We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location-very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
488 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great location-very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was important to get a central hotel for my elderly parents and this hotel, approx 200 metres from the station fitted the bill. By booking 3 months in advance we kept the price tolerably high (there is no such thing as a cheap hotel in Amsterdam).
The building itself is not going to win any architectural prizes externally but inside is another matter with great use of light. The Skylounge on the 11th floor gave stunning views of the city ( and prices to match those heights). We had a wonderful hour nursing a coffee looking at the city go round.
Good size rooms- I have stayed in many a converted cupboard in this town over the years. The empty fridges were appreciated- they are filled on request but are for your use otherwise. Beds were very comfortable. Excellent shower- no bath though. Good staff ( wearing horrible uniforms). Our 5th floor view was over the station and the Ij- great viewing through the wall to ceiling windows. Soundproofing good not perfect so some railway noise was noted. The air was very dry in the building so sleep could have been better and I woke up several times feeling very dehydrated ( no it wasn't what I had had beforehand).
Breakfast good but EUR 25 buffet was such you may wish to go elsewhere- quality however very high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Let me start by saying that it makes me happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you liked the building and rooms. Good that you have visited our SkyLounge too. I am sorry that you have waken up a few times feeling dehydrated, we will take this comment into consideration and see if we can solve this. Thank you again for sharing these comments with us and I hope you will consider our hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,177
    2,369
    668
    184
    118
See reviews for
791
2,875
311
1,212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was here for four nights. It is extremely convenient to the train station and public transportation. Given its location, one should not be surprised - expensive, small rooms, fairly comfortable, lots of people in and out, few amenities. The iMac in-room system is a very nice touch. The so-called executive lounge is always too crowded, with an overworked staff person doing her best to keep up with demands. The staff was uniformly friendly and attentive. The guest services / concierge staff was very competent and steered me to some excellent restaurants and tours. They were frequently up to their eyeballs in pushy clients, but would catch my eye as is to say, "please give me a moment...". I'll probably not come back here; not because of a bad experience; quite the contrary; the stay was fine. It's simply that Amsterdam has too many other charming hotels that I'd like to try before returning here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences. It is good to hear you have had a fine stay here and my colleagues from guest services have been able to help you at give excellent recommendations to you. I am sorry that is has been crowded in the Executive Lounge during your stay, but it is good to hear that your stay has been fine and the location has been convenient to you. Again thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here only because I am a Diamond member. We normally prefer typical cozy European hotels but I'm so glad we stayed here. It's a hotel you'd expect in Manhattan right in Amsterdam. The location is perfect especially if you're planning on doing day trips and/or excursions. The excursion pick up is right across the street. The Sky Lounge rooftop bar was really great. We spent the end of our evenings there with an amazing view of the entire city.

The service is impeccable! We got an upgrade to a King Suite and it was so nice to have a little sitting area. However, I would have preferred to be on the city side, NOT the harbor side. You could hear the trains going by since it's so close to the station but it was never loud enough to keep us from sleeping or to become an annoyance. If you're a light sleeper though, ask for city side and NOT harbor side. Either way the views are terrific. The buffet was incredible, one of the best I've had in Europe. Both American and European favorites which is always a great combination. It was free for me but would be worth paying for at least once.

If you're worried the location isn't "central" enough, don't be! The furthest we walked (to the Anne Frank House) was maybe a mile. The distance can be decieving since the city is so compact.

Room Tip: Ask for City side, not harbor side. Views are better and you won't hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgualario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am really glad you have chosen to stay at our hotel and even happier that you have loved your stay here! It is good to hear that my colleagues have been very friendly and that you have enjoyed our breakfast in the restaurant. Thank you for sharing these experiences and I hope we may welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has it all--location, access to local transportation, exceptional quality! It is within walking distance of the Cruise port and Central Train Station. It is modern, very clean and has a Starbucks on site--and comes with 2 warm chocolate chip cookies. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank KathrynM33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much having stayed with us and sharing your experiences. It makes me really happy to read that you have loved your stay here and everything has been perfect, thank you! We all hope you will consider our hotel again when visiting Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reservation and HH did not make a difference. We were given a room facing RR tracks. After protest and delay we were finally given a room facing the City and Canal. HH desk was cool to us. But, Bellhop desk was very helpful and dedicated. Hotel is conveniently located..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Burnside A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. I am sorry that you first did not have a room of your preference, I am happy though that after a room change the room was according to your wishes. It is great to hear that my colleagues from the front desk have been helpful and that our location has been convenient for your trip.Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

14 of us stayed for the King's Day week-end. 5 minutes from Centraal Station and just over the bridge from Centrum. Check-in was painless, the room clean and bright with the iMac taking centre stage. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the lounge and generally had a great time. Didn't interact with the staff very much but when we did they were first class. Doubletree is not a brand I've used while travelling, but it will be from now on..

Room Tip: Upgrade to the business package to use the lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Good to hear you have enjoyed our hotel and have celebrated Kings Day here in Amsterdam! Thank you for the compliments about the room and we are happy to hear you will visit our DoubleTree hotel more often in the future. Thank you very much and hopefully you will visit our DoubleTree hotel soon again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in late April 2014. I booked my stay well in advance using Hilton Honors reward points. I booked a "standard" room.

At check-in we were given a 6th floor room with south-facing canal and city skyline views. We did not hear any noise in our room from any trains during our entire stay. While small by American standards, the room layout was functional. Housekeeping restocked our refrigerator each day with two bottles of water (one flat, one sparking) for no additional charge.The oft-mentioned iMac on the desk can be used as a traditional computer or as a TV via an app installed on the computer.

The hotel features an "executive lounge" on the ground floor. At check-in I was informed my room included free breakfast and early evening manager's reception in the executive lounge. The breakfast offering includes scrambled eggs, smoked meats, various pastries, coffee, tea, fruit juice, milk, yogurt, etc. The early evening reception includes beer (Heineken on tap), wine, soft drinks, and assorted snacks. There is an iMac computer in the executive lounge with a printer and a large-screen TV usually tuned to CNN.

One tip: The guest services/concierge desk sells Rijksmuseum tickets and 24hr transportation passes. On the day we visited the Rijksmuseum the line to purchase tickets stretched over 100 meters, so pre-purchasing tickets at the hotel saved us a lot of time.

All in all we found the Doubletree to be a wonderful hotel with great amenities and a very convenient location with respect to access to public transportation and tourist attractions. I would not hesitate to stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room for excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeeJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay that much! Thank you for the great compliments about the room and our Executive Lounge, good that you enjoyed these. It is absolutely great to hear you would not hesitate to come back, we are looking forward to it! Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing