We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, superb hotel.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I am fresh off a 27 hour flight back home to Melbourne after a whirlwind European trip, jet-lagged and a little sleepy, but that impressed I was with the last leg of my trip at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station that I wanted to sing my praises whilst they were still clear in my mind.

This was my first time in Amsterdam and my first time staying at a Hilton chain hotel, and after the experience I just had it absolutely won't be my last on both accounts. Amsterdam is a vibrant, unique city and DoubleTree is in the ultimate base location to explore it all. Literally a two minute walk from the station, one couldn't ask for a more convenient spot. The views from the room were amazing, and a joy to wake up to and enjoy a coffee whilst watching Amsterdam come to life.

The room itself, incredible. Decently sized, warmly lit and the accurate & immediately responding climate control was fantastic. I don't know if this is standard across the board through their chain of hotels as again it was my first time staying at a Hilton hotel, but having a Mac with free wifi in the room was brilliant and so very much appreciated. It made for a very welcome change of having to stare at my mobile or my tablet to read and reply to emails. A very comfortable bed ensured an amazing nights sleep, and a shower with a good strong stream of water - a small creature comfort that is one of the first things I scout out when staying at a new hotel ;) - was the icing on the cake for an immaculate and overall very impressive room. It was so comfortable I had a hard task making myself leave it every day to go and explore the city!!

I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to *anyone* visiting Amsterdam, and I was that impressed by my stay that DoubleTree will be one of the first brands of hotel I source when researching my next holiday destination. The bar has certainly been set incredibly high. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BradFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
What a great review! Thank you so much! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,236
    2,407
    684
    187
    124
See reviews for
814
2,922
321
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Doubletree by Hilton Centraal Station is a really nice hotel, I booked the king executive room, nice view of Amsterdam, breakfast included and also acces to the executive lounge where finger food canape and drink where served during the evening. Sky Lounge bar on top floor also got a really nice view of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: My room 544 got a really nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, it is really appreciated!

It is good to hear you enjoyed the view from your room as well as the SkyLounge. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at a 5 Star Hotel in Amsterdam for a few nights then traveled Belgium and France and returned to Amsterdam at the Double Tree. The 5 Star Hotel was certainly that but it was not better than the Double Tree and actually not quite as good. The Double Tree is so well located that you do not need to get on the Tram/Trolley or use any public transportation while staying in Amsterdam (assuming you are only there for 3 days or less).
The food is very good and it is priced very reasonable. It was a pleasant surprise from getting clipped hard on food tabs at most places. The service was plenty of good at the hotel. Because the hotel is large they don't have the staff to pamper you - if you are needy person seeking special services then this is not the place for you to be.
Lastly, we discovered the best thing about the hotel on the last night, the Sky Lounge. This bar, lounge had phenomenal views of Amsterdam and the atmosphere is highly memorable.

Room Tip: If you can get a room looking over the courtyard in front of Central Station, that is the wasy to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for writing this positive feedback! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
250 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We live in the North of the Netherlands and stay at this hotel most times when we come into Amsterdam. We arrived early and thought to leave our bag there but due to begin Hilton Gold Members they checked us right in and changed our room to give us one with a great view over looking the city. The cookies as usual are fantastic. We stayed 3 nights as we visited museums and the Christmas Market in Amsterdam. Great location for hopping on trams to various parts of the city or just walking to Dam Square etc.
Service is always great and room spacious and clean, breakfast buffet is expensive but good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csbsn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Really nice to read your positive feedback! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel was perfect to celebrate my partner's 30th Birthday in. He was even given a bottle of wine & chocolate to say congratulations. I couldn't have picked a better hotel as my partner is a chef so we decided to try the restaurant out for dinner and amazingly we both enjoyed our meal and he had nothing to criticise for once!! Perfect night away. Sky bar had the most amazing tasting cocktails and the view from the bar was just breathtaking. We will definitely be returning to this hotel as the location was perfect, the staff were lovely and helpful. I will be recommending this hotel to all that I speak to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Great to hear, thank you! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

There are so many things wrong with this hotel, its hard to know where to start. Lets begin with the check in, the Hilton standard of the check in choclate chip cookie was offered to most people around us - but not us. After a half hour wait, we were told the only option we had was a disabled room. They tried to convince us this was a good thing as it was more spacious and but upon arriving it turned out to be more like a hospital room with emergency button by the bedside and the bathroom which had a chair in the shower which was inconvenient. So we went to ask them to change the room, after another wait of 15 mins I was given a room that I had originally booked with the promised street view. Upon reaching there I find the promised street view is that of a side wall of the hotel. If you crane your neck to the extreme end , u do see a street. Given we were shelling out major bucks for the river/city view promised and this was about 1 hour into checking into the hotel after a long train journey- this was very very disappointing to say the least.
Again, we asked for a change and were told nothing else is avaialable. So our long planned Amsterdam vacation for which we paid through the nose was spent in a disabled room with a chair in the shower, hospital like bed (so low I felt I was sleeping on the floor and it moved on rails!) and the view of a side wall of the hotel with a 5% view of the promised river.
I do not think there was anything the hotel would have done more wrong. We had booked months in advance and I wonder what policy made them give our room away to someone else. The in room tea/coffee had "syrofoam" cups! Never in my life did I expect to be dirnking my morning tea from a styrofoam cup while staying at a place that calls itself a Hilton. If this is what the brand has come to these days, I will plan never to book with them again. The offer to give porcelain cup on request is absurd to someone waking up to make their tea! So the expecation is we call housekeeping and sit and wait for them to deliver it - all this for the morning cup of tea?We did not try the breakfast or any meal so cant comment on the food.
This was a very bitter experience for us, which really ruined our Amsterdam vacation and I really hope the hotel takes some corrective steps to avoid giving customers this kind of an experience or stop calling itself a Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WonderWomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
As you mind understand, it is very disappointing to read about your recent experience with us. We do value your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service where possible.

Regarding your room: I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. I understand it is disappointing to have to change rooms twice after a long flight, I apologize. It is one of our key priorities to make every guests experience memorable and I am confident that upon a future stay, you will have a different experience.

Furthermore, we provide paper cups with the in room tea/coffee facilities, because a lot of our guests prefer to prepare their coffee/tea for take away.

I apologize again for not meeting your expectations and I hope you will give us another chance so we can provide you with the service we are known for.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you are wanting to go to Amsterdam to see the museums and have a central location to jump on the subway, trams, buses or intercity trains, this hotel is perfect. The room is small and there is inadequate clothing storage for a long stay, but this is Amsterdam, and everything is cramped. We booked an executive room, which included breakfast and some free Heineken for a couple of hours a day, but the best thing about the room was the amazing view of the city. We were there new years eve and watched fireworks for hours from the room. There was just a small shower in the lowest level executive double room, but it had good water pressure and temperature. Everything was very clean and well maintained. For the price, about $160 euro per night (which includes tax) it was a great value for what we got. If you arrive by train, don't follow the Google directions to the hotel. You can just get off the train and go left by the Centraal Station and cross the bridge right across from the hotel. You don't have to go out to the street and then come back.

Room Tip: Get an executive room with a view and access to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is greatly appreciated!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed New Years Eve with us! I am sorry to read the size of our rooms were not what you expected. Our rooms have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 3 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city center location.

Furthermore I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and view of your room as well as the water temperature and pressure. We hope to see you soon again!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing