We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
488
139
38
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
139
38
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel michelin star restaurant nine streets beautiful hotel restaurant staff canal view junior suite location is excellent van gogh museum dam square vinkeles concierge slh city brasserie fireplace lounge
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Dylan is almost too good to be true. It's canal-side location, the little patio, the minimalistic furniture, the wood strip floors throughout the lobby, bar, in fact the entire hotel, the cosy bar with the fireplaces, the small winding staircases leading to the upper floors, the fact that they serve you Egg Benedict even late night at the bar, the Vynkeles Gourmet Restaurant - stay at the Dylan once, and you will never, never want to stay at another Amsterdam hotel again. Only downside is the cost, but we always feel it's worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centuriontraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very disappointing stay at the Dylan. Service is non existent, staff are borderline rude and the hotel is looking shabby.

When we arrived from the airport there was nobody available to help us bring in our bags from the taxi. The excuse was a meeting!

Ordering breakfast was a joke; it took the staff three separate trips to our room from the kitchen to get it right and this was done with borderline contempt. In fact the girl serving us was rude.

We have stayed several times at the Dylan in the past few years but we think that this is the last visit for us. We pointed out the issues to management but there was literally no remorse or apology, just smugness.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lightofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is in a great location surrounded by little cafes and lovely boutiques. Easy walk to main areas too. Beautiful shared space, and immaculate service. Our room was very design - a little overengineered in some ways, but truly comfortable and luxurious. Would highly recommend overall.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank luxurybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I arrived at the Dylan on 10th September for IBC looking like drowned rats as it was pouring with rain and the taxi dropped us nearby but not outside. Check in was ok the young lady did not speak much and did not ask us if we would like a table for dinner. Our room 20 was a good size in a horrible colour-red, but with a good size bathroom. The only problem with it was that we could not figure out how to turn off the bathroom lights and as the door is glass we put up with it until the next day. (switch is in cupboard above sink)
On Saturday breakfast was nice with lovely orange juice and service. After walking around IBC for the day I decided to stay in on Saturday night to rest my leg as I have injured it. The problem with this plan is that I could not eat or drink in the hotel because the whole of the downstairs had been booked out for a party. I had no option but to stay in my room. Our room overlooked the courtyard where some of the party was happening and the noice was horrendous, it went on until 11.45pm and then the staff made noice until 12.30am putting all the furniture back and cleaning up. Room service was not very nice either so I was stuck wit a bar of chocolate and a bottle of water. I would have liked to have sat in the bar with a glass of champagne,some food and my book instead! We have been to Amsterdam many times and always at different hotels, this was the most expensive and we expected a little more but it was a let down which is a shame.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the dylan hotel. we have stayed in Amsterdam many times and in many of the top hotels but this was by far the best experience. the staff and service, attention to detail, welcome,ambience of room and lounge/terrace were all outstanding. the attentive staff were so friendly and you never had to wait for a thing. yet they were not hovering over you or making you feel like you had to order more drinks or more food. i noticed that the staff were also very friendly to tourists to who just wanted to pop into the hotel to have a look at the grand building and the beautiful terrace. i thought this was very nice to see as sometimes the 5 star hotels can be a bit arrogant. the concierge, the reception, the bar staff and the housekeeping were all tip top. we will definitely be going back to the Dylan.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews