We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #22 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Checking into the Dylan was a breeze. The driver picked us up at the airport and gave us a great overview of the city and its canal system on our way to the hotel. We were greeted by such a friendly and gracious staff. Our room was even more beautiful and comfortable than we imagined. Great bathtub, super hot water, wonderful view, comfortable bed...everything was perfect. We were so grateful to be allowed to check in early. The concierge was extremely helpful and kind. The location is superb. The lounge and bar area were warm and inviting. Our roomservice was delicious and served very quickly. But what surprised us the most was the fantastic staff. EVERYONE was so friendly and helpful. We were so spoiled that we will never be able to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for The Dylan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Dylan whilst visiting a good friend of mine who lives in Amsterdam.
Check in was fine and we were taken up to our room which was at the other end of the hotel on the top floor which was nice as it was quiet. The room was unusual but lovely, long and thin but still spacious. The next morning I jumped in the shower and it was a weak trickle which also couldn't hold the temperature so it would be cold and then go to scorching. It took me nearly 30 minutes compared to my usual 10 and put me in a grumpy mood! We told the front desk on our way out and they said that someone would fix it. We went out sightseeing for the day, returned and asked if the shower had been fixed and they said yes as if they had found a problem and fixed it. However the hower was no better and again we told them on our way out to dinner. The next morning I had the same terrible shower experience. We checked out, told them that it still hadn't been fixed and put it in the comments card but have had no response. What is the point of a comments card if you are not going to respond to feedback?
Nice hotel but unfortunately this left a bad taste in our mouth for the money we were paying and the lack of follow up is terrible service for what is supposed to be a high class hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidayhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Dylan is almost too good to be true. It's canal-side location, the little patio, the minimalistic furniture, the wood strip floors throughout the lobby, bar, in fact the entire hotel, the cosy bar with the fireplaces, the small winding staircases leading to the upper floors, the fact that they serve you Egg Benedict even late night at the bar, the Vynkeles Gourmet Restaurant - stay at the Dylan once, and you will never, never want to stay at another Amsterdam hotel again. Only downside is the cost, but we always feel it's worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centuriontraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very disappointing stay at the Dylan. Service is non existent, staff are borderline rude and the hotel is looking shabby.

When we arrived from the airport there was nobody available to help us bring in our bags from the taxi. The excuse was a meeting!

Ordering breakfast was a joke; it took the staff three separate trips to our room from the kitchen to get it right and this was done with borderline contempt. In fact the girl serving us was rude.

We have stayed several times at the Dylan in the past few years but we think that this is the last visit for us. We pointed out the issues to management but there was literally no remorse or apology, just smugness.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lightofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is in a great location surrounded by little cafes and lovely boutiques. Easy walk to main areas too. Beautiful shared space, and immaculate service. Our room was very design - a little overengineered in some ways, but truly comfortable and luxurious. Would highly recommend overall.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank luxurybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I arrived at the Dylan on 10th September for IBC looking like drowned rats as it was pouring with rain and the taxi dropped us nearby but not outside. Check in was ok the young lady did not speak much and did not ask us if we would like a table for dinner. Our room 20 was a good size in a horrible colour-red, but with a good size bathroom. The only problem with it was that we could not figure out how to turn off the bathroom lights and as the door is glass we put up with it until the next day. (switch is in cupboard above sink)
On Saturday breakfast was nice with lovely orange juice and service. After walking around IBC for the day I decided to stay in on Saturday night to rest my leg as I have injured it. The problem with this plan is that I could not eat or drink in the hotel because the whole of the downstairs had been booked out for a party. I had no option but to stay in my room. Our room overlooked the courtyard where some of the party was happening and the noice was horrendous, it went on until 11.45pm and then the staff made noice until 12.30am putting all the furniture back and cleaning up. Room service was not very nice either so I was stuck wit a bar of chocolate and a bottle of water. I would have liked to have sat in the bar with a glass of champagne,some food and my book instead! We have been to Amsterdam many times and always at different hotels, this was the most expensive and we expected a little more but it was a let down which is a shame.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the dylan hotel. we have stayed in Amsterdam many times and in many of the top hotels but this was by far the best experience. the staff and service, attention to detail, welcome,ambience of room and lounge/terrace were all outstanding. the attentive staff were so friendly and you never had to wait for a thing. yet they were not hovering over you or making you feel like you had to order more drinks or more food. i noticed that the staff were also very friendly to tourists to who just wanted to pop into the hotel to have a look at the grand building and the beautiful terrace. i thought this was very nice to see as sometimes the 5 star hotels can be a bit arrogant. the concierge, the reception, the bar staff and the housekeeping were all tip top. we will definitely be going back to the Dylan.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,193 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £277 - £846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing