We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”
Review of Ark16

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ark16
Ranked #98 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What can I say about this place....
Friendly host, quiet location, lovely neighbours, tranquil and authentic Amsterdam experience. For something a bit different you really can't go wrong here. Jordaan is such a cool place with loads of places to drink, eat and watch the world go by.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Walker0050709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Ark16
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Everything has already been said but I enjoyed staying at Ark16 so much that I can't help but add my bit to the unanimous praise. Ark16 is an original, fun and reasonably priced experience.
Annette is a lovely host who makes sure her guests enjoy themselves.
Don't hesitate, stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evmasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I recently stayed for the second time on this houseboat, and I loved it just as much. I think watching the ducks and swans glide by is one of my favorite things to do anywhere in the world. I want to go back not to see Amsterdam but just to relax in the houseboat. It's so cozy and comfortable.
One tip on finding it: If you give the boat's address, it is harder for taxi drivers to find (since they have to go around to a certain bridge from the Marnixstraat). It's much easier to say: "The Corner of the Lijnbaansgracht and Palmgracht." That's much easier to get to by taxi, and the boat is right there on the corner (It's long and red). Gracht means canal.

Room Tip: I think it's very funny how on the Tripadvisor form that they ask me to rate the swimming pool...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank antlers10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My partner and I have been to Amsterdam many times, have stayed in Hotels and Campsites. But this last time was over the Christmas/Holiday period and we wanted something different. We sure found that with the wonderful ARK16.
We couldn't have wished for a more "authentic" Amsterdam experience.
Like others have previously said, The lovely Annette thinks of everything, even as far as placing a Christmas tree... ARK16 is situated in a very quiet area that is only a few minutes on the bus from Centraal station, and on foot a great walk with lots of shops, bars and restaurants with Centraal station approx 16 minutes away.. We enjoyed coming "home" to the ARK after a long day wandering around beautiful Amsterdam... We will definitely be returning as soon as possible... Thank you again Annette for your wonderful hospitality and for sharing your fantastic Houseboat with us all.
Sam & Colin.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamDink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Really adorable place to stay. It was very clean and stocked with fresh food. The neighborhood was very dutch and staying on a houseboat made the trip an authentic Amsterdam experience. Wouldn't suggest more than 2 staying at a time as it was a bit small but loved the place otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HattyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Its difficult to add anything that other reviews hasn't said about Ark 16.
This lady has thought of everything, as a lot of visitors to Amsterdam come for short breaks on cabin baggage allowance flights the weight of your case and 100ml fluid allowance doesn't go along way.
Annette has even thought of that when you arrive there are toweling bath robes and towels freshly laundered for your usage.There are umbrellas for if it rains.And fishing rods if you fancy a spot of fishing off the porch.A well stocked bathroom of toiletries also for you to use,
We found it cosy and a home from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My girlfriend booked this hostel for my birthday as a present shortly before we emigrated from Europe. It is simply a haven of tranquility, a house boat typical for the cosy narrow channels of Amsterdam. We were taken care of by the owners daughter who did a great job but on the last day we got to know her mother as well and had a much too short but interesting talk. We even were allowed to bring our dogs which made it even better for us. The interior is more than charming, the dining place is right in front of a huge window pointing to the channel. The bed is comfortable and the kitchenette fully equipped. We were served breakfast for champions including bread, butter, cereals and basically anything that you need and far more than the usual basics. Cleanliness is not a matter of concern at all, it was always tidy! Within the walking distance of the boat there is pretty much to explore - the Amsterdam standards :-) as well as cultural highlights like museums and much more. This had been my first holidays after nearly 10 years of working and I am glad that I could spend it at Ark16!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bordemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#112 of 371 in Amsterdam
342 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#84 of 337 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#40 of 337 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B Marnix
B&B Marnix
#90 of 337 in Amsterdam
63 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#30 of 337 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#203 of 337 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark16

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 16, 1015 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARK 16 is a B&B, a private studio with its own entrance on my houseboat overlooking the canal in a quiet area in the center of Amsterdam. Sleeps 2 adults and 2 children or 4 adults for 2 nights. There is a fully equipped kitchen, the fridge filled with make-it-your-own breakfast. Private toilet/bathroom. I live on the other site of the houseboat. It's in the best spot of Amsterdam! Best regards Annette. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing