We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #59 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great hotel, stayed here for a long weekend on the back of a business trip. Booked early enough to get a great rate and then got upgraded when we arrived to an Executive Room with great view of the city and canals. Staff were pleasant and hotel was clean and tidy. Room was always made up whilst we were out and unlike some hotels we didn't have maids trying to get in during the early mornings. Breakfast was as any chain hotel and not great. Both the hotel bar and sky lounge were great and the service was also brilliant. The location is 10 minutes from Dam Square right by Central station and we found the location great. The only down side was checking out which took us 30 minutes due to the size of the queues, so I would advise an express checkout if possible. I would recommend this hotel if visiting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review regarding you recent stay with us!

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your room and our Skylounge with a beautiful view over Amsterdam.

I am sorry that the front desk has not satisfied you to their best abilities, my apologies.
Sometimes problems arise and we always try our best to company everyone as efficiently as possible.

We would love to welcome you back in the future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,387
    2,510
    710
    198
    134
See reviews for
891
3,044
335
1,279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de mallorca, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Unfriendly Reception Crew with arrogant attitude, considering the high Roomrate - Dissapointing Experience, Terrible Parking Situation, Lobby full of Backpack Traveller just there to use Internet and show of. Only good Point - Location next to Station. Never Again !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heinrich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of this city hotel, being close to the Centraal Station, is perfect.
The competent service at check-in and check-out was great. Guest relations staff was very courteous and able to assist with various inquiries and special requests. My room was perfect, neat and clean.
The breakfast was very good.
All in all a very good experience which I recommend to all business and city travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innovator121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review!

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your service, your room and our breakfast.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers!

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our hotel room was booked through Scenic Tours and small room with a double bed was unsatisfactory to us and other Scenic Tour guests were also unhappy with rooms.. Price charged seemed excessive . Hotel were very good and got us moved the next day to a king size for a nominal charge of 10 euro. Hotel was close to everything and staff excellent. SkyLounge offered an excellent view of Amsterdam.
Will forward comments to Scenic Tours.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28DenisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

On business trip but would thoroughly recommend as a leisure stay. Consider executive upgrade - 50€ per night quite pricy but includes breakfast, papers, wifi and complimentary free drinks and snacks over happy hours. Great views from top floor bar.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel.

We really appreciate you getting back to us with your feedback.

I am happy to read you enjoyed your room and our Skylounge.

We would love to see you again in the near future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Really liked this hotel, it's in a great location close to Central Station and a short walk from Dam Square. Rooms are well equipped and clean; think we did benefit from a room not facing the train tracks so I'd request this if you can. Nice tea tray and toiletries which always makes a stay more pleasant. Also enjoyed cocktails and snacks in the sky bar which I think is probably of one of the best views in Amsterdam! My only small point is that at peak periods the reception seems a bit disorganised and a lot of people standing around not doing anything (I'm sure they were but seemed that they weren't!). Also liked the welcome cookies;0)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for writing this positive review, we really appreciate it!

I am very pleased you enjoyed our welcoming chocolate chip cookie, your room and our Skylounge.

I am sorry to read you are not satisfied about the service at front desk, my apologies.
Due to high amounts of guest at certain times we try our best to plan ahead and make sure that you do not have to wait too long. Sometimes problems arise and we always try our best to company everyone as efficiently as possible.

We hope to welcome you in the near future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#47 of 368 in Amsterdam
127 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,033 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing