We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a step back in time.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapitein Zeppos

Kapitein Zeppos
Ranked #38 of 279 Nightlife in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This charming café-restaurant housed in a historic building that was used for storing horse carriages during the 17th and 18th centuries, and later as a cigar factory in the early 1900s.In the 15th century it was a monastery. That's why the alley is called " Het Gebed zonder End" which means "a prayer without an end" Kapitein Zeppos is a moment of quietness in the busy center of Amsterdam. Its mediterranean atmosphere makes you think you're on a holiday in France, Spain or Italy. La cuisine is also influenced by the countries around the Mediterranean Sea. We're open for lunch and dinner. you can also enjoy drink in the alley or at the bar!
geneva
Level Contributor
465 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Take a step back in time.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went as a family of five to have lunch.
While walking in I felt I was in old Mexico or Cuba.
Sandwich and burgers were home made and service was friendly and efficient.Choice of draft beer was good.Good place to relax and chill out.Evenings this place must be great since it has live music.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    94
    29
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth visiting but slightly expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere of restaurant decorated in Mediterranean style.
We chose fondue with hollandeese cheese and red wine and we dined well. However I would appreciate more selection of food without fish even though it was primary fish restaurant. The prices were slightly higher although the restaurant is not right in the city center.
Overall impression and feeling: very warm and cosy worth visiting and trying out.

Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The answer to my prayers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Kapitein Zeppos is an oases in the center of Amsterdam and a great place to meet or be by yourself.
We had a great meal and will be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
258 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“average food, too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The restaurant Kapitein Zeppos is nice and informal and we were lucky that it wasn't very busy. The service was friendly and quick. We ordered paella for 3. It wasn't much but just enough. The paella was too salty and the quality was okay but could have been better. It was far too expensive! But nevertheless we had a nice evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tucked away, but worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We found Zeppo's when looking for somewhere to eat al fresco on a hot Saturday night, and were drawn in by the location. The menu is not the most comprehensive ever, but there were a good selection of fish dishes and Mediterranean based food available. I chose to have 2 starters as I couldn't choose so enjoyed the fish soup and also shrimp croquettes.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the wine list was good (and we enjoyed an excellent rioja) and the location and setting is great.
Worth considering when looking for something decent but not too formal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kapitein Zeppos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kapitein Zeppos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing