We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel has a view of the top end of Amsterdam. Right near Centraal Station. Easily accessible to the Hop on Hop off bus and the Canal cruises.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. I found the bed a little small. Apparently they don't have king beds anymore. I don't know if it was a queen or double but it was a little squashy.

The skylounge is amazing. The view up there is second to none. The bar menu is good. It gets very busy up there every night. There is even an outdoor area which would be lovely in Summer. There is a DJ every night as well.

The restaurant has lovely food and breakfast is good too.

Reception staff are welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenandkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It makes me really happy to read your feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our SkyLounge and restaurant! We have different room types with different bed types, we have Queen beds, Twin beds (two single beds) and King beds. If you would visit us again, please inform us about your preferences and we can assist you in getting the right room. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and hopefully we may welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,239
    2,409
    684
    187
    125
See reviews for
814
2,925
322
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Outstanding hotel: Good room; accommodating, friendly, efficient personnel; 5 minute walk to Centraal Train Station and 10-15 minutes walk to many very good cafes. Sky Lounge has super views + good nibblies (try the garlic chicken nuggets - yummy!) and Dimitri (from Greece) - one of THE BEST bartenders you'll ever be served by; DT's City Cafe has tasty food - typical Hilton fare - and good service. The only gripe (a small one) was our room was NOT cleaned well enough - I mean, how much longer would it take to clear used coffee-making materials before we returned to the room (Guest Services took care of the problem). The TA grade would be "Excellent" if not for that glitch. We'll stay there again next visit to AMS.

Room Tip: Rooms on front side of hotel probably have slightly quieter rooms, though the train noise was minima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for these lovely comments! It makes me really happy to read that you loved your stay in our hotel and that enjoyed our SkyLounge and City cafe. I am sorry for the inconvenience of not having the room cleaned on time, good to hear that guest services took action and helped you. Thanks again for sharing your experiences and we are looking forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Even pulling a carry-on the walk from Central Station wasn't bad. It did help that it wasn't raining.The hotel is well located and close to the tram station. The front desk people were very nice and since my friends would not be arriving until later and I'd been warned that there was an early check-in fee, I just asked them to hold my luggage until the others arrived. No problem with that at all. Our rooms were on the small side..ok for one but cramped for two, but clean. The bathroom was small as well but also clean. Breakfast and lounge privileges were included in our Hilton Honors. The main breakfast area was very good with a large selection and delicious breads and pastries. The food in the Executive Lounge wasn't appealing at all, except for the delicious cookies. On our first night we decided to get a late supper in the restaurant and considering only two other tables were occupied, we had to ask 4 times for our drinks. Finally one of our party just went to the bar and ordered and complained. The two waiters were busy talking to each other and ignored us. We did complain to the food manager the next day. I did like that the rooms had computers as I don't travel with one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marian0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences. It is good to hear that you liked our staff and our breakfast. I am sorry that the hotel room did not meet your expectations. This hotel is build to offer a comfortable stay for all our guests, which can be expected from a 4 star hotel. As we are on a prime city centre location we have made maximum use of the available space. I would also like to apologize for the problems you have had in our city cafe, we have discussed the situation in this department and I would like to stress that this is not our standard.
Again my sincere apologies and I do hope you will consider our hotel again for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Less than we expected from a Hilton. Was it because of Easter?? fortunately we didn't have breakfast there, it was soooo crowded! There was a loooong queue to announce yourself for breakfast every morning and we just gave it up! didn't have sense!

Noisy room (even if the guy assured us!) on the side of the Central station at 9th floor even with double windows which couldn't been open - so no fresh air for all the sejour.

New bathroom with nearly everything you needed ( NO bidet!!!). But here you are, it was a standard room.

POSITIVE: a pc for your only use in the room.
clean
perfect position

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None of anyones business
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is ideally located 1 minute from the train station and overlooks both the city in front and the railways and docks behind. On arrival the staff were so friendly and helpful and we received a warm chic chip cookie! A first for me, but a welcome one as we were pretty hungry after traveling. The rooms are bright, spacious, very clean and the beds very comfortable. The Sky Lounge rooftop bar and garden is a fantastic feature and we found ourselves popping up here frequently to soak up the best views over Amsterdam. Unlike some hotels the rooms were really quiet and peaceful you couldn't here anyone in other rooms or the corridors! Only quip would be breakfast if not included is 24.50 euros PP.
Highly recommend it to all and will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eimear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for these lovely compliments about the hotel! I am delighted to hear that you have had such a good stay with and good that you have enjoyed our SkyLounge. It is great to read that you loved our rooms and my colleagues gave you a warm welcome. Thank you very much for recommending us and hopefully we can welcome you soon again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We decided to go tho the hotel because of its close proximity to the Centraal station. However, the walk was not too short and most of it was in the rain, rolling tiny wheeled heavy suitcases over cobbled streets so that was not pleasant. The hotel was particular enough to make us pay for the whole stay in advance and not to let us into our room until 3 pm but not so particular to refund us anything when we had to check out a day earlier than planned due to an emergency. The corridors of the living floors were by design monochromatic white oil-painted from floor to ceiling, including the ceiling with the room doors protruding our of the walls, gave the place a storage-room rather than a living area appearance. In the room, on the plus side there were electrical outlets by the bedside but the room itself was tiny, the bed tinier and the window too narrow and the furniture blocked most of the view. Once we opened our 2 suitcases, between them and the bed and the furniture, there was no room to stand. Immediately outside the hotel is the big famous canal area of Amsterdam which while booking the place felt like an attraction. However when we actually lived there, the stepping out was not too pleasing to the senses. Everywhere is full of tourists and crowded and noisy. There is a certain tourists per square mile number, beyond which tourists become just annoying, even if we are a part of the throng. The surroundings of this hotel exceed that threshold by a factor of 5 or something. Exposed to so many tourists, even the locals in the area kind of achieve a mildly harried outlook on life in general and that is not too inviting if one is traveling in order to relax. Overall, not a satisfying experience.

Room Tip: I am sure some people have had a good stay at this place. Better look for a tip or two from their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is a pity to hear that you did not really like Amsterdam and the atmosphere of the city. As we have your contact details from the reservation one of my colleagues from Duty Management will try to contact you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had booked this hotel well in advance and as diamond members expected an upgraded room subject to one being available. I called the hotel in advance to arrange an earlier check in and a late check out and this was not a problem? Having checked whether executive rooms were available in advance from the hotel's website, I saw that they were. I was, therefore, hugely disappointed and confused to be told that there were no upgrades available on arrival. Even when I presented the hotel's availability page on the web to staff gat reception, I was again told that no upgrades were available. We received a welcome invitation to attend a cocktail reception on the roof terrace that evening which was well organised and attended by senior management, including the hotel's general manager. I took the opportunity to raise my concern about the upgrade with a member of the sales team as well as Christine Receveur, and was very impressed with the speed with which my concern was addressed. Within 30 minutes, we were upgraded to a City View Suite, the view from which was spectacular. Top marks must go to the management team for listening and responding to a guest's concerns. The executive lounge on the ground floor offers a good complimentary breakfast and the evening appetisers, although the same heated pre-prepared snacks, were welcome. The choice of drinks is fairly limited, but remember most Doubletrees do not have such a lounge. Linda in the lounge was efficient and professional and a male member of staff was extremely helpful in demonstrating how to use the draft beer pump in order to avoid getting a glass full of froth! The hotel is very well located for walking to many of the main sights and compares favourably with many of the five star hotels nearby. All in all, if you are looking for a well-located modern hotel with good facilities, look no further that the Doubletree! I recommend this hotel to all whether you are staying on business or for leisure. Thank you again to the management team, particularly the general manager, for responding quickly to any concerns we had, and for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDaniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the your stay here and thank you very much for recommending us! Again my apologies for the inconveniences, I totally understand your disappointment and I am happy we have been able to solve it. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing