We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked the hotel two weeks before going due to a great offer we caught online. We arrived at 10 pm at night and were asked if we wanted to upgrade to an executive suite (after we got the yummy chocolate chip cookie, a nice touch!). We declined that, then they said they only had a disability access room available, but we could change that the next day if we wanted. After seeing the room we decided we didn't need to change the room. We got a view towards the court yard (sea side which was on the other side of the hotel compared to the railways) and the room was huge. The bathroom had a big shower and a bathtub. There was plenty of space in the bedroom. In the closet there was an iron and ironing board, something you don't see at every hotel.

The breakfast buffet was amazing, I especially enjoyed the selection of fresh fruits. The service in the reception was nothing less than perfect and we also got to borrow umbrellas.

The hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam, only a five minute walk from the train station whch is very convenien. Red Light District and Chinatown are only five minutes away where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. If you are going to Rijksmuseum I would consider taking a taxi though.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were to visit Amsterdam again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Great to hear you loved your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. This is really appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    2,336
    652
    180
    114
See reviews for
772
2,832
305
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Warm welcome extremely helpful staff. Nice view of the city from Sky Lounge. If you like a modern stay close to the old city and transportation hub, perfect location. Prefer a room with a view to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyyah-Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for your nice compliments. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you received a warm welcome from our staff. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Location, location, location. Great place to stay in the centre of the town. Staff was just ok. Rooms are small but adequate. Price is good value. Clean with a good breakfast, really liked the smoked fish. Easy walking distance to most everything, but took a taxi to Albert market. Love Amsterdam and great place to stay for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Good to hear you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at Doubletree by Hilton hotel in Amsterdam, and were
pleasantly surprised by how good it was for the price. When we arrived, we were given
a warm large chocolate chip cookie each, and a map of the city! We were 2 hours early, but
were allowed to check in. The room had a great view of the canal, and had a Computer, which also doubled as a Television. There was tea and coffee in the room, which we haven't had in Europe.
I needed to print an email, sign it, and then fax back to Australia, they had 2 computers near the service desk, for people staying at the hotel, who needed to print. My email wouldn't allow me to, so the staff at the service desk, allowed me to sign into my emails on their computer, then printed
it for me, witnessed my form, and then faxed it back to Australia for me, free of charge! Nothing
Was too much trouble to them. The hotel is in a great position, next to Central Station! Great service, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikstar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
You have made an entire team very happy with your kind and detailed review. It means a lot to us, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great location, 5 minutes walk from train, tram and bus station. Within easy walking distance of old town. Warm cookie on arrival was very tasty and welcome. Our room faced a court yard so there was no noise from the train station or street. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly helpful staff. Has a Star Bucks and is five minutes walk from the library which has a fantastic cafe and view,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffe_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Highly appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The highlight of this hotel would had to of been the hot cookies on arrival which are tasty and a great little welcome gift, but that's about where it ended. Apart from the Cookies and it's location so close to Central station it doesn't have much to offer. We were given a room that was so small it was virtually like a miniture shoe box, it had a view out the window looking directly into other rooms, and there was no power to the power points. After contacting reception we were given another room overlooking the harbour, and central station which was a much better, but it wasnt any bigger than the first room. The rooms themselves were very average, basic, and simple which I didnt expect from a hilton owned brand. We paid a hefty price for this hotel so defintely not worth it by any means, and will stay elsewhere on our next visit. Would recommend that you can find a better deal elsewhere in town, and much closer to the Dam Square area which would be a better choice. If you do stay make the effort to visit the Sky Lounge on the top floor! It's got some of the best views over Amseterdam you can see, and it serves a great drink too!

Room Tip: Req a high floor room, and something with good views...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
I'm terribly sorry to read you did not like our rooms. Our rooms are designed to offer maximal facilities in a relaive affordable space considering the location of the hotel. These facilities include an iMac PC in the room, free wifi, in room climat control, power shower and any other facilty you may expect from a four star hotel. For guest requiring more space we offer up to 50 spacious suites with separate living room and bathroom with separate bathtub and shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights from 12th June. All in all a good hotel, nice staff, good location. Just a couple of things:

The wheels on the bed - why ? This can only be for housekeeping as its a right pain in the ar#e

We also spent a good 30 minutes watching a mouse in the lobby bar, in and out of the bookcase, on our last evening

No free mini bar in our executive room. I guess this may of been replaced with lounge access but this was chaotic at best

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeymagic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Regarding the wheels, you are so right, we are replacing them all as we speak.

With regards to the mouse you saw, I am terribly sorry. We follow the strictest guidelines to ensure maximal hygiene and also have a very wide range with measures in place preventing mice from entering the building. This has been truly incidental, please accept my apologies.

The free minibar has indeed been replaced by access to our executive lounge offering free bites and drinks every day between 6 and 8 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing