We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place from which to explore Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful place from which to explore Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend break in Amsterdam staying in the Doubletree by Hilton Centraal Station hotel. From the moment of our arrival when we were greeted with hot cookies to the time of our swift and hassle-free departure we had a wonderful stay. We were on the 7th floor with a room facing out towards old Amsterdam.

The room was immaculate and as shown on the website pictures. Having access to a free and fast internet service courtesy of the iMAC was great and it also doubles as your TV. There were complimentary teas (including peppermint which is a rarity) and coffee in the the room together with a hair dryer, ironing board and iron and a well stocked mini-bar. There were even spare adaptors if needed. The room was air conditioned but my only minor gripe was that the room could get quite warm (this was february) even with the air con on. However, you could open a small window which helped bring the temperature down.

The breakfast was great with a huge selection of hot and cold foods to choose from at the self-service bar. Room service was quick and courteous and you are liteerally just 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station. The hotel also had additional desk staff on at departure to avoid any delays.

Tip: when walking to the hotel from the station keep the hotels downstairs cafe and restaurant to your left and walk past to locate the hotel entrance (it feels a little like you may have missed the entrance but you haven't - just a few metres more).

All in all, a great stay in a great city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,126
    2,340
    652
    180
    114
See reviews for
772
2,836
307
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hastings
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for the football at Ajax hotel is in a great location for the train station and the Metro which you can take direct to the stadium, hotel even sells metro tickets.
room was great, Apple tv is fantastic and the bed is the most comfortable i have ever had whilst staying away.
staff all very helpful, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room facing city. they also have smoking rooms so make sure you request your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Me and my partner stayed for valentines week and it was perfect! The location was spot on... Close to trams, walking distance to main tourist attractions and not far from central station. On arrival we asked if it was possible for a city view room and they were able to do it for us! The staff were very helpful! The sky lounge at the top of the hotel was the best part! You are able to relax after a long day out with a drink and nibbles and watch the city go on underneath you.. PERFECT :) Adisable to get day tram tickets instead of singles.. Can hop on and off when wanted to!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in January in a Club Room with balcony. The hotel is handy for Central Station where you can get a tram, red light district is about 10 mins walk and 5 mins to Nieuwmarket.

Our room had a city view and we were on a high floor with excellent views. Our balcony was much bigger than we expected and it would defintely worth it in the Summer months. One thing though was that the room next door had a table and chairs on the balcony but we didnt have anything so we couldnt sit out.

The room itself was quite small, it was fine for one night. The bathroom was really nice, a good size and soft fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel-Guru-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend break and was very impressed. The hotel is lovely, very stylish with fantastic views (we had a room on the 7th floor). The location is ideal - only minutes from town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish_Tourist_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for a 3 night break in feb 12, great hotel staff very friendly and willing to do anything for you. room comfortable not massive but ok apple imac computer/tv very handy. The best part of the hotel is the skylounge on the top floor amazing views of the city and area, drinks pricey but you do get some lovely nibbles and the view is worth it alone. Being so close to central station means you can be in your hotel within about 30 mins of landing at the airport and it only costs 3.80 euros each, taxi is about 50 euro. Great area for getting round amsterdam. We where on a room only basis and the breakfast price is horrendous at 24 euros each which would make it nearly £130 for breakfast for the 2 off us for 3 mornings, so we gave that a miss, plenty of cafes and restaurants accross the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Me and my girlfriend stopped here for 3 nights over valentines and absolutely loved it. We contacted the hotel before arriving and asked if we could have a city facing room which we got without a problem. The room we got given was huge and faced out onto the city with a lovely view. We arrived late so they had ran out of cookies but we were given vouchers to collect them the next day and they were worth the wait. If booking I strongly advise to get the breakfast included in your stay as it was unbelievable. Never have I experienced such a choice of items, they had everything from fry ups items to fruit, cereal to toast and a selection of cold meats an cheeses. The pancakes and french toast with maple syrup were our favourite. The hotel also has a sky lounge on the top floor which is a very smart bar with excellent service as with the rest of the hotel and the view is amazing. it is definitely worth a look up to check out the view and have a quick cocktail. If you are looking for a cheaper drink however there are 2 bars downstairs which are slightly more competitively priced. Overall we found the stay excellent and would definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Email in advance to request a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing