We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing stay at the Dylan...”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #21 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay at the Dylan...”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very disappointing stay at the Dylan. Service is non existent, staff are borderline rude and the hotel is looking shabby.

When we arrived from the airport there was nobody available to help us bring in our bags from the taxi. The excuse was a meeting!

Ordering breakfast was a joke; it took the staff three separate trips to our room from the kitchen to get it right and this was done with borderline contempt. In fact the girl serving us was rude.

We have stayed several times at the Dylan in the past few years but we think that this is the last visit for us. We pointed out the issues to management but there was literally no remorse or apology, just smugness.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lightofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    129
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
76
300
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is in a great location surrounded by little cafes and lovely boutiques. Easy walk to main areas too. Beautiful shared space, and immaculate service. Our room was very design - a little overengineered in some ways, but truly comfortable and luxurious. Would highly recommend overall.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luxurybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I arrived at the Dylan on 10th September for IBC looking like drowned rats as it was pouring with rain and the taxi dropped us nearby but not outside. Check in was ok the young lady did not speak much and did not ask us if we would like a table for dinner. Our room 20 was a good size in a horrible colour-red, but with a good size bathroom. The only problem with it was that we could not figure out how to turn off the bathroom lights and as the door is glass we put up with it until the next day. (switch is in cupboard above sink)
On Saturday breakfast was nice with lovely orange juice and service. After walking around IBC for the day I decided to stay in on Saturday night to rest my leg as I have injured it. The problem with this plan is that I could not eat or drink in the hotel because the whole of the downstairs had been booked out for a party. I had no option but to stay in my room. Our room overlooked the courtyard where some of the party was happening and the noice was horrendous, it went on until 11.45pm and then the staff made noice until 12.30am putting all the furniture back and cleaning up. Room service was not very nice either so I was stuck wit a bar of chocolate and a bottle of water. I would have liked to have sat in the bar with a glass of champagne,some food and my book instead! We have been to Amsterdam many times and always at different hotels, this was the most expensive and we expected a little more but it was a let down which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the dylan hotel. we have stayed in Amsterdam many times and in many of the top hotels but this was by far the best experience. the staff and service, attention to detail, welcome,ambience of room and lounge/terrace were all outstanding. the attentive staff were so friendly and you never had to wait for a thing. yet they were not hovering over you or making you feel like you had to order more drinks or more food. i noticed that the staff were also very friendly to tourists to who just wanted to pop into the hotel to have a look at the grand building and the beautiful terrace. i thought this was very nice to see as sometimes the 5 star hotels can be a bit arrogant. the concierge, the reception, the bar staff and the housekeeping were all tip top. we will definitely be going back to the Dylan.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burgsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We were wow'd upon entering the hotel. The building is gorgeous and the chic black window frames on old stone and modern white walls gave the Dylan and very sleek and refined image. Downside is that the rooms are a bit small, the wash basin had some black mold stains, the floor in the bathroom was a bit soiled and the toilet flush button is very hard to push. The gym was also very small with 3 machines but they were well maintained and very new. But all this is easily made up for by the personal level of service that can't be matched by bigger hotel chains. The concierge is very professional and seasoned. If you are renting bikes from them...beware if you are shorter than 5'4". Their bikes are very tall.
The Michelin star restaurant was good and the food was precise...appetizers were good but mains only ok. All in all, We loved the Dylan and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinetrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed here for three nights and I think the hotel is absolutely top drawer. We were in a luxury double (Kimono) room which was really nicely done, very trendy but still livable. Really comfortable bed and all of the amenities were excellent. The location too is great, on the Kaisergracht which is in the middle of it all.

The only downsides of the room were a lack of wardrobe space and an odd set up in the bathroom were you needed to be under 5'5" or over 6'2'' cm to properly see in the mirror. Maybe they assumed all visitors would be Dutch height. Also the pay tv wasn't working and took longer than expected to fix, but these were small gripes.

The staff are fantastic, really helpful and friendly, the suggestions of the concierge were spot on and we really enjoyed all of the recommendations. The highlight though was the dinner at Vinkeles which has a well deserved Michelin star. Great, great meal and great service. I'm still thinking about the seaweed encrusted tuna. The head chef came around to chat to us too which was really appreciated.

We definitely will be back, when I save up enough again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We booked the Dylan partly for practicality and partly as it looked on the website like a good place to base ourselves during some important meetings that were going to require a lot of preparation. We were very pleased we did.
Our first room wasn't right for working in but would have been pleasant otherwise. Iit overlooked the room of an enclosed courtyard. So we upgraded (at our cost but that's fair) to a better room on a top floor. High windows, lots of light, overlooking the main courtyard. Perfect for planning, discussing and writing. The bathroom was reached by a spiral staircase, in what would have been an attic in years gone by. All aspects of the room were very well chosen and fresh.
The staff were great, e.g. printing out docs, turning around the pressing of shirts quickly, getting an extra chair for working at the desk.
We never managed to dine in the formal restaurant but very good meals were available from lunchtime onwards, so we could eat well downstairs when we needed a break. Or sit in the open courtyard over a drink.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing