We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super central A’dam and it felt like home !!!!”
Review of Wildervanck

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildervanck
Ranked #146 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Wildervanck B&B for 3 nights. We’ve got a very warm welcome and Helene and Sjoerd really cared about our well being. Even one morning, when I was feeling sick, they cared so sweet about me and I felt much better afterwards! The breakfast is really nice (fresh orange juice, several cheeses, cereal, fruit, fresh bread/rolls etc.). The breakfast table is in a special room with a garden view and we enjoyed the cosy disorderly atmosphere in their home, which is in contrast with the neat organized room. The bedroom is spacious with a private bathroom. Because we stayed in the souterrain (basement with a door and window), I had my own entrance, which made it feel, like we had our own place in Amsterdam. It was a bit noisy though but this is centre Amsterdam.
The location is perfect and several trams stop a few steps away. Restaurants, bars, museums, shops all closeby and walking distance.

Comparing the B&B to a hotel, it’s a bit pricey. But therefor it’s a real B&B with the special atmosphere and a lovely homy feeling. The owners are extremely helpful with a true personal touch. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Overall, it was very convenient and I can recommend it to people who enjoy the city life.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at the Wildervanck B&B in central Amsterdam for two nights. It's got a great location. It's conveniently located near the Leidsplein, Museumsplein, Vondelpark, etc. It's in a beautiful old canal house and our large room was clean and featured a modern private bathroom. The breakfast was tasty and the owners were nice and helpful. It seemed a bit pricey to me, but that's Amsterdam, I guess. Overall, it was quite convenient for our needs for this stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two rooms - the "Belle Chambre" is on the main floor yet and in the main part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My wife and I spent four days at this B&B and were very disappointed, contrary to the "awsome" comments of the previous reviewer.
The building is perfectly located on the canal and the tram stops less than a block away. The owners have three young children that are well behaved but to put it bluntly, the have the ruleof the house and as a result, the place is a mess. There are piles of clothing scattered about, apparently ready to be laundered and toys everywhere. The kitchen and the adjascent eating area need a good scrubbing.
We stayed in a building that was once a storage structure that was converted to a bedroom and adjoining bathroom. In order to reach it, one has to go through the first floor and then exit the kitchen into the garden area. The problem is, the garden is strewn with construction debris, the shrubs need a good trimming, and weeds have sprouted everywhere. There is no clean garden furniture, not that you would want to sit out there.
Our room was very nice and quiet but there is no cleaning service to speak of. Our trash container was emptied after three days, the towels were never changed, and you have to make your own bed. Wifi is only accessible in the kitchen.
Breakfast the first morning was abundant but decreased as the days went on. On our final day, there were about 6 slices of bread, no rolls, some cereal, a sorry looking bowl of diced fruit, three croussants to be shared by 6 guests, two apples from the day before, and the coffee wasn't ready at 9:00am. The wife sat in the kitchen reading the newspaper, with wet hair, having taken a shower, while the husband scrambled to feed the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PrincetonGlober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The perfect Bed and Breakfast! The location is Amsterdam is right in the center of town on a beautiful canal. The family that owns the B aNd B is wonderful and provides a great breakfast every morning. They are very helpful with advice and suggestions. They even shared there museum cards with us so we did not have to pay to get into the museums.
We stayed in the large room in the front of the house with a large bathroom and the view of the canal and it was great. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWALDERHAUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulthomasago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vi o quarto do andar de baixo, mais barato do que o que fiquei e pode acomodar tranquilamente duas p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anaolandim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#174 of 372 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
De Leydsche Hof
De Leydsche Hof
#123 of 338 in Amsterdam
37 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizershouse Amsterdam
Keizershouse Amsterdam
#115 of 338 in Amsterdam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildervanck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildervanck

Address: Keizersgracht 498, 1017 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing