We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel with a group of friends the hotel is central right next to the central railway station .IT was lovely clean very modern friendly helpful staff free wifi computers in your room .It could be a bit noisy with the trains but it's double glazed and ding spoil our stay .My only regret is we never used the sky bar on the 11th floor till our last night this bar was awesome with a lovely view over the city it's a def most we've said we will have to stay again yo take advent sage off this hidden gem in this wonderful hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemarie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Great feedback, thank you! Hopefully we will see you soon in our SkyLounge! Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,891 - 3,897 of 7,125 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location for sight seeing. For a Hilton chain we found it rather disappointing. The rooms were quite small - they would not let anyone book in to their rooms earlier unless they paid 40 euros extra. I read other reviews which said guests were allowed in quite early as they had arrived on very early flights. We upgraded to an executive room and they allowed us in at 2.00pm. The executive club room was on the ground floor - unlike every other hotel which has their executive club room on higher floors to allow guests a view of the surrounding areas as you pay so much more for your room. To make up for this the staff were amazing. Particularly the staff in the executive club room - two young ladies in particular - one who normally worked in the Skylounge. Unfortunately I cannot remember their names. Also the executive club room was open to everyone in the morning - not that we ate breakfast there as the food was very limited. There were not a lot of canapés at night and you had to line up for the food and alcohol at night as it was so busy. The beer did not get turned on until 15 minutes late one night but was still turned off at the normal time - probably being a bit picky here but there were a lot of people complaining about this. Overall we enjoyed our stay here - just think for the extra money for a club room you did not receive a great lot more for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river - you will get this is you have an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you Christine, for the feedback! Please note that in our hotel the check in time is 15:00. We guarantee all arriving guests a room at this time and in order to be able to do this we are dependent on the check-out time of the guests leaving the hotel. As this is 12:00 our housekeeping department is very busy between 12:00 and 15:00. We offer a prioritised cleaning service however this comes at a surcharge of €40.00 per room.
I am glad to read that you experienced our staff very friendly and enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon! Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights in an executive roon on floor 9. Had a fantastic view from the balcony. The room was very good with all you needed. the front desk staff weefficent and we had no issues with delays in checking in or out. The executive lounge was a great bonus with a free bar between 6-8pm with wine, beer and nibbles on offer. The breakfast was also very good. We ate in the City restaurant on the first night and the food was exceptional. The staff were always polite and friendly. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Have a river view room as high as possible. The views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JONESPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Really nice to read such a good review! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon! Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had a 11 night pleasant holiday at this hotel. I arrived in the morning and had requested the early check in service which was 40EUR. I felt this to be reasonable.

The room had a nice view of the city, was clean and the bed comfortable. I was concerned about room noise being so close to the train station but this was not an issue. The sky lounge has great views and I was offered an complimentary beverage. There is also a light menu but it is a bit pricey. I had a hamburger and it was delicious.

I received a welcome note on the day of check in and another follow up note with a tin of cookies towards the end of my stay.

I did eat breakfast in the restaurant and it had just about everything one could possible want.

The only downside was the cost of a local call. Even toll free calls had an unreasonable fee.

The front desk was accommodating each time I viisted. I would have given five stars if the phone charges were more reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for an early check in possibility if you arrive early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for you feedback! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed you stay. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I got a very deal on-line for two nights here. It was a very good and I wondered how it was so cheap. Then I saw the view, it was a brick wall about 20 feet away, no river, no canal, no Amsterdam. Other than that, it was close to perfection. Wonderful, helpful staff; clean, well equipped room. Great location near the Central Station. I very enjoyable stay. Not going to knock any marks off for it but the breakfast is incredibly overpriced. It's a lot of money to pay for a buffet meal that has been kept (almost) hot rather than fresh cooked.

Room Tip: Ask when you book for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Over the last three years I've stayed at all sorts of places in Amsterdam, from very very expensive to the not so expensive; last weekend I spent three nights in the Doubletree by the Centraal Station. This has to be one of the best hotels in town, possibly in Europe, up there with the Four Seasons for service - understandably without the flagrant luxury of those hotels, but with great ambience, a most friendly welcome and professional service second to none. Comfortable modern rooms, great shower, an iMac, and even a view over the river Ij.
What stands out is the atmosphere- it's a happy place, with the very best staff, on the front desk, in the restaurants and cafe, and no-one hangs round waiting for a tip. This has to be a top recommendation.

Room Tip: ask for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobyjardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

What a nice review, thank you very much! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay that much. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon! Regards, Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I regularly (i.e. at least once a month) stay in this hotel for business purposes.

The staff of this hotel is usually friendly and helpfull.

The hotel has a very convenient location close to the central station.
I really enjoy the breakfast which has a great variety.

Rooms are generally well equiped, but the decoration could be a little more 'warm'.

Recently they've introduced a lounge instead of the minibar for executive members. As they only serve drinks from 7-9 (I usually am not in the hotel around these times) I consider this to be a downgrade.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to city view, as the 'garden view' is a little depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivos86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for writing this review. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay. Did you know that we serve Coffee/Tea/Water, fruit and candies in our Executive Lounge 24/7? Hopefully we will see you again soon! Kind regards, Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,182 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £145 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing