We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We decided to visit Amsterdam to celebrate our 25th year together and we really enjoyed it. We had a suite on the fourth floor, which had a water-side view, a separate living area, bedroom and bathroom. Included with our room was a breakfast buffet and use of the Executive Lounge in the evenings, where there are complimentary drinks and snacks available. The staff at this hotel congratulated us on our 25th anniversary and gave us warm cookies when we checked in. The Double Tree is in a very good location just next to the Central Station. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a bit extra and choosing a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Very nice to read! I am happy that you enjoyed celebrating your 25th anniversary with us. Congratulations! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,325
    2,478
    702
    194
    131
See reviews for
856
3,000
331
1,272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yyc
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The rooms are VERY small. Very high price for the type of room that you get..the place is clean and nice, in North America can get like a place 5x time better than this but i guess its the location....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltop8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated!

I am sorry to read the size of our rooms were not what you expected; though, they have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.

Furthermore it is good to hear that you enjoyed our location.

We hope to see you again in the future,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you are looking for a convenient location and for a nice hotel, the Double Tree @ Central Station would be perfectly suitable. The hotel is a standard Double Tree Hotel but it has an extremely attentive staff. The Skyl Lounge on the top floor offers a panoramic view and a discrete but vibrant atmosphere. We had a room facing the bridge by the side of Central Station with a lovely view. The breakfast was ample and tasty and for only 5 Euros charge we had it served in bed. We were offered a complimentary meal as we were woken up by mistake by staff and the local police in the middle of the night. The meal voucher was accompanied by a handwritten letter from the duty manager which was a very nice touch. Despite the fact that we were quite annoyed about what had happened the night before (as we couldn't go back to sleep!) we thought that staff handled the situation at their best and were very apologetic for what had happened. It was a shame that we actually got our meal voucher after dinner time :-( Overall a pleasant staying. I would be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for you positive review! Good to read that everything was made up right by the duty manager. Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Vale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Good hotel in an excellent location, easy walking to city centre, of course Centraal Station, where its easy to catch local trams etc, and tourist information office. Good facilities, excellent breakfast, staff efficient and courteous. Our room was a little small, we had to step over or around some of our luggage and the desk chair. Yes, we know rooms can be a little bit small in Europe, but if I compare this to the Hitlon in Berlin at which I stayed in August as well as other hotels during this trip, it was on small size for a queen. We arrived around 11.30am and were told our room special request was not available, would we be okay with a queen size room, to which we happily agreed, our details were processed. Then we were told as our check in time as not until 3pm if we wanted to get into our room earlier we would have to pay extra, we were surprised as this as we have stayed at many hotels and if the room is available we have always been allowed to check in early at no additional cost, even at other Hiltons; we declined as we felt the charge was excessive.

Room Tip: Higher room, with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotty_813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay.

Please note that in our hotel the check in time is 15:00. We guarantee all arriving guests a room at this time and in order to be able to do this we are dependent on the check-out time of the guests leaving the hotel. As this is 12:00 our housekeeping department is very busy between 12:00 and 15:00. We offer a prioritised cleaning service however this comes at a surcharge of €40.00 per room.

Furthermore it is great to read you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the location of our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would first off, like to complement the management team, and the entire staff of this hotel for making our stay, EXCEPTIONAL!
EVERY single staff member we ran into, greeted us, (genuinely), and asked if there was anything that they could do for us, how was our stay, and to "ENJOY"....with warm smiles!
EXCELLENT!
The LOCATION could not be more PERFECT! Right next to Central Station, it is a quick walk to the tram, bus, canal cruise, or trains to other European destinations. Easy access to and from Schiphol airport.
Spotless rooms,(and public spaces), Apple Mac, (with wifi), and the cool European vibe throughout, make for an excellent stay...The views, (from the rooms, and the connecting "sky-bridges"), are the best ever. The view from the SkyLounge is AMAZING! We had the privilege, of enjoying New Year's Eve here with new friends from Russia, and Tunisia. SPECTACULAR!
Thank you, for an excellent time. We will return!

Room Tip: If you are an imaginative traveler, and can enjoy watching boat traffic, ferry, and tour boats, on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a positive review, we really appreciate it!

I am so happy to read you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return to our hotel in the future. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a great time at this hotel.

+ room was clean and modern, room included an Apple Mac with free wifi

+ great location, within walking distance of the train station and the red light district

+ breakfast was great, lots of it and lots of variety

+ skylounge was an added bonus, great party atmosphere!

- lighting could be improved. Was a little dark in our room

- minor safety issue, a metal shower gel holder fell on my foot - very painful! This was reported and fixed immediately.

- room service food was very poor, very expensive and below standard

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we truly value your feedback.

I am sorry to hear your roomservice order did not meet your expectations. I am confident upon a future stay, you will have a different experience! Futhermore I am very sorry to hear the shower gel holder fell on your foot; safety of our guests is one of our top priorities every day.

Besides that it is good to read you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the room and the SkyLounge.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our family of five spent a few days here over New Year's and were amazed at the friendly, patient, and helpful service we received at every turn. From the moment we arrived, when we were greeted with warm cookies and fresh apples, to any questions we had throughout our visit, the staff was very accommodating. Jeffrey and Elmo, the concierges during our visit, made dinner suggestions and reservations, and gave us other helpful tips on the city. The location was wonderful, walking distance from tram stops and city activity. The breakfast buffet was way above average, with all sorts of local treats, including raw herring, little boxes of hagelslag (the chocolate sprinkles you put on bread), apple pancakes, and even a honey comb, in addition to the basics like eggs and bacon. The room was well-designed, with little details like coat hooks, and an iMac that functioned as a TV and desktop computer. The view from the skylounge was also memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are very grateful for this and also very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us! I will most certainly pass on your positive feedback to the entire team.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel in the near future, when I am confident you will receive the usual high level of service that we are so proud of.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing