We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Suitable if you are part of a conference otherwise too noisy and crowded. Not recommended if you are going on a vacation of with kids. Too corporate. However Location is good very close to the station and you probably could take a train from the airport and walk about 7-10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We really try to be hospitable for all types of guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future. Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,228
    2,401
    684
    187
    124
See reviews for
812
2,920
320
1,231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Friendly helpful staff, easy checkin and checkout. Hotel is just 200m walk to left of Amsterdam Central Station as you exit the station. Lower floor even has, coffee shop, Starbucks I think.

As HH Gold upgraded from basic King Guest to Deluxe and given Lounge Access. Lounge good for coffee, loads of sweets, but frisge for colas locked, only open for evening drinks, when alcohol and nibbles provided. Lounge is new and on the ground floor. Also Lounge provides some breakfast in mornings.

Room had Shower Only, no bath. Contacted reception who confirmed the lower room types are all Shower only (King Guest, King Deluxe, King Executive), for bath one needs eith a)Suite or b)Disabled/accessible room.
Some business travellers may (unlike me) prefer Showers to Baths anyway. I have already found a few (non budget, business even) brands tend to go in for shower only bathrooms.
Other Doubletrees I have stayed have had bathrooms. Maybe Shower rooms are a legacy as Hotel used to a MINT branded hotel.

Comfy bed, nice pillows, usual laptop safe, kettle/coffee facilities, TV was an Apple Screen, included BBC1/2 only for UK nationals which dissapointed me based on other NL Hilton Group hotel TV channel offerings (and IHG Group TV channe offerings)
Bathroom nice big fluffy towels, and hot water copious and instant when needed

11th Floor has SkyLounge. Great alround view ++ for when warmer/sunnier, a very large outside terrace which will be superb later in the year .

Pricewise, location room+lounge to sleep I'd stay again, but withTV only having BBC1/2 for me, and shower only bathroom, means only odd 1night stays likely for me as against multinight or weekend stays.
Yes staff will move you to a disabled room if available so you have a bath, but I can't take such rooms every time I stay.

Room Tip: Book a suite to get a bath in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback! It is highly appreciated. Kind regards, Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am very pleased with my stay at this hotel. It was clean, with very good service and the food was also very good. Located perfectly, close to everything and very conveniently located in the middle of Amsterdam. Personnel were also kind and very service oriented. It is definitely a hotel i can and want to come back to! Thank you Double Tree Hilton!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your last stay with us!

I am so happy to read you describe our staff as service oriented and will certainly pass along the message to the entire team. Furthermore it is good to read you enjoyed our food and location. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a company event there and stayed there for the night. The rooms are small and average. Could get a good sleep. You may get awaken by the trains passing next to the hotel - if you are a light sleeper.

Location - 8/10
Room quality - 6/10
service - what service? 3/10
Return - Try not to

Room Tip: ask for the rooms away from the railway tracks for lesser noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am very sorry to read our service did not meet your expectations. I would like to get more information regarding your recent stay with us so I can investigate what happened. Therefore I would like to ask you to contact me directly, referring to this review.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Really small and pokey rooms (not like pictures!) and generally a bit soulless; even the nice looking bar on the roof lacked any Amsterdam atmosphere.

On the plus in a good location if you want to be central or close to the station.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front, not sure if bigger but if at the back you're above the train lines so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We really appreciate our guests feedback so we can improve our service where necessary.

I am sorry to hear your recent experience did not meet your expectations. Regarding your comment about our rooms; All our rooms have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.

Besides that, it is good to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is modern looking, neat and comfortable. Location is excellent, 5minutes from Central station, make it easy to catch train. The staffs are helpful. We arrive early, but able to left our luggages at the front desk. We love love love the welcome cookie. Yummss

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilasofea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with other travellers!

I am happy to read you enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookie upon check. It is good to hear you describe our staff as helpful, thank you! We are looking forward to seeing you soon again!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Double Tree for two nights and absolutely loved it.
The room was nice and clean and the warm cookies on arrival were a lovely touch.

The staff is so helpful and pleasant, I dont think I've ever encountered such attentive staff, be it at the SkyLounge or downstairs in the lobby. All our needs were met which made for a very pleasant stay.

The location is right next to centraal station so all parts of the city are easily reachable either by foot, tram or bike. The views from our room were amazing and prior to arriving I had requested a room with a view, thankfully we were on the 10th floor and got even more than what we'd bargained for.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting amsterdam and will return if I ever visit Amsterdam again.

Thank you Double Tree!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank anais m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us, it is greatly appreciated!

I am so happy to hear you describe our staff as helpful and pleasant and I will certainly pass along your message to the entire team! Furthermore it is great to read you enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in and the view from your room and SkyLounge. We are already looking forward to your next visit!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing