We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location right near the train station so you don't have to drag your bags very far. The rooms are an OK size with nice décor and tea and coffee making facilities. When we arrived we were given a hot, giant cookie which I thought was a nice touch. We stayed on a room only basis. I would not recommend getting the breakfast as it is very overpriced at 25 euro for a 'full English' and you can get cheap breakfasts at various different cafes nearby. The view from our window was a bit rubbish, we could only see another part of the hotel. This wasn't really a problem as we only used the hotel as a base and were out and about for most of the time. Overall though we were impressed by the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,128
    2,341
    654
    180
    114
See reviews for
772
2,838
307
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I am not going to go waffle on, this hotel is an example of what you would expect from the Hilton.

The staff were excellent the location was perfect and my room was superb, even complete with an imac 21.5

The roof top bar had an amazing view and although a little pricey (again what you would expect from the Hilton) it was worth it to sit and have a beer with that scenery!!!!

Overall a great place to stay and explore Amsterdam from with easy access to the transport system and a warm friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try and get a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Located right beside central station, it is so handy for transport to and from the airport and also for exploring the city. Staff were very friendly and we got delicious free cookies on arrival. The room itself was an ample size and clean. Each room has a window from floor to ceiling. Our room faced the railway tracks but this didn't bother us. The bed was comfy too! The sky bar is something else, the best location for a drink in amsterdam, it is pricey but worth it! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandCat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had to leave on the 4th of February, but because of the snow the flight company delete our flight. In the following days we didn't have electricity, water and telephone lines.
We contacted directly the hotel.
The hotel didn't want to know any reason and they debited us half of the total.

It's a very bad hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We no longer make reservations at a hotel Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed for 5 nights for New Year 2012. We paid premium rates for 2 of those nights, you get that anywhere for New Year, but given the spectacular views we had from a secluded & romantic little balcony on the 9th floor, of the most awesome fireworks I had ever seen, it was worth every cent. The normal room rate is exceptional value for the quality of this hotel. 100 metres from the station... just a tip, don't go out of the station area. Turn left at the station exit & walk along the pathway. It's so close. The food & drinks at the hotel are good & well priced, but just across the road is everything you want in the way of food & drink & canal cruises etc. It's away from the busy streets of Dam, but a short walk to anywhere you want to go. You choose when you want to be part of the hussle & bussle, & when you want to retreat from it. Views are fantastic, even if it's not a 24 hour fireworks display. This was my 2nd trip to Dam, one of many for my French boyfriend, & both of us will stick to this hotel for future visits. I really couldn't fault this hotel. Has everything you want & very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one near many of the little V-shaped balconies that give you somewhere to go to smoke, or ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mskatie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here overnight for a business trip and was very impressed by the service, the staff, the location and the room.

The hotel is located 10 minutes walk from Centraal Station (turn left out of the station and walk along the same road. Hotel is then on the left), and overlooks the canal.

Be aware that the square outside the station is undergoing massive renovation so the walk to the hotel consists of boards covering up building work, which means that there is only one small sign to the hotel.

The rooms are quite small (normal for Amsterdam), but are beautifully decorated with very modern interiors. I booked a Queen Room and the bed would not have been big enough for my husband and I for example, but was fine for me.

Bathroom contains no bath but a shower only (no problem for me), but is nicely decorated with toiletries also provided.

The most modern thing is the iMac entertainment system which provides access to the internet, TV, radio stations, DVD etc - very modern and might put non-techno friendly people off!

For me it was a perfect hotel (for which I received a good price also), and one which I will stay at again.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor as the hotel has an atrium which will obscure your view of the skyline on lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed one night during a short visit to Amsterdam. The hotel location is excellent - just a few minute walk from the train station. The hotel has poor signage, and it was confusing to find the entrance. Our room was very large and nice, although cool. When we reported the problem, they quickly brought us a portable heater that solved the problem. The view from our room looking out over Amsterdam was great. Overall the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was freindly and helpful. The breadfast buffet was sensational.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tx_Traveling_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing