the shower fixtures were broken and my wife could not take a bath in the huge tub. Shower only. The bed was very comfortable however. Hotel amenities and style were lovely. I agree with the person who noted the high cost of breakfast. We did not have any other meals in the hotel--but the public rooms were very stylish. Value vs. Price? Hmmmm... not so sure. The Dylan was VERY expensive and I think I could have shopped around for a less pricey boutique-type hotel but the reviews swayed me. Doubt I/we would stay there again but it was a positive experience overall--just not REALLY worth that $$. I should have asked to see other comparably-priced rooms in the hotel. Agree with other comments that the location is GREAT>!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Banjoman2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
926 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,395 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan Amsterdam

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £259 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dylan Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing