We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Centrally Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great location, attentive staff and good facilities. The MAC in room set up is excellent for any traveller these days wanting to immediately connect.
We only had 1 night here but thought it was excellent for a 5 star product with an great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,061)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,108 - 5,114 of 7,064 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Doubletree by Hilton is one of the best hotel I have stayed in. Without a doubt I will stay here again and recommend to any friends who plans to visit Amsterdam. Front desk Dominik was ever pleasant and helpful, room was clean and of course the iMac in the room was a great help. Could surf the net every night to check out on where we want to go the next day. It's right in the city centre, next to Centraal Station, the tram and metro. Don't miss the Sky Lounge on the 11th floor. Great cocktails!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with courtyard or city view. It quieter and away from rail tracks.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Recently had first time visit to Amsterdam decided to go for some luxury and certainly picked the right place. Excellent location right down from central station with walking distance of the centre of the city. Very modern unique and comfortable hotel with helpful staff. Deluxe room was the largest that iv'e come across but adequate enough - imac computer/tv in was a superb surprise - no minibar. Only negatives shower door did not close fully and a little expensive for just one night.

Room Tip: Ask for room on opposite side to train tracks
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeFitz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our favourite Amsterdam hotel had become so expensive, we decided to look for a lower-cost alternative in a good location. We found it in this newish hotel, right next door to the Central Station. Turn left and you'll see a greyish, modern and anonymous-looking building with the Doubletree logo. It could pass for an office block and there is still a lot of construction happening in the surroundings, but don't let that deter you.
This is a gem of a modern hotel, with staff to match. We found everyone efficient but warm and genuinely friendly. Checked in within minutes, we were given a room straight away, hours before official check-in time. The icing on the proverbial cake was a scrumptious complimentary hot chocolate chip cookie, which we were given on arrival.
There's much to be said for modern hotels: our room was spacious, functional, light and comfortable with a superb view of the Amsterdam canal and city. WiFi, refreshingly, was free, which makes a lovely change, as you don't feel ripped off. There were tea and coffee-making facilities in the room, an ironing board and iron and a good shower room with plenty of towels.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and second to none in our experience of top-class hotels. The City Cafe dining room was crowded, but we were seated in minutes and left to enjoy the fabulous selection with no one rushing us to leave.
A few tips from an ex-Dutch citizen: visit the tourist information office opposite the Central Station as soon as possible, to buy an I-Amsterdam tourist card, valid for 24 or 48 hours or longer. The longer, the better the value.
This card comes with a handy guide book. It allows you to hop-on-and-off trams, buses and metros. But there's more: it gives free access to most museums and a discount to others. It also gives discounts on selected cafes and restaurants. Additionally, it includes a free canal-boat excursion, still the most fascinating and pleasant way to see this marvellous city and its architecture.
If you opt for the huge hotel breakfast, you barely need to eat out during the rest of the day. In the Central Station there is a Hema branch, where you can buy some superb salads or snacks. In the station itself, you can feast on Kroketten (tasty rissoles) and Dutch Patates Frites (chips), with a dollop of Mayonnaise.
Department store restaurants are excellent good-value places to lunch. Don't bother with Indonesian restaurants here: Amsterdam is the wrong city. The Hague, where most Dutch Indonesians settled in the early 1950s, is the place for Indonesian Food.
As for museums, if you see only one, make it the Van Gogh museum. The Rijksmuseum is being refurbished and most departments are closed. Save that for a future visit as you'll want to come back, that's for sure. .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renske M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here in March with an elderly relation and had asked for an accessible room for her. She has poor eyesight so (although mobile) having a wheel chair room was great as there were no steps, a wetroom instead of having to step into a shower and easy tap and shower controls. it was a lovely big room. We were given a room next door which although not so lavish was great and we had no complaints. We were as requested at the front of the hotel but this doesn't necessarily mean you will have a view due to the design of the building some rooms face brick walls but have a view at an acute angle. We didn't think this a problem - we had come to see the city not sit in our rooms! If you want views though head up to the roof for a fantastic view in the Sky Lounge.
We ate in the restaurant once which was very nice - the coffees we had in the Sky Lounge and were expensive though they came with all sorts of nice chocs and bics. [Can also recommend Pier 10 within walking distance if you like good food in slightly quirky environments.] The staff in the hotel were very helpful and professional - the breakfasts were excellent too - choice of traditional ham/cheese/breads/fruit/yoghurt and cooked items.
Tip - by joining up for their points scheme we got an English paper delivered everyday and a late check out at no extra cost which was useful.
The location of this hotel has to bit its greatest asset - 10min walk from train/tram/buses all of which are very easy to use - buy a 3 day ticket and hop on and off trams and buses to save your legs...we bought ours at the hotel - just remember to scan the tickets as you get on and off.
Well recommended - particularly if you want a modern hotel compared to a small traditional one with steep stairs (which we also like but not appropriate for our relation on this occasion.)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Doubletree is at a great location with splendid views over the harbour or the town. The rooms are elegant with Mac equipment. large beds, good amenities and a fine bathroom. Also the staff is friendly.
The breakfast buffet has a large choice of quality items, however the coffee was one of the worst cappuccino's that I drunk (watery, hardly any milk foam). The other downside is the train station: trains are coming and going all night and are very audible in the rooms. The breath taking view was worth it tough!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstravellor008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here on our first visit to Amsterdam and had a super 3 day break. The Staff were all so friendly , the restuarants all provided excellent food and we were able to walk to all the attractions..however the bus and trams are all so colse to this super hotel. We had a super room with a balcony and view of the city..lovely at night time..would strongly recommend the hotel...you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: go for city view and balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinimeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write us such a positive review on TripAdvisor. I highly appreciate it.

I am very happy to read that you experienced our staff to be friendlyand that the location of the hotel was such a convenience for you. Furthermore I am glad that you rated the food as excellent and that you enjoyed the room you were allocated in with great views of the city of Amsterdam from your balcony!

Thank you for your recommendations and we are truly looking forward welcoming you back again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

Warm regards from Amsterdam,
Caroline Receveur
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#39 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,124 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £157 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing