We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay here for pleasure”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Station. The hotel is new, modern, clean and in a great location. If you want a view of the city request a City View. You get Macs in your room with TV and internet access. The Sky Lounge is a great place to have a drink and gives a wonderful view on the City, the cocktails are also very good. They have a DJ on at the weekends but you do not hear any noise from this in your room. Its a great location to stay as you hit the bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. I would recommend using this hotel and will stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a City View, wonderful view of the City and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieP514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,388
    2,512
    710
    198
    134
See reviews for
892
3,045
335
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

January 2012 long weekend at the Doubletree hotel.

Great location with easy walking distance to the centraal station, canals, river boats, red light district and most sight seeing attractions.

Dissapointments - rooms do not have baths and there are no spa facilities. There is a gym which was nice to have on site.

Make sure you visit the sky bar on the 11th floor. Great views!!

We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a nice view when checking into the hotel. Friends had a view looking into a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cartg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel was excellent, good location and staff were very helpful, skylounge was great and reasonably priced for amsterdam. Couldn't fault it

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel. Here are some of my thoughts:

You can see the hotel when you turn left out of the station but there is no sign to tell you which hotel it is until you reach the front door!

Arrived about 11am and could have checked in straight away but we decided to wait for a city view room, returned at 1pm and after a 5min wait were given this room - Frank that looked after us was very helpful and great customer service skills - the warm cookie was also good.

Rooms are small, not much storage space in wardrobe to hang clothes!

Once in our room we noticed a bottle of red wine on the shelf, then a mini fridge, fully stocked. Also found shoe polish, mouthwash, spare toothbrush etc. However, there was no information on the price of anything in the mini fridge. I requested a price list from Reception and realised you had to pay for the mouthwash etc too, this also told you to fill out a form to say what you had used - didn't have this either! However, when our adapter plug broke was great being able to borrow one from reception free of charge.

Breakfast was ok, at busy times I would advise ordering your hot drinks when they seat you or you may wait a while. Also some tables are too close together!

Also better drainage needed in the showers, was worried this was going to overflow!

Skylounge - overpriced. 7.50 euro for less that half a glass of wine! The view is good though.

Overall, a great trip, great hotel, excellent location - we walked everywhere and the staff are brilliant!

We will definitely return to this hotel, hopefully to do our Christmas shopping - the shops are amazing!

Room Tip: City view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynsey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hotel is in the perfect location right next to the train station (5 min walk) and not far to walk into the centre of Amsterdam. However no noise from the train station whatsoever.

Rooms are basic, but clean, modern and the iMac and Wifi is a great extra.

Staff are very helpful, booking us restaurants and by the time we had come back from being out for the day they had pushed a confirmation under the door with a map on of how to get there. They couldnt help us enough.

Breakfast is great, wide selection to chose from.

Room cleaned and services every day for the 4 days we were there.

Would love to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was part of a conference staying with all those involved at the Double Tree - excellent transport links, very helpful staff on reception - they handled the mass check in of our colleagues very well indeed. The rooms are simple, functional, however well equipped with an IMac computer and all the usual amenities.

The only mild disappointment was the service in the sky lounge - a bit slow.

More or less a perfect stay however.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the front of the hotel - fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent four days here recently and the hotel is generally very good. The staff at check-in were very friendly and efficient, the room was fantastic with an amazing view of the city and lots of nice touches such as an Apple iMac in the room with free internet. The room was clean, comfortable and we also found the downstairs lobby bar to be very reasonable priced with a great selection of drinks and friendly staff. In fact the lobby bar sells most of the same drinks as the Skylounge on the roof - but they are significantly cheaper.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars had it not been for a visit to the Skylounge. It is a decent nightlife spot with a good view of the city but it is overpriced and more than a little pretentious.

After spending 60 Euros on food and drink I clearly signed the bill and even tipped the waiter. Upon leaving we were chased by a member of hotel security who followed us into the lift and demanded to know our room number.

I suppose he was just doing his job but I also notice that other reviewers have commented on similar incidents so they should really do something about how staff communicate with guests if they need to check something.

Possibly they have a recurring issue with people charging to the wrong room or similar - but they handled us very poorly. Having random members of staff demand your room number doesn't seem like a smart policy for a hotel that also advises guests not to give out their room numbers for safety.

So a good hotel - but with room for improvement. If they tone down the over-zealous security and realise that the rooftop bar isn't the exclusive haven that they think it is I would likely return. In the meantime there are a lot of other great hotels in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a southward facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,033 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing