We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, excellent service”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Double Tree this weekend and were really impressed! Beautiful room, great location right next to the main train station. Excellent for city tours and sightseeing (took the canal trip with Kooij boats ..like!) the service was excellent. We had organized a party there with friends in the evening on the top floor in the Sky Lounge. Breathtaking view of the old part of Amsterdam. We will definitely go back! The warm chocolate chip cookie that you receive when you check in - their trademark - was worth staying there by itself :-)

Room Tip: Book in advance with trip advisor. Don't miss the view at the sky lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
You made an entire team very happy with you nice feedback and recommendation. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,325
    2,478
    702
    194
    131
See reviews for
856
3,000
331
1,272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We wanted a hotel near the centre, with an onsite bar and nice facilities, this hotel definitely ticked all the boxes, we had upgraded our room before arrival to a king deluxe with breakfast and a free small minibar. There had been an error with our booking agent (lastminute.com) and our breakfast wasn't included, however this was sorted by the second day and the hotel didn't chare us for the call to our agent from the room. I'd recommend the upgrade as the breakfast was a good quality with continental style, cooked options and very pleasant table service and was served 6.30-10.30 (7-11 Sat).
Unlike some other reviews we had absolutely no problems being on the 10th floor below the sky lounge (which is frankly fantastic) and also being track side (may have been worse on lower floors but we didn't notice it at all).
Standard of room cleaning and linen changes was more than acceptable.
Will definitely be returning here for our next stay in Amsterdam and will be looking for Hilton/Doubletree hotels for any other city breaks.

Room Tip: King deluxe room was a decent size, nice hot shower, free wifi and in room Imac were excellent and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

As a Hilton Hhonors member with status, I tend to stay at Hilton hotels when on business or personal travel in the States. Normally on vacation, I go for more boutiquey type places, but with the competitive rate and the central location, I couldn't resist staying at the Doubletree in Amsterdam. It was absolutely the right decision.

As other reviewers have noted, the beds are quite comfortable. The rooms are modern, but not sterile and we were treated to a room with a balcony which was a nice benefit. The breakfast buffet in the morning was impressive, with just about anything you could possibly want. The staff was friendly and accommodating. However, perhaps the best thing about the Doubletree is the location. It was only about a 5-10 min walk (even laden with heavy luggage) from Centraal Station, but it was a walk we made time and again as we hopped a metro train or a bus. It was also the same distance to one of the canal cruise companies (Holland International), which was an easy walk, even in heels, after a late night cruise. Lots of decent dinner options are a short walk away and even a longer walk to the Museumplein was only just about a mile.

Will definitely stay here again if I make it back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renees13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Eternally grateful for your kind words and recommending us to other travellers. It means a lot to us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Well for starters no hot cookie, small rooms, which are okay for an overnight stay but for five days , not really great for two people sharing.

Breakfasts are excellent, plenty of choice, and the Sky Lounge is really good and well worth a visit .

The Apple TVs are very good and yes a hotel with free WiFi and very fast too. Only problem is that the remote for the TV also affects a Mac book if you happen to be using one.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the railway, one of my colleagues had to use earplugs as the railway becomes n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkyuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Terribly sorry about the cookie, please accept my apologies. May I send you you a tin of cookies? Just send me your adress details and we will post it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, NV
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Have stayed here twice. Location is wonderful and you can't beat the view. Decor is modern European and a bit sparce. Beds comfortable and very quiet (which is extremely appreciated), Breakfast pricey, but very good. Shower only- and after a long day, a tub would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Appreciate your kind review. Must recommend our city suites. They come with fantastic views, complimentary breafkast, extra spacious living rooms, a bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, and access to our brand new executive lounge.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just a 2 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station which is itself just 15 mins from the airport. A great Starbucks within the building and a breakfast buffet to die for. You do need to look out for bikes when leaving the hotel as it is a very busy cycle route. You can reach the whole of the central canal district within a 20 min walk and the Rijksmuseum within 25 mins

Room Tip: Try for a room on floors 4 to 6. These floors are the furthest away from the bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommending our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

con
first impresion of the room is ok. new modern and compressed. good view with large windows.

the mini bar comes empty... 4 bottles of beer for 20eur from the minibar menue. buys u 0.25l bottels of heineken. 5,50eur service charge on top.

writing this review gets disburbed by flash and java updates of the browser.

skybar closed already at 2h14min (menue states "open till 3"). bar manager reasoned "not enough customers" with abt 10 people left in the bar.

no bill estimation at check-in

pro
free internet imac and wlan.

garden terrasse.

great wasabi crackers (althouh date of expiry 3 weeks ago)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blAjOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,847 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing