We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, great vibe, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cool hotel, great vibe, great location”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

In April, 2012, I stayed one night at the Doubletree in Amsterdam. Overall this was a very positive experience. The desk staff was very well trained and very attentive to guest needs. There was always a lot going on in the lobby but I got just what I needed – a taxi ordered, my check-in processed, a boarding pass printed out.

The room on the 8th floor had a nice city view. I bet the harbor view is even better. Elevators were very quick and the furnishings were ultra modern. My room was a suite – much more relaxing than having the bed and my always-on laptop in the same room.

The room itself was more than adequate. Subsituting iMac computers with a TV function for TVs is a very nice touch. It’s the first time I’ve seen it but surely this trend will spread. I never watch TV but there is a chance I’d use an iMac, at least to easily and quickly print my boarding pass for pickup at the front desk. The bathroom was gleaming, spotless, super-modern. It is nice to have both a tub and a shower. The minibar was stocked with some complementary snacks and drinks – a very nice touch!

The location has pluses and minuses. A huge plus is the proximity to the Centraal train station. Within five minutes’ walk, you can board an airport train and be at Schiphol fifteen minutes later. But the historic center of Amsterdam, Dam Square and surroundings, is a fifteen-minute walk or a tram ride away.

Especially on a high floor, there were no issues with noise.

Breakfast in the ground floor café was adequate if crowded. The staff made the usual strong effort to help but the number of guests was nearly overwhelming. Mine was included based on my Hilton Honors status. If I'd had to pay EU 24, I might have felt a bit fleeced.

Other reviewers have mentioned that this hotel used to be a Mint hotel and it was taken over by Doubletree. This means that many amenities were maintained (and I hope they remain available). It also means that some taxi drivers had to be told to go to the Mint since they did not know where the Doubletree was located.

I will stay here again. It's much easier to reach than the Hilton on Apollolaan. More for the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonFrequentTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,326
    2,478
    702
    194
    131
See reviews for
856
3,001
331
1,272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed here for work and although I was only here for one night it was very good! The bar on the top floor is very comfy and the view is good. The location isn't bad at all, quick walk across the river and you're in the centre. A warm cookie on check in was a nice touch! I'd never seen the use of an iMac as the tv but it was easy to work and the speakers connected to it were good quality! Only downside is the parking was so expensive! We parked in the underground car park and for one night it was about £45! I would definitely stay here again (but maybe park somewhere else)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1lly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Very nice hotel, central located, near Amsterdam Central Station, canals, and everythying you want to visit in Amsterdam.
We had a nice city view king room, on 9th floor, which was big, very clean, with modern amenities, free wi-fi, big Apple tv/pc. Also we had breakfast included, which was very good and diverse.
We will stay there again.

Room Tip: City view rooms had nice canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We choose this hotel due to the location to the boat docks and the train station as we were staying here after completing a wonderful 7day Rhine River cruise on the AMA waterways Amacello(which was a 5star experience). The hotel was a short walk from the dock and close to the rail station making it great for easy transfers to Keukenhof and The airport. We were on the 7 th floor and had wonderful views of the city from our floor to ceiling windows. The hotel is modern and sleek in design. The beds were uncomfortable as I found the mattress too soft and the linens were filled with synthetic materials, both duvet and pillows. The shower was sleek design but the drain did not work well as one had to turn off the water during the shower to allow the pan to drain or flood the bathroom floor. The hair dryer was clogged with dust and lint and only functioned at half of it's capacity till i cleaned it. The apple tv and free house wide Internet were nice and dependable. The breakfast buffet was fair as far as taste and variety. Items ran out and would take some time to be replaced. I do not feel the value was worth the price should it not been included with our room as it was 24EU per person. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Hilton from the 13th to the 16th of April, and can honestly say it was the best minibreak we've had in a long time.

We arrived late on the friday night and had a few drinks in the skylounge before retiring, and it was a fantastic atmosphere, with lots of yummy cocktails. the only thing was there was a slight mix up with room service, but this was handle quickly and efficiently!

Breakfast on all three morning was superb, and Dimitrios was particularly helpful in my search for Amsterdam pancakes!

The consierge desk was extremely helpful, especially in helping us find the best cheese shop in amsterdam, and we ever got a glompse of Lady gaga on her holidays!!

the room was clean and compact but very comfortable, and the views over the harbour was excellent!

really central for all trams going all over the city, and a 3 minute walk to centraal station.

all in all a fantastic trip, staff were very efficient and the hotel itself was great.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the harbour, stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Really happyt with all aspects of the hotel. It was so convenient to the station, trams, buses and the old town. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and our room on the 6th floor had a great view over the city. The room was clean and was surprisingly well appointed.
Would recommend it to anyone. There was a slight noise from the trains nearbye but not enough to disturb sleep for us. Loved the view from the Sky Lounge

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great location, attentive staff and good facilities. The MAC in room set up is excellent for any traveller these days wanting to immediately connect.
We only had 1 night here but thought it was excellent for a 5 star product with an great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,847 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing