We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree, Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“DoubleTree, Amsterdam”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Modern hotel of no particular architectural merit, but conveniently next to the Central Station looking across water to Central Amsterdam. The day i stayed happened to be a bank holiday so half the population of Holland seemed to be happily messing about in boats. Romms quite small, but everything there and Internet worked fine. At at 11th floor restaurant. Okay, but nothing special. Breakfast better than usual in Holland with freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of variety of cooked stuff, including kipperling (bite sized bits of fried cod or herring).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

I am very happy to read that our location was such a convenience for you, with the train station right next to the hotel. I hope you enjoyed the nice weather and all boats going through the canals.

Thank you very much again for your valuable feedback, I highly appreciate it.
I truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,331
    2,485
    703
    195
    131
See reviews for
859
3,006
333
1,272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

3 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station, 20 minutes to Schiphol airport. The hotel is right along the water and in a beautiful part of the city near all kinds of restaurants and shops. Rooms have iMacs with free internet and are clean. Front desk is attentive and friendly. Rooftop bar is awesome with a great view of the city. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your such a positive review with us on TripAdvisor and for expressing your stay with us as 'Perfect'.

I am very happy to read that our location was such a convenience for you, with the train station right next to the hotel and only 20 minutes from Schiphol. i am happy you experienced our staff to be attentive and friendly. I will naturally share your kind words with the enitre team.

Thank you for your recommendations and we are truly looking forward welcoming you back again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

With kind regards,
Caroline Receveur
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here last year with a friend and had a lovely time, the hotel is well fitted out, the food and bars are a little expensive but i think that has more to do with the exchange rate than anything else.

You are about 5-7 mins walk from the action in Amsterdam and about 3 mins from Centraal Station but there is almost no noise. You have lovely views over Amsterdam and the river and you HAVE to check out the sky lounge, you'll thank me after you've booked and seen it :-)

Room Tip: You might want to avoid the English Breakfast at 28 euros!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,277 reviews
426 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We spent U.S. Memorial Day weekend 2012 exploring the wonderful city of Amsterdam, and the DoubleTree Centraal station was our home base. Overall, the hotel offered a solid experience. In our case, it was also a superb value since we were using points for the stay. I always appreciate when a hotel treats you as they would any other guest when staying on points, and this hotel delivered in that regard...I felt like a paying guest.

The room was lovely. We were in an upgraded room. It had a spacious seating area, great in-room technology (TV is on an iMac, which can also be used for computing), plenty of plugs, and a pleasant, modern design. I appreciated that the hotel achieved stark modernity without losing its soul or appearing too trendy. The bathroom was excellent -- although the shower stall was small, it had a great shower head. The mattress could have been a bit softer, but we slept very comfortably each night.

Public spaces at the hotel were nice -- clean and modern, well-equipped. It's not a plush kind of decor, but it feels very nice.

The hotel's location was excellent. It is located within walking distance of Centraal Station, which makes getting to the airport a breeze. It's on the edge of the old city. If you are going to exclusively walk during your visit to Amsterdam, the location might not be as preferable as some hotels that are more central. However, we rented bikes (from the hotel, for a very reasonable 15 euro per person, per day) and with the bikes we had incredibly easy access to all of the neighborhoods we wished to visit (Newmarkt, Jordaan, De Pijp, etc.).

The hotel's services were what you would expect of a full-service property. We bought tickets to the VanGogh Museum directly from the concierge, which was such a convenience (and saved us lots of time by avoiding lines at the museum itself). Bike rentals were a breeze to arrange. The concierge staff took care of a dinner reservation. Check-in was extremely welcoming -- I was put in a room long before check-in time, which is so appreciated after a long flight from the U.S. -- and check-out was also excellent.

The hotel's breakfast was superb -- an ample buffet with a great selection of typically European cold items (meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, etc.) as well as more traditionally American hot selections.

There were two glitches during the stay. The first came when a housekeeper failed to give us washclothes or soap. We called and asked for these to be delivered; when we returned to the room after dinner hours later, they had not been. However, to the hotel's credit, when I called again the operator was extremely apologetic and sent the items immediately. My only other 'complaint' is about the service at breakfast. It was inconsistent -- one morning, we had a superb waitress who was personable and welcoming. The other mornings, however, the breakfast servers were less than welcoming and it seemed as if the restaurant struggled to keep pace with the number of guests (the buffet was consistently well-stocked, but dirty tables were not cleared in a timely fashion, etc.). I think much of this boiled down to a maitre-d at breakfast who sort of barked commands at both guests and staff and didn't do a great job of setting a welcoming, service-oriented tone. However, superb food made up for this small matter -- service at a buffet breakfast isn't a huge deal in the scheme of things.

So, overall, it was a lovely stay: great services, an excellent room, a modern vibe, a great launching point for days spent exploring Amsterdam's charm. I would happily return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

+ Great location, very close to station so you can pretty much get anywhere with great ease
+ Fairly new, so pretty modern and clean
+ Reasonably sized rooms
+ Free WIFI! They also had an iMac in the room that served as a TV as well as a computer. That was very convenient.

- Not up to Hilton standards... I actually haven't stayed at a Hilton, however having stayed at many big chain hotels, I assume that Hilton is usually up there with the others. This one is not, so don't expect it, then you won't be disappointed.
- Poor service.. It could be just a Europe thing, having visited a lot of south east asian countries that give very efficient service, the service is pretty slow and inefficient.. A part from a few key ppl (like the manager at city cafe and the head man at Guest Services), service was pretty poor. It can take ages to check in and check out, be seated for breakfast and for reception to answer the phone.
- Housekeeping: our room didn't get any house keeping on the second day! What kind of a hotel forgets to clean a room? Luckily as it was only the second day, we only need a few towels refreshed which they brought up to our room when we complained
- Cleaning products could have been better. They only offer 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner combined in a bottle. So if you're not a fan of combined hair products, make sure you bring your own.
- Finally the hotel really needs to do something about their breakfast system. There were soooo many people sneaking in and having breakfast when it wasn't included in their room package. I felt annoyed as there were people genuinely paying for this stuff and yet others were able to get away with it so easily.

Overall though, even if it was just for the modern-ness and the cleanliness, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the city side. You get a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layneyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

all round a very good hotel,a little overpriced i may say for what you get.Really nice staff though,very helpful and polite.Like a previous reviewer said,beds arent massive but then i am 6ft4,you also dont recieve a lot with the complimentary mini bar.all in all i would stay here again and if you can get over the cost id urge anyway to try it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevereddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We booked our room using hilton honors points. This hotel is in a great location, right beside central station. We took the train from the airport (8 euros)...took about 20 minutes. There was an ATM in the train station. The rooms were nicely furnished. We had a Apple Mac in our bedroom and the main room, mini fridge, coffee/tea. The bathroom had tub and separate shower. Our breakfast was included (buffet loaded with everything). We rented bikes from the hotel (15euros which included 2 locks). This was more than the bike place down the street but the bikes could be parked at the front door of the hotel and we were able to return them anytime vs only open hours (9am-5:45pm) at the bike places. The SkyLounge at the top of the hotel has awesome views but prices are much higher than elsewhere. Would definitely come back again!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#97 of 367 in Amsterdam
73 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,847 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing