We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #66 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon in August The service was fantastic and the staff knowledable and friendly nothing was too much trouble The rooms were excellent. The hotel is within walking distance of the central station and all the tourist sights We will return

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,133 - 5,139 of 7,375 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We rented room 922 w/buffet breakfast included from 8/12/12 - 8/16/12. The service was amazing w/a quick and informative check-in process; the guest service desk always seemed to be open and more than willing to assist with anything. The bikes we rented from the hotel were new and very sturdy. The location couldn't have been better - right next to the train station - easy walk with luggage, you can't get closer (there is absolutely no noise from the train station at all). The view was outstanding; after walking and biking all over the city, we couldn't find a hotel with a better view than off our balcony on the 9th floor of this hotel. The room was decent sized, new, clean with comfortable beds, though the bathroom was small (but well appointed and very efficient). There is no real closet, but there is a built in wardrobe. The computer came in handy (as did the room service). Our stay was magical; you won't be disappointed. Brand new hotel, in the middle of old town & everything you want to see - perfect. (and it had a starbucks on the corner)

Room Tip: 9th floor w/balcony - 922 has the largest balcony overlooking the city - lower floors come without b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree to celebrate our sons birthday during August 2012. Got a deal through Travel Republic. The location is great, next to the railway station, handy for the train to and from Schiphol Airport (about 4 euros each; much cheaper than a taxi!) and the trams. All the main tourist sites are within walking distance.

The hotel is very modern with all the amenities you would expect; mini bar, safe, tea making etc. Rooms at the front are best because of the views and train noise. Visit the Sky Lounge on the top floor at sunset, it's fantastic! The breakfast buffet caters for all tastes; our daughter in law is vegetarian and she had no problems.

Service is excellent right through from check-in (we were greeted with hot cookies) to check-out. The staff are friendly and helpful; they even provided a small birthday cake for my son (who was 30!) without any advance warning and even a cork screw. The restaurants are a little pricey but there is a huge selection of restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

All of the canal trips leave from near the hotel. There's a large selection with various prices / trips, so don't jump on the first one! (the Hop On - Hop Off is good value for money!) The Red Light District is fairly close but can be easily avoided.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel, views are great and you don't hear the trains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After staying one night at a different, sub-standard hotel in Amsterdam, we were thrilled to move into the Doubletree for our last three nights. The employees, especially at reception, were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is fully air-conditioned (and it was HOT outside!) and quiet. We got our room on sale over the internet the morning we booked in. We were upgraded to a bigger room to accommodate an extra bed for my daughter - and were charged for neither the upgrade nor the extra bed. As a bonus, the room included a free mini-bar, safe, bathrobes, toiletries, a Mac/TV combo and a lovely view of the canal and city. The location was perfect for us too. Just steps away from the train station - which is an inexpensive, easy way to get to the airport - and a short walk to canal cruises and bus tours. Anne Frank's House was about a 15 minute walk. The Sky Lounge on the 11th floor offers lovely views of the city, both day and night (and children are allowed in).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We satayed at this hotel December 2011. It was a very nice hotel very clean and very modern... the location of the hotel is perfect... is near to the center of Amsterdam (10 minutes walk) and the metro is near the hotel. The rooms is a bit small but is very modern and very clean. All rooms are equipped with a mac computer so you can go free to internet and also you can watching tv.Be sure that you will not book a room near the train station. the hotel also has an awesome bar at the top of the building with amazing view of Amsterdam... also the lobby bar makes perfect capucino.. ;). All in all a great place to stay if you want to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel0mpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

+Good location and the prices were really low since we booked it through easyjet as a holiday package together with a flight.
+free internet access and an awesome iMac TV/PC/radio although many stations didn't work
+Bathroom is superb.

but
-our room was under the Sky Lounge bar so in the evenings till late we heard music from above, So if you get a room there and you think you are sensitive to any sounds in the evenings, please, ask for a room not under the Sky Lounge. But probably it is better than having a room overlooking rail tracks :)

-The view from Sky Lounge didn't appear to be something special to us although we read many inspiring opinions about it. We were a bit disappointed...

Room Tip: if you can't tolerate any noise in the evening, try to ask a room which is not under Sky Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very modern-looking hotel just a few steps from Centraal Station. We've received a complimentary upgrade, with free minibar in the room being re-stocked everyday and free buffet breakfast (very sumptous). The location is excellent - we were able to walk everywhere. Next time will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madame_MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,118 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £143 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing