We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is very clean and despite it is a very busy place, it is very quiet and comfortable. Helpful staff and easy check in and out. The fact every room is equipped with an I-mac makes it very handy. Rooms are a bit small but still nice. The best feature is its location, easy access to everything in Amsterdam. 5 minutes walk to Amsterdam Centraal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are very grateful for this and also please to read you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is good to read you describe our staff as helpful; I will pass along your message to the entire team. Furthermore I am happy you enjoyed the location as well as the Imac in your room.

We hope to see you soon again,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    2,336
    652
    180
    114
See reviews for
772
2,832
305
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed here for the weekend with 9 of my mates, the hotel is perfect, the Sky Lounge is the best bar in Amsterdam overlooking the city, the room was really nice, I'd stay here again. breakfast was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPhillips86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review! See you next time! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Having been to Amsterdam a dozen times. I can admit this is the best choice for being close to train station. It is slightly more expensive than other places. Great location. Club level allows entrance into room with breakfast in morning and free beers at happy hour. Clean and good overall value. Rooms with balcony are nice, but not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camelduece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We. stayed at the Double Tree for a long weekend just after the New Year. The hotel was exactly what we wanted, a great location near the Central Station. The services provided by the friendly, polite and helpful staff had made our stay very pleasant and unforgettable. Rooms were cosy and comfortable. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IgZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Great to read, thank you! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were here as part of a Viking Cruise, location was perfect. We took train from airport and walked 5minutes to hotel. All for 3 Euros each. Also dock for most cruises is right behind hotel, less than 5 minutes. Could not have made a better choice and hotel was excellent. Hotel has latest in Apple TV and computer in room. We took option of additional 50 Euros daily and got access to executive lounge which had snacks all day, happy hour for two hours each night, and breakfast. If you take advantage of all the above, it is worth the costs. We arrived early, and they stored bags without any difficulty. Did inquire about early check in, usually hotels will do this if rooms were available. They would but for charge of extra 40 Euros, never heard of such, but anyway would highly recommend the hotel and I would use again. Again we were doing a Viking Cruise, they will charge $500 night if they book the hotel and use the Moevenpick which is way out of the way, we did our own booking and it was a third of what Viking will charge, however we were responsible for our own transfers etc. On the day of the cruise, we walked from the hotel to dock with our bags and less than 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review! Nice to read. Kind regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Went to Amsterdam for a weekend break, choose this hotel as close to station which is handy for the getting to from the Airport. The hotel is also close to main streets, so can easily walk everywhere. We had executive room which was good, but only had queen size bed, when would of thought would have king size. Had view over city and Apple computer/tv in room.
Only downside is the executive lounge is poor, the breakfast was very limited, and when went in loung in mid aftermnoon everything locked up, could not even get cup of tea as there t bags and water but no milk or sugar, also the only time they do evening drinks and nibbles was between 6 and 8 when you getting ready to go out. Most Hiltons lounge open till 11.00pm.

On whole good hotel due to its location, but would not bother to upgrade to executive.

Room Tip: dont bother about upgrading to executive as all rooms seem to have good views and lounge a waste of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKKHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We offer 24/7 coffee, tea and water in our Executive Lounge, but have set times for soda's and alcoholic beverages indeed. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Love this hotel alot - been staying here a number of times, this time, checkin 9 Jan, for 1 night, checkout 10 Jan, Room 743 - Dockside Suite - the room was superb - i've usually stayed in one of the two suites with outdoor space, but they were full this trip so the hotel kindly put me in this room - loved it heaps - the view is amazing. The breakfast was great - I did arrive a little late when things were going away - i miss the Waffles in the packaging so I could sneak one back to my room with me! but otherwise the breakfast was outstanding as usual. I was very impressed with the new food choices at the SkyLounge - really great and the service has been the best of all - amazing for the Netherlands (haha). The room was clean, and remains in excellent condition. The lobby staff were excellent and looks like your cookies are even yummier than ever before - some new recipe? One area of opportunity - i would like some fresh wipes for the gym - so you can wipe down equipment. Most gyms have these just for cleanliness.

Some other constructive feedback - not particularly excited about Hilton's new policy of charging €40 for check-ins before 3pm, but that's not the hotel's choice, that's Hilton corporate management I had the some asked of me at the Doubletree Orlando Downtown - I can deal with it - as a Diamond it'd be nice to check in a bit earlier but it doesn't bother me that much. I know the hotel has to make money so this is sensible and effective management of their housekeeping teams.

Again, love this hotel, my #1 in the Netherlands. BTW - if you want to try a new restaurant nearby, try the 5&33 at the ArtHotel opposite Centraal station - great food and one of the popular restaurants but be sure to make a reservation ahead of time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
So nice to read that you enjoyed your stay that much! We would love to see you back in the future! Kind regards, Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing