We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but lacking in displayed objects”

Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.12*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Maritime Museum
More Info
US$17.95*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam National Maritime Museum
More Info
US$286.03*
and up
Amsterdam Guided Tour of United East India Company and Maritime Museum with Art...
Ranked #28 of 518 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Het Scheepvaartmuseum, The National Maritime Museum, tells inspiring stories of how the sea is in our genes. Come and enjoy the stimulating, interactive exhibitions and the stunning 17th century building.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice but lacking in displayed objects”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent a pleasant morning in the maritime museum in Amsterdam and especially enjoyed the exhibit on the atlases. However, a lot of the exhibits were aimed at family groups, which may be fair enough if that is their main audience.

As a maritime history geek I enjoyed the visit, but was somewhat disappointed that not more of the collection was on display. The replica of an East Indiaman is interesting enough to have a look around, but seemed quite 'disneyfied' and did not give a real sense of what life on board would have been like.

We had lunch in the restaurant inside the museum. It was fairly expensive and portions were small, but the food was good.

To sum it up: more collections on display would be great, but over all a nice museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,260
    735
    225
    68
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The self guided ship tour is great!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The best part of the museum is the reproduction Dutch merchant sailing ship. The ship alone was worth the 15 € entry fee. The museum is very well done and is spread out in a large building surrounding an open courtyard. I found the floor plan of the building a little confusing but after a bit I figured it out. The exhibits are interesting and well done.

I waited about 20 minutes to experience the "Voyage at Sea" virtual adventure but was not impressed. It takes 45 minutes and once you are in, you are in. It was very odd and disjointed. It was not a voyage at sea. They appeared to be proud of this attraction and it appeared that others enjoyed the show so maybe it was just me. I would visit this museum again but I will skip "Voyage".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claytonj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemskerk
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Attractive”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fantastic exposition.Historic objects.Also a good restaurant with nice food.After the visit it is advisable to walk to the east harbor.Nowadays the warehouses have been replaced by apartment buildings with some small restaurants at the water side

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rofekamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our best museum experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This museum is recommended. Suitable for all ages and you will enjoy it inspite of being a ship liebhaber, a playful kid or just killing some time. We liked the ship and the map/navigation part best. Very educational.
The restaurant is also good and the gift shop has a lot of useful and nice stuff: Not the cheapo tourist things you're used to find. The building is also a sight in itself.
You can easily spend 4 hours here and even more. Be aware that the staff does not agree between them what size of bag that is allowed into the museum so ask for advise before entering. There are lockers there if needed. No pre booking of tickets needed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_Tore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An interesting,interactive experience suitable for all ages”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

While not very big, this is certainly one of the best museums we've been to. It is not completely full of tons of the same type of items in each exhibit, but appears to have been thoughtfully edited to include really good pieces in a broad range do subject areas. There was everything from an exhibition on slavery to porcelain and navigation. It was not overly crowded, affording visitors plenty of time to explore thoroughly without being crowded along.

We spent a good three hours with lunch and visits to the north and east wings. The west wing appeared to be more suited to younger visitors. We particularly enjoyed the replica square rigger ship, and interactive displays scattered throughout.

It is open from 9 to 5 daily. The restaurant had a good selection of reasonably priced light meals, with good quality tasty offerings. It's easy to get to by transit, taking the #10 tram from Museumsplein area with a short walk or directly on front by #22 or #48 bus from Centraal station.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing