We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Long weekend in amsterdam”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at doubletree lovely base for visiting all atractions in amsterdam. The cookie on check in lovely touch. We had a quiet room not over looking the station but a room looking at a wall and partial city view. But you only sleep there! We were asked if we wanted an upgrade on arrival for 50 euros per night to include breakfast and minibar but we found a lovely cafe doing breakfast and at a fraction of the cost the bakkerswinkel i believe.
The sky lounge you must visit for the view but drinks expensive .
Room comfortable with toiletries tea (selection) and coffee an fridge . Modern shower room. Overall a lovely stay

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Very grateful for your kind 5 star review, appreciate it! So nice to read you have had a lovely stay. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

6,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,294
    2,450
    694
    193
    127
See reviews for
840
2,971
327
1,258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Every once in a while, I enter a hotel room and feel like I wish it were my home. This Doubletree is one such hotel. We were upgraded to a really lovely suite with spacious rooms, floor to ceiling windows with a terrific view of the barges and canal cruise boats chugging along the harbor, and super comfortable modern furniture. The breakfast buffet had the most extensive array of good options that I have ever encountered, including fresh honeycomb, dragon fruit, figs, all kinds of breads and pastries and all the usual Western and Asian typical breakfast options. In the evening, the restaurant (City Cafe) had an excellent meal at a reasonable price. All staff were friendly and., helpful. And best of all is the hotel's location. About 500 metres from central station (turn left when you come out the station and then walk straight ahead), walking distance to the Anne Frank House, Flower Market and Museums, and many other attractions. In essence, the perfect choice for exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novascotiakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travellers, it means a lot to us. We are very proud of our breakfast buffet and do strive on a daily basis to make it as complete as possible. Feel free to share any suggestions you might have. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We chose this hotel for a 4-day break mostly for its amenities and site - we were slightly concerned (see SillyHoop's review below) as we too had had bad experience with Hilton (see our 2011 review). BUT, from the moment we were greeted on entry, we were made welcome by all staff. The City Cafe staff, both at breakfast and dinner, were particularly able to combine efficiency with lovely manners. Wonderful teamwork throughout the hotel is a credit to the management.
I should also mention that this was the week of the Europa Cup Final - Doubletree was hosting many sponsors, etc., but at no time were we made to feel anything but valued guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Extremely grateful for your kind words. It has been a hectic week with the Europa League finals in town, making it even more motivating to read we have been able to make your stay most enjoyable. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Good points - Excellent location. City Cafe superb for dinner. Helpful and friendly staff.
Not so good - Courtyard-facing room very claustrophobic. Asked to change but no availability. Housekeeping inadequate. Room was not properly serviced during our four nights' stay. Reception very slow with long queues.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms very quiet but claustrophobic. Rooms overlooking the railway lines could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeathersMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Terribly sorry to read about the lack of service on your room. Would you be able to share your details of stay for further follow up?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Short and sweet review. Me and my partner stayed here in March 2013 for 2 nights. Room is fantastic, Staff are very friendly, location is superb!. When I book for the Dam next year I will be staying here again. Only 1 small fault, We had to give 50 euros deposit when we checked in as we do not own credit cards. Thought this was stupid! However only a small fault and I will make sure to take 50 extra euros next year. Oh 1 more thing, book superior room as you may have a view of the train track behind. We had a lovely view of Amsterdam and did not have the noise of the trains (done my research before booking!)

Room Tip: Book superior room to avoid noisy trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigsy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We do agree regarding the deposit and wish we would not have to do that, but unforunately it's a necesarry measure. I am sorry if it caused you inconveniences. Great to read you will visit us again. Keep an eye on our early bird deals, they might save you a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed three nights here in this curiously shaped modern building right beside the Centraal Station, rooms modern, clean, fresh; clearly not the premium brand of Hilton but ideal for business travel.
Breakfasts outstandingly good; selection and presentation shamed a five star in which I recently stayed.
Room was comfortable and quiet; others facing the railway and docks had a view but higher noise levels; it was good to have been given the choice.
Two minutes walk to the Station and Metro, ten minutes to some of Amsterdam's more idiosyncratic attractions...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundwindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Very grateful for your kind comments. We are proud of our extensive breakfast buffet indeed. Still, anything you feel we should add, don't hesitate to let us know, we will!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Long time Hilton devotee who went off them big time after several bad stays, but Doubletree as a brand seems to have it worked out. Was lucky to stay on 10 th floor on a balcony room. The views across the city are quite superb, and can be enjoyed in the Sky bar by all. Nicely decorated room, typically compact for AMS and offset angles make it interesting. Staff I dealt with were excellent. Breakfast was decent and a short stroll from Central Station. Location is great and you can't not take a waterside stroll.

Helpful?
Thank SillyHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
So many nice compliments. Thank you! It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,150 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,816 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing