We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently situated, shiny and new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #59 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Had a three night stay here with my sister while in town for a long weekend featuring a major concert at the Amsterdam Arena.

Plus points: Location is very close to Centraal Station, so convenient for travel from the airport, and also the main terminus for trams, metro and canal tours. The GVB ticket office isnright there too, making it easy tomget a 48 hour pass. However, still walking distance to the Red Light district, Dam Square, the canals and Anne Frank House. It's very, very new, and spotlessly clean. The room - even our most basic room - is well appointed with fantastic shower, good toiletries (including condtioner), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and iMac for TV as well as other media and Internet access. Floor to ceiling windows with - in our case - great views over the IJ. Complimentary warm cookie at check in, and complimentary bottled water available during the day. Free wifi throughout. "Sky lounge" bar on the top floor with fantastic views over the city.

Minus points: being a Hilton chain, it's a bit sterile and lacks any of the character or charm you can find in other Amsterdam hotels. Our twin room was small, with two single beds which were very close together. The service at reception was a bit laid back - massive long reception desk that only ever seemed to have about two people on it. It seems to be used by some tour parties, and this could cause an issue if you arrived at the same time as one. Our room was on the 7th floor and faced the rear of the hotel, and there was some noise from trains but not too bad - but if you're used to sleeping in silence it may be an issue. The Sky lounge was lovely, but the cheapest cocktails were €12 so we only visited once.

All in all, it was just about perfect for our needs, and certainly worth the £92 per night for a twin room on a deal I got through Expedia.

Room Tip: Choose between a view or noise - courtyard facing rooms will be quiet with no view; rooms with a vie...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

How great to read you had overall a nice stay with us and that the location was very convenient for you.

I regret to read the size of our rooms were not what you expected; though, they have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location. Our hotel, unlike some other hotels in Amsterdam, has a modern, unique, fresh and innovator design which offers to our guests a young and different atmosphere.

I am so sorry to hear our reception was a bit busy during your check in, it is indeed sometimes a challenge to have all our guests assisted when there is a big group checking in at the same time. However since there is no excuse for a bad experience, we take your opinion very seriously and we will make sure this doesn't happen again in the future. Kindly accept my apologies for this.

Regarding the prices at our Sky Lounge, we are aware they might be higher than some other bars in the city, however we feel this is justified by the quality of the products we use in combination with the unique location on the 11th floor, overlooking the city. Our signature cocktails are prepared only by highly skilled shakers using exclusive and fresh ingredients. We aim to create a unique experience for every guest visiting our SkyLounge.

Next to the above, I am happy it was all perfect for your needs. I hope to welcoming you back soon.

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,046)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,011 - 4,017 of 7,047 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank foxglove14
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Situated just across the road from Central Station this hotel not only has great facilities and very firendly staff the view from the roof top bar is fantastic. The bar which overlooks the whole of Amsterdam gives a panoramic view of the city second to none. Staff in the hotel are very friendly and efficient and it's location means that you are within easy walking distance of many of the main attractions. Boat trips round the canal leave from across the road and there are also some fantastic restaurants within easy reach. A really relaxing stay !

Room Tip: Get a city facing room if possible for the best views - a high floor if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

I am very happy you had a very relaxing stay with us and that you could enjoy the wonderful views from our Sky Lounge! Your review is really appreciated!

Hope to welcoming you back soon.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Typical to Hilton properties, this hotel is primarily for business travelers but the location close to the Central Train Station and within easy walking distance to the town center makes it an excellent hotel for vacation travelers. The hotel is very modern, the rooms are spacious, clean, and service from the staff excellent. Our heating system developed a problem which was quickly repaired by the maintenance personnel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

I am happy to read you found our location very convenient and that our staff offered an excellent service. I will certainly pass on your nice words to the entire team, they will be very pleased with this!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel located close to the central train station. Staff were so nice, directions where to walk/run, rented bikes from them; they went out of their way to be friendly and point out things to visit. For example, they recommended a trip to the local library one block away and this was a great find! Food and views from the library were awesome.

We would stay there again...!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

How great to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our staff made sure you received proper recommendations and enough information for places to visit. It is important for us to make our guest's stay as easy and enjoyable as possible.

I hope to see you back soon!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very good location,next to Central railway and all bus and bout sightseeing. Very friendly staff, everybody just was smily, nice and helpful. Room was nice and clean and bad was very comfy.
Very good soundproofed, it was really quiet in the room. They have Starbucks and Cafe on first floor and bar on 11th floor overlook old city. Very positive experience and thanks to all friendly stuff!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors has better view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEREGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

I am very glad to read you had such a great stay at our hotel. Thank you so much for sharing this positive experience, it is really appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We loved this hotel. It was a hop, skip and a jump from Central railway where we arrived. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging. Nothing was a problem. Our room overlooked the river and the room was clean and modern. The restaurant on site was just amazing, the staff were wonderful and the food was awesome. We relaxed in the sky lounge and this providing us with terrific view of the river and city. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Your nice review is really appreciated! thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel.

I am very happy to read our staff was extremely friendly, that you enjoyed the quality of our product at our restaurant and the wonderful views from our Sky Lounge.

We would love to welcoming you back very soon!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £157 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing