We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Doubletree.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a Doubletree.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

In typical Doubletree fashion this hotel was orginally "The Mint" hotel which is still evident on some of the Bath Towels and signage in the hotel. We were upgraded to a City Suite which included 1.5 baths (with seperate shower and bath), seperate bedroom with iMAC TV, a Living room with dining and sitting area, the room was spacious and had floor to ceiline windows in each room with closable shutters. The downside to our room was that it was a long walk from the elevators but we enjoyed the solitude being at the end of the hall. We were able to look at the standard rooms they offer there which are rather small but they do have balconys.
They have an extensive breakfast buffet that we enjoyed every morning and a nice rooftop lounge were you could see the city at night while enjoying food and drinks. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the transit system and we were able to purchase tram tickets at the front desk. The fitness center seemed like an after thought and was on the bottom floor of the hotel where the staff checked in for the day at; it included a couple of cardio machines and free weights. This hotel is located 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station which allowed us to catch a ride every day to explore other parts of the city, it is also convient when catching the Ibahn or Thayls international trains as well. We'll definitely be back to stay, you cant beat it's awesome location and great views of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If at all possible try and get upgraded to any of their suites; they have the best views of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,177
    2,369
    668
    184
    118
See reviews for
791
2,875
311
1,212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

First of all, I chose this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor, so thank you! And what an excellent choice it was. First of all the staff are super friendly and made me feel so welcome from the very beginning. My room was large, clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was very good. The iMac TV-computer took a little getting used to but then was fantastic (free wifi). I had a room facing the canal and city which was amazing as there are ceiling to floor windows. The buffet breakfast although a little pricey was lavish with so much to choose from. The Sky Lounge has spectacular views of the whole city and it is worth buying a few drinks to see this. Other reviewers have mentioned that the drinks were expensive; I thought it was very reasonable for a 4-star hotel in the city. It is so close to Amsterdam Centraal Station; about 5-8 minutes walk (hauling luggage). There is a train from Schipol Airport which goes right to Centraal Station, so again, very convenient. The hop on-off bus stop is within easy walking distance as are the trams. Day tour buses will pick you up very close to the hotel. I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and loved it and will always stay at the Doubletree when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Having a city facing room is magnificent, although I found the curtains not to be sufficiently black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Simply fantastic! From the cost of the stay, to the superb location, clean, bright, smart modern rooms, with more tech than I have ever got from a hotel. The shower is so powerful it gives you a personal massage every time you step into it. The bed was a sheer pleasure to sleep in and I have had some of the best nights sleep ever. The hotel is just so calm and peaceful. The gym is small but very user friendly. Bars in the The sky lounge and ground floor cafe are very good to, but a bit on the pricey side. I do recommend a visit, but you can find better in Amsterdam. The hotel on the other hand I think you would struggle to find better in this fine city. We will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebarnes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here on my to and from a cruise. Hotel location is perfect if you want to want to the ship. It is on the edge of the city. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms super and service is great. Breakfast buffet is very good with a ton of choice and the Skybar is a perfect place to end a day.

This is a very modern hotel and very European and I liked that. As a Hilton Gold member, I was upgraded both times.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the city are quieter. The hotel is just down from the train station and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Booked this trip as a birthday treat for a friend - I emailed the hotel ahead of time to let them know it was her birthday...wow! When we arrived, after receiving the customary cookie, we were shown to our room, which had been thoughtfully decorated in balloons! Small hitch though, it was a double room, not a twin. After assuring the hotel guy that my friend and I were not that close, the room was changed with minimum fuss - we even ended up with a balcony, a significant improvement. But it doesn't stop there - as a birthday present from the hotel, we were given a ticket each for a canal tour around the city.
I cant praise the hotel staff enough, everyone was friendly, helpful and chatty, and in my mind, they made the stay. One morning we decided to order the continental breakfast to our room and not only did the gent on the other end of the phone personally come up to our room to help us decipher the menu, he also threw in a free portion of scrambled eggs when the feast actually did arrive. And boy it was a feast - well worth the price, and ended up as a two for one deal, which was even better. The hotel itself, as the other reviews will tell you, is brilliantly close to the station, and the ideal starting place from which to make your way around the city.
The hotel itself was about what you'd expect from this company, and the star rating - there was an ugly stain on the carpet at the door of the bathroom caused by a leak, the twin single beds we ended up with were a tad on the small side and wheeled around annoyingly when you were least expecting it.
The real praise has to go to the wonderful staff that make the experience great.
I can't wait to return to Amsterdam, and this hotel in particular.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room - you may end up with a balcony, which are high up, spacious, and give you aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankieangel x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station. We are happy to hear it was a success! We look forward to welcoming you again to Amsterdam – We enjoyed taking care of you.

Thanks again!

With kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great hotel. Great rooms. And loved the iMacs int the rooms the most.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice comments. Whenever you are in Amsterdam, stop by the DoubleTree by Hilton. We will take good care of you!

Witk kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was our first trip abroad as a couple after 20 years of holidays with the children; it has set a high standard for future trips. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Central Train Station; we were greeted at the reception by a young lady speaking perfect English who quickly sorted our room out and sent us on our way with a warm cookie, nice touch. The room was on one of the top floors and was spectacular with both a balcony and a private terrace overlooking the city; it was certainly worth that little extra for the upgrade. Stepping out, within a few minutes you were in the hub of the shops, restaurants and bars but far enough away for it to be quite if we wanted to sit out on the terrace with a drink. The view from our room was only bettered by that from the Skylounge, an amazing place to meet, eat and drink.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and indulge yourself with a suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_N_CRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing