We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only with children”

NEMO Science Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.29*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #36 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Expand your world at NEMO Science Museum. In the largest science museum of the Netherlands you will find proof that science and technology can be captivating for all ages. The remarkable building on top of the IJ-tunnel offers five floors of exciting hands-on activities. At NEMO you can experience the joy of science and technology, by blowing gigantic soap bubbles, watch an enormous chain reaction and experiment in a real laboratory. In a variety of exhibitions you can 'Take a journey through the mind' or learn that there is more than meets the eye when it comes to sustainable electricity and smart transportation at 'Smart Technology'. Enjoy a magnificent view over Amsterdam The creative mind behind NEMO, build in 1997, is Italian architect Renzo Piano. He had a clear vision for his design of the NEMO building, with its very own piazza 22 metres above water level. The spectacular roof terrace has a magnificent view over Amsterdam and the Eastern Docklands. You can access the roof terrace free of charge. The roof terrace and cafe in NEMO are the perfect places to sit back, relax and enjoy a drink.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Only with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Fun and interesting for children (age from 5 - 13 yr). Don't forget to drink something at the roof top.

Could be busy during school holidays.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A1V1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    949
    389
    140
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fascinating water clock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived too late one day and it was closed already. We sat and look at the tall blue water clock at the entrance to take a break of the freezing weather outside and found it fascinating. I was really curious about what's inside this funny looking building so we went back the next day. We have seen other science museum as adults and it was not very surprising for us, but i could imagine kids would have good fun there. They have labs for you to try out simple experiments. Very educational. Personally I prefer looking at the water clock (which is free)

Helpful?
Thank Nemobabyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible and insightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the Science Center NEMO! It's a brand new building and museum so everything is very clean and sparkling still! I spent from 10 in the morning until 4 in the afternoon exploring this place and I still hadn't seen it all!
Definitely worth the 15 euros.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Úna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best science museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The place is nice have lots of stuff to do with the kids but I recommend to take kids in 4-8 because they will know some of the stuff. For older kids there are few interesting exhibits. I liked the lower floor and the scenery on the roof.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to science”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

my 4.5 year old enjoyed all the exhibits and experiments thoroughly. the 1st floor, 2nd floor and the temporary exhibition were for her age level. The rooftop cafe is wonderful with the panoramic view of amsterdam. unfortunately, we only had 2 hours there (it closes at 5:30 even during the summer, rooftop cafe is open till 7 though) so we literally ran from one exhibit to another. you should budget to spend atleast half a day there to be able to experience everything liesurely. I would highly recommend this museum if you want to introduce your young child to science.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChitraSaligram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NEMO Science Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to NEMO Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing