We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildervanck

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildervanck
Ranked #170 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved this place. The room was charming with a wonderful view onto the canal. It was very close to everything but quiet. The Wildervanck's were very warm people and most helpful. Helene twice made us her extremely tasty special pancakes, and Sjoerd made an egg to order each day. His French press coffee should not be missed. The breakfast room had a nice view onto their garden, the fresh tulips in our room were a much appreciated touch, and if you stay be sure to ask about the artist who used to live in their house.

Room Tip: Choose the one in front with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We selected this B&B based on Rick Steves recommendation. The owners / hosts, Helene and Sjoerd are simply wonderful people. They clearly enjoy running a B&B and treat their guests extremely well. We originally planned to stay 3 nights but extended our stay to 4 nights. For starters you cannot beat the location. It's in a safe neighborhood near outstanding restaurants and nightlife. It's conveniently located within within a 1 minute walk to the Amsterdam Tram stop. The room is small, but that's going to be the case anywhere you stay in Amsterdam. It's clean and has a nice bathroom and shower. The food at breakfast is very good and we particularly enjoyed the outdoor dining in their back garden. Finally, Helene and Sjoerd provided excellent advice on sight seeing recommendations, etc.

Room Tip: Choosing a B&B in Amsterdam can be an added bonus because eating, talking and living with a loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived early am after flying all night (early December) and were able to get the canal view room, and we loved it! The family is very accommodating and the location is great. The room was large and we enjoyed watching all the action outdoors through the canal window. Breakfast was good with fresh coffee and made to order egg. Bonus...no indoor stairs it climb.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BSA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We love staying here and have stayed here for 3 different vacations. The owners, Helene and Sjoerd, are wonderful people. The food is great. Sjoer made us breakfast every morning. He cooked eggs just the way we liked them. There was cheese, hot bread, yogurt, cereal, and fresh fruit everyday. He even steamed milk for us. The rooms are cleaned daily. The location is perfect. You can catch the tram less than 5 min. away. It is a beautiful setting right on the canal. You are living with a real family right in the middle of Amsterdam and really get a sense of what it would be like living with a modern family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinRenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Found this place on Trip Advisor so booked after reading other reviews about this place. We had the lower room which was about 4 steps down from street level. Careful, watch your head as the door is only about about five feet tall. The room had twin beds which were quite comfortable. The bathroom is large and had a good shower. There was also a mini refrigerator in the room to keep beverages cool. Excellent breakfast also included. Would recommend and would book here again if I return to Amsterdam. Also had a good wifi connection in our room.

Room Tip: Twin room with 2 single beds on lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wesco1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

After reading the somewhat conflicting reviews posted here, I wondered what would prompt Rick Steves to include this B&B in his guidebook. I travel with five other seniors, and was attracted by the lack of stairs and the unbeatable location in the central canal zone. As soon as I was met by Sjoerd and shown our rooms, I relaxed. He and Helene could not have been nicer or more helpful during the week we spent with them, recommending places to eat, ordering taxis, and helping with airline confirmations. Our rooms were basic but comfortable, with large, modern bathrooms, comfortable beds with soft linens that were changed every two days, and plenty of hot water. The breakfasts exceeded our expectations, with fresh croissants and rolls, cereals, milk, coffee and tea, fresh fruit and orange juice, and eggs cooked to order every morning. Helene even got gluten-free breads for us. Because of the excellent service regarding the BEDS and BREAKFASTS, it was possible to overlook some disorder in the private areas of the house, and the neglected state of the garden. This is a good value for Amsterdam, and I recommend it for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: The basement room and the large room in the main house had free WiFi although the garden room did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frauenfeld
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Wildervanck B&B for 3 nights. We’ve got a very warm welcome and Helene and Sjoerd really cared about our well being. Even one morning, when I was feeling sick, they cared so sweet about me and I felt much better afterwards! The breakfast is really nice (fresh orange juice, several cheeses, cereal, fruit, fresh bread/rolls etc.). The breakfast table is in a special room with a garden view and we enjoyed the cosy disorderly atmosphere in their home, which is in contrast with the neat organized room. The bedroom is spacious with a private bathroom. Because we stayed in the souterrain (basement with a door and window), I had my own entrance, which made it feel, like we had our own place in Amsterdam. It was a bit noisy though but this is centre Amsterdam.
The location is perfect and several trams stop a few steps away. Restaurants, bars, museums, shops all closeby and walking distance.

Comparing the B&B to a hotel, it’s a bit pricey. But therefor it’s a real B&B with the special atmosphere and a lovely homy feeling. The owners are extremely helpful with a true personal touch. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Overall, it was very convenient and I can recommend it to people who enjoy the city life.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#149 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
De Leydsche Hof
De Leydsche Hof
#115 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amistad Hotel
Amistad Hotel
#58 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Guesthouse Prinsengracht 490
Guesthouse Prinsengracht 490
#167 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildervanck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildervanck

Property: Wildervanck
Address: Keizersgracht 498, 1017 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing