We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel was excellent, good location and staff were very helpful, skylounge was great and reasonably priced for amsterdam. Couldn't fault it

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,335 - 5,341 of 7,125 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel. Here are some of my thoughts:

You can see the hotel when you turn left out of the station but there is no sign to tell you which hotel it is until you reach the front door!

Arrived about 11am and could have checked in straight away but we decided to wait for a city view room, returned at 1pm and after a 5min wait were given this room - Frank that looked after us was very helpful and great customer service skills - the warm cookie was also good.

Rooms are small, not much storage space in wardrobe to hang clothes!

Once in our room we noticed a bottle of red wine on the shelf, then a mini fridge, fully stocked. Also found shoe polish, mouthwash, spare toothbrush etc. However, there was no information on the price of anything in the mini fridge. I requested a price list from Reception and realised you had to pay for the mouthwash etc too, this also told you to fill out a form to say what you had used - didn't have this either! However, when our adapter plug broke was great being able to borrow one from reception free of charge.

Breakfast was ok, at busy times I would advise ordering your hot drinks when they seat you or you may wait a while. Also some tables are too close together!

Also better drainage needed in the showers, was worried this was going to overflow!

Skylounge - overpriced. 7.50 euro for less that half a glass of wine! The view is good though.

Overall, a great trip, great hotel, excellent location - we walked everywhere and the staff are brilliant!

We will definitely return to this hotel, hopefully to do our Christmas shopping - the shops are amazing!

Room Tip: City view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynsey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hotel is in the perfect location right next to the train station (5 min walk) and not far to walk into the centre of Amsterdam. However no noise from the train station whatsoever.

Rooms are basic, but clean, modern and the iMac and Wifi is a great extra.

Staff are very helpful, booking us restaurants and by the time we had come back from being out for the day they had pushed a confirmation under the door with a map on of how to get there. They couldnt help us enough.

Breakfast is great, wide selection to chose from.

Room cleaned and services every day for the 4 days we were there.

Would love to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was part of a conference staying with all those involved at the Double Tree - excellent transport links, very helpful staff on reception - they handled the mass check in of our colleagues very well indeed. The rooms are simple, functional, however well equipped with an IMac computer and all the usual amenities.

The only mild disappointment was the service in the sky lounge - a bit slow.

More or less a perfect stay however.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the front of the hotel - fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent four days here recently and the hotel is generally very good. The staff at check-in were very friendly and efficient, the room was fantastic with an amazing view of the city and lots of nice touches such as an Apple iMac in the room with free internet. The room was clean, comfortable and we also found the downstairs lobby bar to be very reasonable priced with a great selection of drinks and friendly staff. In fact the lobby bar sells most of the same drinks as the Skylounge on the roof - but they are significantly cheaper.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars had it not been for a visit to the Skylounge. It is a decent nightlife spot with a good view of the city but it is overpriced and more than a little pretentious.

After spending 60 Euros on food and drink I clearly signed the bill and even tipped the waiter. Upon leaving we were chased by a member of hotel security who followed us into the lift and demanded to know our room number.

I suppose he was just doing his job but I also notice that other reviewers have commented on similar incidents so they should really do something about how staff communicate with guests if they need to check something.

Possibly they have a recurring issue with people charging to the wrong room or similar - but they handled us very poorly. Having random members of staff demand your room number doesn't seem like a smart policy for a hotel that also advises guests not to give out their room numbers for safety.

So a good hotel - but with room for improvement. If they tone down the over-zealous security and realise that the rooftop bar isn't the exclusive haven that they think it is I would likely return. In the meantime there are a lot of other great hotels in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a southward facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Doubletree by Hilton. Our room was on the 6th floor with amazing city views. The room was quiet & comfortable with extras such as Apple TV/DVD player/ Computer with free wifi. The staff were friendly & professional. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights & very near the station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william21Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here with my partner for a long weekend in January and we couldn't fault the hotel at all. For the price we paid it was fantastic - a great view overlooking the canal and the city, brilliant location within easy walking distant to the main areas and Central Station and a really lovely room.

They gave us an early check in which was great and we were very impressed with the room. The bathroom was brand new, possibly the best shower I've ever experienced and all the amenities you expect in a hotel of this standard. The ice bucket, mac computer and tea making facilities were the icing on the cake.

A great hotel for a couple to stay in, the room was nice enough that you could spend plenty of time chilling out in comfort with his and hers robes!

A note for anyone wanting to bring their laptop - there really is no need as every room has a brand new mac which does everything you could possibly need it to.

Overall a fantastic hotel we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishgirlabr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,182 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £149 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing