We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located a few minutes walk from Centraal Station and therefore perfect for exploring Amsterdam on foot or by tram.
The hotel is very modern with suites on top floor very nice with iMac and a decent coffee maker. The rooftop sky bar is worth a visit with nice views over town and good cocktails.
The exec lounge is on the ground floor and it really should be on the top floor, it is nice enough but if you are wanting to spoil your regular customers then a roof top exec lounge would be great.
This hotel is also very affordable in Amsterdam terms and won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for room on pure floors overlooking canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenA970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments and for your choice to stay with us! It is absolutely great to hear you have enjoyed our hotel facilities that much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,294
    2,450
    694
    193
    127
See reviews for
840
2,971
327
1,258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Loved the location. There's always a tram heading back to the Centraal Station. Free water and apples on reception, lovely staff. Roof more than adequate and very clean. Only less than positive remarks: We weren't offered a location map on arrival - the one that offers discounts to various museums, etc. I refuse to enter a Starbucks - and the hotel breakfast is Euros 29. I highly recommend the beautiful cafe/bar on the first floor of the station!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Sorry that you didn't receive a location map. My colleagues from Guest Services are always willing to help you with organising a trip / tickets for a museum etc. Please contact them next time, they will also give you the city map.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After staying in small-ish boutique hotels in other European cities, we decided to take advantage of our Hilton Honors membership and stay at this large hotel for the final leg of our trip. I had scoured the Tripadvisor listings for smaller hotels here in Amsterdam, but little issues ( no air-conditioning, weird decor, inconvenient locations, etc.) made me relent and choose the Doubletree. In the end, I sort of missed our small hotel experiences in other cities, though there was much to like about this hotel.

First and foremost, this hotel is all about location, location, location! We arrived on the Thalys from Brussels, and the hotel is literally next door to Centraal Station (though by the time you exit the station and walk past the bike lot, etc, it is about a 5-7 minute walk). There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel, and this was convenient. We had no problems at check-in (ahh, the Doubletree cookies at check-in are always a nice touch). We had a Queen Executive Suite on the 10th floor - from the pictures, I was expecting more of a view - we could see the building-tops of the panoramic skyline, but the water was obscured by the connecting building and lower rooftop garden in front of us.

Our room was large by European standards, and functional, if a bit bland. We liked the modern decor, but it just needed a bit more in terms of design touches. There were plenty of conveniences - a teapot, refrigerator, good closet space, a safe, iron, etc. The iMac screen was nice, but we didn't really need it (used the wi-fi and our tablets) and would have preferred a larger flatscreen tv.

The bathroom, like the rest of the room, was very clean. It had modern styling and fixtures, and the shower had good water pressure.

My main gripe - and the reason I could not give this hotel 5 stars - was the bed. I am just mystified by other reviews that said that the beds were comfortable. This was the hardest, most uncomfortable bed, and the bedding was flimsy. The bed was a huge disappointment. A big hotel chain like this should understand that the bed - and a good night's sleep - are what their entire business is about!

The location and amenities of the hotel somewhat made up for the uncomfortable bed. Easy to get to anywhere in the city from here, and easy walking distance to most of the main tourist attractions. The Guest Services staff were helpful in providing directions and recommendations - an Indian restaurant they suggested was the best we have ever had! They also suggested a visit to Zannse Schans, a charming village of working windmills just 20 minutes outside of the city, and one of the highlights of our whole trip. We also conveniently were able to rent bicycles from the hotel, and had a fun day touring the city by bike.

We could have eaten breakfast in the Executive Lounge, but opted for the main breakfast room on the ground floor; it is bigger and has a fantastic selection of buffet foods, with big floor to ceiling windows that face the canal/city , perfect for watching the morning bustle of bicyclists on their way to work.

Don't miss a visit to the SkyLounge. Incredible views, great decor. The food is okay, and service is a bit slow - we were there when a large group of conference attendees descended on the lounge, so this may have been a factor. Great spot to have a drink and watch the sunset!

This is a large conference hotel, although we did see many tourists there as well.The hotel definitely has more of an American feel to it - this may comfort the American tourists, but it's also a bit disappointing to not get that true European atmosphere. Still overall, the sleek, modern and upscale features make this one of the better Doubletree-Hiltons we have stayed in.

Overall, convenience, cleanliness, location, and amenities are great. Not sure I'd stay here again though, unless I can get a better bed!

Room Tip: If you want a view that includes the water, get an executive suite and specifically ask for it. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamer1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to read that you have liked your stay here and enjoyed some drinks in the SkyLounge.

So sorry to read that you didn't like the bed. We do have items that makes your bed harder or softer so please let us know when you're here next time so we can help you with this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is well located although if on the back you hear the trains. Stayed in a suite - you can book an executive room and opt for an upgrade to suite if available at the weekend. Only negative was we in a suite looked out the back over the water whilst the kids in an executive room looked out the front at Amsterdam city. The Executive lounge was at times pretty full. Breakfast was limited, granola , yoghurt, scrambled eggs, cold meats and cheese. However at times we all formed a queue for food or drink as the serving area was small. But it worked ok. Remember in Amsterdam you have to pay a city tax. Do hire bikes from the hotel - no deposit or need to leave ID. Slightly more expensive than other bike hires but you can keep the bike for longer in the day and it's well worth it for the convenience - no queuing, no losing time - just go cycle this cycle friendly great city. The hotel is close to the library which has a top floor cafe for good views. But go to the Sky lounge on the top floor - fantastic views and nice bar. Expensive but treat yourself.

The hotel was modern , hilton standard, well appointed and well located close to the central station for trains, trams and subway. But if you want cute canal side hotels try over Anne Franks house way. But the city is not large so it's easy to get around from wherever you are.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p4sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review! With your feedback we are able to improve our services. We hope to see you back again soon.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I made a last minute reservation for this hotel, staying two days. When he recommended a DoubleTree, I pictured something quite different than what we experienced. I assumed it would be a three star hotel but was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is located about five minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station. I signed up for the Hilton Honors as my points had lapsed, in good part because I started collecting SPG points. When we arrived at the check in desk, it was like being greeted by a best friend. Laurien welcomed us so warmly, taking the time to answer questions and make us feel like truly valued clients. Each time we came down, we received the same warm welcome.

The view from our queen bed executive view room was lovely, although it's a pity the hotel couldn't have had king beds in the view rooms. The rooms are small as expected, made smaller by an ill-suited table and chair sitting in the middle of the room. One fantastic perk was the Apple TV, which means that if you don't travel with a computer, you can use an excellent one sitting at the desk in the room. The only downside is that it also functions as the only tv, so if you like to surf the Internet and watch tv, bring your own laptop. Wifi was free, but the strength wasn't great in the room.

Which leads me to the other amenities. We used the ground floor executive club, which was well stocked for snacks and extremely well serviced. We were so impressed by the service. They have one type of beer and one red and white wine, so the cocktail options are very limited compared to other hotels, but the service certainly made up for it.

When Laurien told us that we could have a late check out, we advised we would be leaving early, too early to take advantage of the breakfast. She kindly offered to have one prepared for our trip to the airport.

I would definitely recommend this hotel due to its proximity to activities, the view rooms, and the service.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and want to save money, be careful when you book an inside view room. Several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
How great to read such a positive review. Thank you for sharing your experiences. I passed your kind words to my colleague. I am sure she will be delighted to hear them! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a busy five week holiday in Europe. The hotel is modern and stylish, with excellent service. The rooms are quite spacious and bed was very comfortable. But the best aspect is the location - right next to all transport central stations, harbourside, and just a couple of minutes walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I paid for 20euro for empty minibar to fill it ; from the nonsence mini bar menu. Client has to choose which they will not eat or drink I gorder 2 beers and 2 cokes ,at the and of stay , I didn't drink all of them , but I opened and trrow out the toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Burak Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It is not very clear to me what you mean. Could you please let me know if there was anything wrong, so we can solve it. Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,150 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,816 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing