We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite in Amsterdam!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“My new favorite in Amsterdam!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I travel to Amsterdam 4-5 times a year, usually staying at the Crowne Plaza City Central. However, I discovered this new property just last week. Not only was I given a wonderful upgrade to a Jr. suite, but the service and amenities were outstanding. The breakfast was wonderful, as was the dinner I had (get the Dover Sole!!!). The fitness center was quite nice as well. However, the Sky Lounge was the best. On the top floor, it had the best view of the city, hands down. I was there every night enjoying the drinks, scenery, and overall atmosphere of the lounge. Very much like the Living Room in the W hotels. Hats off to Kasia for her great service at the Sky Lounge! Also great work by all the ladies at the check in desk. Can't wait to go back...this is clearly my new favorite hotel in Amsterdam!!

Room Tip: Facing the city vs. the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Wow, thank you so much! We can't wait to welcome you back. Definitely let me know when you are planning your next trip. Would love to invite you to our regular guest cocktail!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,130
    2,343
    655
    180
    114
See reviews for
774
2,840
307
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Excellent stay great location and service and extremely attentive staff...thoroughly recommend, will definitely return. Almost next door to central station but no sound from trains.fantastic views from The Sky Lounge.Upgrade well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Highly appreciate you took the time to share your experiences. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the weekend just gone with my wife. When in Amsterdam we usually stay at the Amsterdam Hilton which is a little out of town so we decided on the new doubletree as it is a Hilton (my wife is a HH member) and right next to central station.

Nothing to fault regarding the check in, or indeed the rest of the stay. Staff all very helpful and friendly, room was excellent. We had an executive room with an excellent view over Amsterdam. We ordered room service a couple of times which was excellent every time.

My only problem with our stay was Sunday morning breakfast. We were told breakfast was served until 11am. So we went down Sunday morning at 10.10am. The queue just to get a table was 8 people deep. No worries we thought, once they've say us it'll be fine. Wrong!! As we were led around the corner into the restaurant it was plain to see that they could not cope with the volume of people for breakfast. The buffet had a queue of about 40-50 people (no exaggeration I promise). We sat down and were offered tea and coffee but not juice. We were told juice is on the buffet but with what looked like an hour queue that wasn't really good enough. The waiter told us it might be best to wait for the queue to die down a little. Well it didn't! We sat there until 10.45am before deciding to join the queue. At 11am I was still number 37 in the queue. (I had plenty of time to count) also at 11am one of the waitresses didn't want to top up the buffet even though there was 30+ people queuing. I heard her say to her colleague "it's 11, stop topping it up" which I'm glad her obviously more experienced colleague replied "you can't leave guests who have queued for half an hour with no food at the buffet"

I can't understand why there were not 2 buffet points set up? There is plenty of room, we were sat for breakfast in the bistro which had a massive empty bar. Couldn't that have been set up as another buffet station? That's what other hotels do on Sunday mornings as they know breakfast will be extremely busy and everybody will want to come down 30 mons before last orders. I've never experienced anything like that in a hotel in recent years. Never had that problem at the Amsterdam Hilton or indeed the airport Hilton Amsterdam where we have stayed a few times also.

All in all we would stay here again just probably not on a Saturday night because if the Sunday breakfast issue. Breakfast Monday morning was a delight and a much more civilised affair.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thanks you so much for your kind words about our team and you are absolutely right. The sunday you are referring to was definitely not representative for a normal sunday breakfast. Several reasons caused queues at the restaurant and buffet. Please accept my sincere apologies. We have taken appropriate measures to prevent this situation from happening again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

There is a lot to be said for staying in familiar surroundings. This latest stay does not support this though. Booked 2 rooms for a short getaway and having stayed here before thought this would be a safe bet for a 1 night stopover. Check in was smooth enough and allocated 2 rooms at the back which were mobility rooms. Expected to be situated at the back of the hotel and was aware of potential noise from trains but in all honesty thought it cant be that bad. How wrong was I. Constant train noise which is nigh impossible to tune out. Also there appeared to be some kind of rail works going on at 4 in the morning. Appreciate this is not the hotels fault but the affect of the noise needs to be looked at in general. No socket power in both rooms when we arrived which required handyman to fix (tripped switch) This would have understandable however later that night power went again. Quickly fixed but suggestion that if it happens a third time let reception know and we will flick switch again a bit of a concern. Not being a trained electrician but I would suggest that if the power cuts off like this there is perhaps an underlying issue that perhaps should be investigated. Maybe they did but no-one said so. Breakfast was as good as previous and this was probably saving grace for hotel. Skylounge was very busy and bouncing. Overall left feeling disappointed with the feeling that a hot cookie does not cut it anymore. Needs more than a token effort. It's amazing how 2 stays can differ so much. As a frequent traveller to the dam - would I stay here again. Perhaps as a hilton member worth another shot if not staying at the back- but only a big perhaps.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the railway ARE noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hearts1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Highly appreciate your feedback. Happy to confirm that a definite solution to the noise nuisance of the trains is currently being installed after thorough investigation and testing possibilities. The extra sound proofing measures will for sure reduce the noise nuisance to zero and is expected to be finalized within the coming monhts. Regarding the electricity issue, you're absolutely right, this should not happen. You may trust this was an exceptional situation for which I sincerely apologize.
I do hope we may welcome you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally when you are preparing your next visit to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I had recently arranged for a small business conference and this hotel offers a truly good place to organize such a meeting in Amsterdam. A 15 minute single trip away from Schiphol airport by an affordable and excellent train service is getting you to medieval Amsterdam Central city center; a 5 minute walk from the train station to the hotel lobby. (Careful for all byciclists coming from all directions not to mention the trams!) It saves a lot of expensive taxi rides to and fro the airport and you will get there too instead of being stuck on the freeway.

The good thing about the hotel location is that everything worth visiting within the old 17th century city walls is walkable within 45 minutes. And a very pleasant walk passing canals and old Amsterdam style houses.

Check in at the nice open lobby was a breeze, informative and effective.

The hotel rooms are new, clean and modern; not over the top luxurious but that is to be expected as well at Doubletree. The rooms are spacious for Amsterdam but not for international standards.
Some of them have good views; mime was looking into a courtyard and that's better as well because quiet. Some of us had a room at the railway side of the building and were kept awake at night. That is a consideration. Rooms at the other side of the hotel are having a city view. There are options.

The conference room was excellent; light and spacious and conference staff was available at all times.

We had lunch at the rooftop restaurant which is offering beautiful views over the city; a very good break opportunity.

Pricing was pretty good as well for Amsterdam standards.
All in all a serious option for a good stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room without a view try to get a courtyard room. The outside rooms, city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
In all the reviews we get, we don't get that many about our conference facilities and services. Really appreciate your detailed review. Thanks so much for making the effort. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Good location right next to train station at reasonable rates. Most staff very helpful. Sky lounge comfortable with great views. Room very clean and comfortable. Some train noise early AM, but nothing too disturbing. Breakfast selection is very good, but it is a bit pricey, so sample as much as possible! As with everywhere in Amsterdam, the staff all spoke English, but do try to say some niceties in Dutch for even better service. Will return and recommend to others.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vivb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation. For your future stay, consider our executive rooms, they come with free breakfast and minibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Had never been to this hotel but as a Gold Club member I found they 'cared' a lot more about your experience than other hotels in the UK. I got an email prior to my visit which was a nice touch. It allowed any questions to be answered.

Checked in at 9:30am! Allowed bags to be dropped off and head into centre. Got upgraded to an exec room, Robes, slippers, with free mini bar (2 beers, Wine, 2 waters, 2 soft drinks, crisps, chocolate) which was refilled the next day. Nice touch. There were also 'coffee shop' cups in the room meaning you could fill up and take the coffee with you as you headed into the town. Starbucks is joined onto the hotel too. Apple Mac and free wifi throughout saves on roaming charges.

Skylounge has fantastic reviews and is the ideal place to go for a final drink when you come back in. Breakfast was extensive, even down to the small 'Yakult' drinks and deep Waffles. You could easily pass an hour at the window overlooking the canals.

I had one issue during the stay but this was fixed by the operations manager (FS) without any fuss. Thank you also for the follow up email.

Will definitely be back at this hotel. Way better than the last one and an ideal location. Over 9 trams head back to Central so no matter where you wander too you know the next tram you see gets you to within minutes of the hotel

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look for the opportunity to upgrade - breakfast, mini bar, view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Extremely grateful you shared your experiences and truly hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing