We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is located within a short walk from the central train station. It is a very modern building throughout, so it sometimes makes you feel like being in a soulless shopping centre. Yet the atmosphere indoors is neutral.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the hotel. It is good to see that you liked your stay here and that you were close to all attractions from Amsterdam. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,706 - 3,712 of 7,196 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

As others have stated the doubletrees location is one of its main attractions. The hotel is spotless and the staff are professional, helpful and friendly.

I got a reasonable deal on the junior suite so decided to book it...not sure what I was expecting but was a tad disappointed...it has 2 rooms as such but both feel incredibly squashed. The wardrobe is tight against the bed and it might actually have been better if the separating wall wasn't there to give the room a feeling of more space...bathroom was also very small...to be fair it was the junior suite as opposed to the high end ones but can't say I was overly impressed with the layout

That said the skylounge looks great - altho only went once during the day - it's expensive - but Amsterdam is an expensive city and it's an impressive bar

The one plus point was that breakfast was included in the deal and it was fantastic

Overall a few gripes - I'm not raving about the hotel but I would recommend it...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niceguycolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, we appreciate this. I am sorry to hear your recent experience did not meet your expectations. Regarding your comment about our rooms; All our rooms have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.
Despite this I am happy that you very much liked the location, staff and the breakfast and hopefully you will consider our hotel for a next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Loved this hotel...so convenient to Central Station train station and to the trams...Staff is so friendly. We stayed on the executive floor and the breakfast in the mornings and wine and cheese in the evening were wonderful. Even though we've stayed in boutique hotels in the past, you can't beat the convenience here...and there's even a Starbucks attached! Perfection

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Stanton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

These are some great compliments, thank you very much for sharing these. It is really nice to read that you liked your room and that you have enjoyed our executive lounge and starbucks. Thank you very much and hopefully we will welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Great location. Good staff( they arranged all my wife's birthday treats) and even offered warm cookies on arrival. The location is ideal from the station(to the airport) as well as walking distance to Dam Square. It's a new hotel and excellent quality fixtures and fittings.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sabertoothtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing these nice comments. I am happy to hear that your wife had a very nice birthday in the hotel and that you could visit all the highlights of Amsterdam easily. Hopefully we can welcome you again one day! Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good position with 5 minute walking distance from Central Station. Friendly staff and nice rooms with comfortable beds. Fantastic views over Amsterdam from the Sky Lounge on the 11th floor.
Food and drink quite expensive. Very good selection of food at breakfast.Executive lounge functional with nice cheesy hot dutch snacks. Reasonable white and red wine and good coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gailgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

These are some really nice compliments, thank you very much! Great to read that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and that you went up to the 11th floor for the SkyLounge! It is good to hear that you liked the room and bed and I hope you will enjoy them again with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March 2014 for three nights. I booked an executive room with AAA rates, so it was a little cheaper than competing hotels.

The two most special things about the hotel are the location (right next to Amsterdam Centraal train station) and the nice views it has looking toward the city. Both of these I appreciated a lot.

The decor is of modern Northern-Europe look. This particular room was on a diagonal to the windows. The bed was comfortable. As with other DoubleTree suites, the room includes an Apple Mac computer acting as both your TV and PC - nice. There's a safe, robes and slippers in the closet. There's a writing desk, accent table and a small sofa.

When you check-in, they give you a chocolate-chip cookie - as other DoubleTrees. As part of the executive package you get - newspaper in the morning, included breakfast and access to the executive lounge. The executive lounge serves a smaller version of the breakfast in the morning (just eat in the regular restaurant) and serves snacks/drinks at 6-9pm. While it's appreciated for this extra perk, one night the executive lounge was packed to over-flowing with people waiting for the free booze. So many cheap people!!

What really impressed me was the breakfast buffet. While not the largest, it had some unique features:
* some Japanese food items - first time I have seen this in Europe
* honey dripping from real honeycomb (had only seen this in Australia before)
* loaves of fresh baked bread - still warm from the oven

A some things that could be better:
* The bathroom only has a shower, with no tub.
* There isn't any storage space around the wash basin.
* The room only has a smallish stand-alone unit to hang your clothes

But these are minor nits. Due to its convenience and competence, this is a recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing these great comments! It makes me happy to hear that the room was according to your wishes and that you really liked our breakfast. Great to hear that you would recommend the hotel! Thank you very much and I hope you will visit the hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I travelled with my wife in a party of 8 booked by one of the others in the party. Having stayed in Amssterdam several times I admit I was a bit dubious about the hotels location but my concerns were completely unfounded and as it happens I was pleasantly surprised at how little walking was needed to get to our hotel once off the train.
Also the 11th floor has the most spectacular view over the city and servesd drinks in a very laid back, ambient atmosphere well into the night.
We had pre-booked a 40th Birthday cake from a local patisserie and on the day of check-in one of the reception staff kindly called and arranged delivery to the hotel. I regret not getting the young ladies name (or the young gentleman who followed up the patisserie for us the next day)but its the little things like this that have prompted me to write this review.
I have stayed in the Crowne Plaza, Swiss Hotel and Kraznapolski (all good hotels) but have never received the service as I did here.
Little things like a fresh cookie on check-in, a waiter remembering how many sugars to put with your coffee or cappucino.
We were provided a booth for breakfast to set up 40 Banners and ballons, and the cake, once received, was brought out to us with our coffees.
Every person in our group commented on how god the service was and on behalf of all of us I would like to say thank you.!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyBecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for these great compliments!! It makes me really happy to read that you all enjoyed your stay here and that my colleagues were able to help you at all times. Thank you very much for the comments about the service and hopefully we can welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,008 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
354 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £150 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing