We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short term guest/exception/past dealings”
other travellers have booked this property
Keizersgracht canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Keizersgracht canal
living and dining living/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Keizersgracht canal
living and dining
living/dining
Dining
L-couch /sofabed
Dining view to canal
dining and kitchen
Full kitchen
kitchen
Bedroom
Bed to canal views
Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George G
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short term guest/exception/past dealings”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for the truth, read on. I've stayed in Amsterdam and used "pied a terre properties", Amsterdam, which is run by Kathryn W, on multiple occasions in multiple properties, most recently 4 days ago. Kathryn W is as true to her word as is possible. This time I simply paid her in full. No deposit. Paid in advance through PayPal--I'm absolutely NOT suggesting you do, simply truthfully reporting that I just did, and hope to again. Trust. It matters, and you can trust Kathryn W. I think the aforementioned experiences are the most critical to emphasize. Now, onto the apartment (KZ-1).

The apartment in question is, as usual, beautiful. Fully equipped, second floor. Quiet at night. Profoundly comfortable bed, and bedding, rustic, yet sophisticated. Old fashioned, but modern. Comfortable. All five stars. Fast internet. Working clothes washer. Working, and separate, dryer (very nice to travel home with clean clothes). Astounding canal views. Sitting in the apartment, one views locals navigating the peaceful canal. Quite a tranquil experience, actually. Close to everything--including trolley, supermarkets, international mail service, places to eat, etc..
One drawback with this unit, with some individuals, however, is that it's located on the second floor. The stairs are easily manageable by a vast majority of people, but not wheelchair accessible. Personally, I prefer the additional height as it confers more security, and MUCH better views, and consider the second floor a big plus. Also worth noting is this apartment provides for panoramic canal views from all rooms.
Also, Kathryn can arrange private, reliable airport transportation. Every time I end up at AMS the same private driver (named Aly) has picked me up, on time, every time. Highly professional, highly recommended, too.
In conclusion, should you end up being hosted by Kathryn in Amsterdam, you'll realize everything in this review was as "as advertised." Truth. She is straight as an arrow, and offers an astounding value for luxury accommodations. For instance, her price point is 50-80 euros less per night than "the Marriott" (depending on which Marriott, of course). In addition, having access to your own kitchen and laundry both add significant value through potential savings. You can't go wrong here folks, consider yourself lucky if you have the pleasure of staying at KZ-1. If you can't stay there, contact Kathryn first to see if anything is available. Most honest businesswoman. Thank you again Kathryn for your service, professionalism, integrity, and trust.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Geeeez George, people are going to think I'm paying you! ;-)
Thank you so much for this glowing review. You are a great guest and most welcome anytime....it's always a pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjong333
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
“Lovely stay on Keizersgracht”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I just enjoyed a seven night stay in this charming and well-appointed flat. The location is very central, a minute from a tram stop and close to various popular sights. As it overlooks the canal, I enjoyed my morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening savouring the charming views. The special touches, like fresh flowers in the living area and bedroom and having coffee, tea, sugar and spices supplied were much appreciated. There was evening noise due to the boaters on the canal over the weekend, but nothing ear plugs couldn't solve when I wanted to sleep ... Hope to stay here again some day.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bookreade...
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful view of the canal"”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The apartment was lovely: long banks of windows in both rooms overlooking the canal. The location was ideal, within easy walking distance of every major site and around the corner from markets and excellent take-out places. It was attractively and comfortably furnished; we cooked in most evenings and enjoyed having dinner as we watched life flow downstream along the canal. There were some minor glitches it would be nice to have repaired: several of the windows didn't stay open a problem as the weather warmed up); the bedroom curtains didn't fully close (so light streamed in early in the morning). No major problems, but inconsistent with the high level of comfort in the rest of the apartment. Kathryn was very accommodating: there were fresh flowers to greet us and lots of good suggestions about places to go. We would return in a flash!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Whilst quite slow in lodging this review, the images and memories of this apartment are still very fresh in my mind. My wife and I spent the Christmas and New Year period in KZ4. The apartment was easy to locate from the train station and the owner was waiting as planned to give a brief explanation of the apartment, it's appliances and the surroundings. The apartment is perfectly located overlooking a canal, it was clean and warm and within walking distance to just about everything. Supermarket and bakery just around the corner with numerous restaurants and bars within an easy stroll. The bed was very comfortable and whilst the bathroom was a little small, the water was always hot. The kitchen provided all requirements and the living area was light and open. An excellent holiday in a great apartment in a lovely city.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jnoddle
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This apartment on Keizersgracht is the way to enjoy Amsterdam”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After an overnight flight, it was a treat to have a driver arranged by Kathryn (Pied a Terre Properties) to ease our way to this apartment on Amsterdam. It’s a steep flight of stairs but good exercise! Travelling with my mom, this apartment gave us a good option of the one bedroom and a comfy pullout couch. The kitchen is stocked with basic supplies and the store is just around the corner for food. This was a great base for us to visit the city and take tours. A hotel may seem more secure but you’d be missing out on the comforts and enjoyment of an apartment. We had no issues and absolutely enjoyed watching the world go by on the canal. Appreciated the wi-fi as well to help plan each day.

Not to be missed: The Keukenhof flower fields (spring time), Reypenaer Cheese tasting room, Van Gogh museum, Tassenmuseum Hendrikje - Museum of bags and purses (has tea room looking over canal), Openbare Amsterdam Library - cafe and terrance at top floor looks over city. And take a train ride for the day to Brussels for the moles et frites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse F
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A wonderful, comfortable and well resourced apartment in a brilliant, central location. The owner has taken every care to ensure that the needs of her guests are met and that the apartment is a home away from home. We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent in Amsterdam and will not hesitate to use this apartment again. We highly recommend it to others visiting the area - we loved it!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraGa2011
Mendocino, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An elegant and comfortable rental in the perfect location”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is my 3rd stay in this lovely apartment. The location is fabulous. It's in the center of the center of the canals and everything is just within a few minutes' walk: museums, galleries, great shopping, restaurants, cafés, cinemas etc. The apartment itself is absolutely charming. Obvious care is taken in keeping the apartment in lovely condition. Its comfortable design, relaxed atmosphere, well-equipped kitchen, good bed, flat screen TVs in both the bedroom and living room, and wow-factor views of the canals from each room are hard to beat.

The small, well-functioning bathroom was renovated few months ago. I always have found the facilities, especially the important ones such as the kitchen and bathroom, to be pristine. The bathroom is scented with a diffuser (the scent with wooden sticks) that some people love and some people ... not so much. It does give off a rather strong scent and I tend to place it in the cabinet when I visit (although it's not an unpleasant smell).

I have been in many Amsterdam apartments with stairs that are like ladders. Dutch architects of the 16th-20th century did not believe in wasting precious space on wide staircases, but by comparison, the stairs leading up to this 2nd floor apartment are carpeted, with handrails and are not particularly steep or difficult.

As a person who has chosen to repeatedly stay in this apartment over the past 5 years, I feel compelled to take issue with some of the comments of the previous reviewer. Contrary to his statement that the apartment has seen better days, I quite disagree. I find it to be well-kept and cared for, with modern facilities, and I think it is looking better than ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully appointed, elegant and comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing. I like it so much, I keep coming back.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing