We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend bolthole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend bolthole”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just back from a weekend stay in the Mint Double Tree Hotel in Amsterdam,

Great location a few minutes away form Central Station very easy to reach from Schipol and handy suitcase wheeling distance from the entrance of this very beautiful building - nicest train station I have ever seen.
Mere minutes away from bustling Dam Square but also very close to the quaint pretty canalside walks and the quieter districts away from Dam and Red Light District.

Took the Canal Boat Trip but at 75 mins thought it was just that little bit too long - a 60 minute cruise is plenty time to spend there.

Had a very tasty meal in the Blauw Aan De Wal restaraunt - expensive, contmeporary place with dark wooden floors stark white walls and a choice of two starters, mains and desserts but a nice romantic location once you walk past the graffitied alley to reach it!

Try the local drink Janaveres in the American Eden Hotel Bar/Cafe huge high ceilinged, dark wood furniture and nice views out onto Liedsplein.

Any number of small cute little bars all dotted along the cobblestones you will be spoiled for choice - walk around the Red Light Area at night rather than during the day.

Double tree Mint hotel - lovely 4 star - rooms compact but comfortable - hot breakfast just ok - continental breakfast was better - but great staff and a nice Sky Lounge although expensive at 16 euro a cocktail with a lovely birds eye view of Amsterdam from there.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,393
    2,513
    710
    198
    134
See reviews for
895
3,046
335
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel from the 27th of december to 1st january and we had the most pleasant stay. this hotel is a stone throw away from centraal station. We booked the hotel, 2 months in advance after my inital first choice was overbooked, but this turned out to be better that my first choice (my first choice was located at dam sqaure and was not a patch on the mint/double tree). We checked in early and that wasnt a problem, we askeed for rooms on the same floor and that wasnt aproblem, the welcome cookie was lovely. We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the canal and this view was amazing. We didnt have any problem with train noises apart from noisy boys in the corridor at night. Breakkfast is on the expensive saide but be warned, Amsterdam is a very expensinve city (even more so that Paris in my opinion). we settled for breakfast at the lobby, the waitress there was amazing (bonker-ws her name).
You can walk eveyrwhere in amsterdam,

Make sure you do the excursion to Belgium (antwerp and brussels-wondeful cities, worth a visit on their own)
Dont bother with the red light distrrict tour, you can walk around yourself
Dont bother with the ICE BAR-expensinve and aboslutely stupid

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the canal and away from rail tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flora_eliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I know hotels very well, its my job to and I have to say this is a hotel is what many other hotels should aspire to!! I stayed here from the 5 to 8 Jan for my birthday and all round the hotel was superb. Lovely rooms, a greay Sky Lounge bar and a breakfast worth writing home about! Staff are superbly well trained and are very friendly and hospitable. Will definately be back!!

Room Tip: We booked through a website when it was still a Mint hotel so we got an amazing rate but I would sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmarks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

At the start of December 2011 we spent a few days at the Mint hotel now Doubletree hotel. The hotel is located across from the central train station, quick to get to and easy to find. It is the perfect location, for your visit to Amsterdam and from here you can walk to quite a few of Amsterdam's attractions.
Check in was reasonably. We requested a city view room (as we had read the other reviews regarding noise) but were informed there weren't any left, we felt its only a few nights no worries, but as it turned out we had trains coming through the room on the hour every hour and every half hour in between, and we were on the ninth floor. We got little or no sleep and when we requested a change of room there none available, due to a conference being held at the hotel. That was the downside.
The room itself was lovely it was very clean and comfortable with all the up-to-date technology, free films were also available; you just had to ask at reception. There was also tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms which is a plus for me. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had a shower, no bath. They did provide complimentary bathrobe and slippers.
A visit to the sky lounge is a must the views of the city are amazing.
Check out queue was very long and some people were getting a little impatient, but it moved fairly quickly, when we had checked out we left our bags at the baggage storage, as our flight home wasn’t till evening. The bags were taken labelled and a receipt given. On return we had our bags in a few minutes, and were on our way. We found the staff to be polite and helpful; nothing was a problem for them.
Would I stay here again yes I would but only if I could have a front city facing room.

Room Tip: Ask for afront city facing room so you dont overlook the rail lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryBBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at the DoubleTree Hilton early in January 2012. You cannot miss the hotel - you turn left after leaving the Central Station and it is the first big modern block you come to. Not that attractive from the outside and seemingly no real Dutch look to it at all.
The Hotel reception is spacious and very corporate. The bar is a good size and very modern in its style.
Breakfast is served in the large cafe on the ground floor and we found this to be excellent...a huge choice and excellently managed when the cafe is busy.
The 4 lifts serve all the floors but to access bedrooms you have to use your door key.
We did find that on busy days the 4 lifts were not enough. One was always out of service.
The room we had was a good size...excellent bathroom and shower. Each room has an iMac computer that has great sound quality and picture for TV too.

One thing I would check if I was going to the hotel again is that the room has a view...ours looked out onto a wall...not really aproblem as in a city like Amsterdam you dont spens a lot of time in the room! However a great view would have been good.

The staff at the hotel were great, friendly and efficient at all times, they made you feel welcome.

The hotel has an amzing Sky Bar. Panoramic views over the town...almost worth the inflated prices but the bar does have a great atmosphere in the venings and drinks come with small snacks...it is still expensive but worth a visit. In the summer there is a huge patio on the oof too.


I would recommend this hotel for a good visit to Amsterdam.

The city is not cheap. We come from London and prices are similar. We did a boat trip with wine and cheese which was excellent but overpriced at 30 euros each.

Wrap up warm in the winter the Dutch wind is COLD.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulswbuk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisborough Green
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is in a perfect position for exploring Amsterdam. It is just a 5 minute walk from Central Station and the main Canal-Bus and Tourist Information offices.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front, if you're a light sleeper. The rooms at the rear overlook the rail tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimgWisboroughGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I spent a 5-day winter holiday (January) in this wonderful hotel. Here is what I liked and disliked about it:

Liked:
- perfect location - it's very close to the central station (5 min. walk) and almost everything is within a walking distance from it: tram and underground stations; important sights, shopping centers, restaurants;
- delicious and bountiful breakfast - a great choice of food from a more traditional breakfast of eggs and ham, to a continental breakfast with fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. (loved the fish!!!);
- friendly and helpful staff - everyone, always greets you with a smile and is ready to help;
- FREE internet access and an awesome iMac TV/PC;
- wonderful view of the city from the Skylounge on the 11th floor.

Disliked:
- the room and especially the bed was a bit small and narrow for a double one.

As you can see, the pros outweigh the cons, so you should definitely try this hotel when you're next in the city! For a sightseeing trip or for a business trip, it's the ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view! Rooms overlooking the main station are said to be noisy, plus the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blanka n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
134 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing