We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for city trippers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location for city trippers”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here Dec 13 for 2 nights. On arrival the Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and greeted us with a warm cookie. Had booked an executive room with canal view. Was a bit disappointed with first room given as view was not great and it was very noisy at night. We were on top floor, right underneath the service area for the rooftop nightclub and would advise that if you are not a heavy sleeper you request another room. We did the next morning, and Reception were quick and efficient in finding us a room on the 4th floor with great views. They even offered us coffee and cake vouchers as an apology.
If you have the option, choose the executive rooms, you then get access to the lounge, which offers complimentary soft drinks during the day, a light breakfast, and evening wine and canapes. We found that coming at a cold time of year, we used the lounge a lot to warm up before heading out again. Also, a nice touch was the sweetie jars and bags, so you could nibble on your travels.
Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and with all the toiletries you need, bathrobes, hairdryer etc, so you can pack light.
This hotel is in a great location, less than 5 mins from train and tram stops. 5 minute walk gets you to the red light district or shopping.
Have booked already to go back again this December to enjoy the christmas market.

Room Tip: We didn't like top floor. Okay if you are a night owl and use the nightclub but loud if not
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvette741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to read your compliments about the hotel and it makes me happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in December!

Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,292
    2,449
    694
    193
    127
See reviews for
839
2,971
327
1,258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
288 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an executive double room on the fourth floor.The room was comfortable clean and tidy,shower and view over the city fine.
After reading awful reviews about the executive lounge,we enterered with trepidation,but need not have worried,it was busy some days but nothing terrible.
It was my birthday during our stay and we were given some complimentary prosecco to celebrate.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the proximity to transport hubs was great.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for sharing your nice compliments. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I am happy to read that my colleagues were friendly and helpful and that you have enjoyed the Executive Lounge.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is not a fancy place, that being said I really, really like this hotel. It's location near the Centraal Station can't be beat because the trams, the rail lines, the seaport, the canal boats and plenty of restaurants are within easy walking distance. It's clean, modern and the staff is very accomodating. Our room had a wonderful canal view.

I liked the Skyview Lounge on top of the hotel, geat views of the city, good food, drinks and comfortable furniture. I will stay here again. If you go, don't forget to ask for your warm chocolate chip cookie!

Room Tip: Get a high floor room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSeaIsForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words! It is great to read that have enjoyed your stay so much here.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed our SkyLounge and that you liked our Chocolate Chip Cookie!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A wonderful calm hotel in walking distance from Amsterdam main station, in the middle of the culturally active area around the harbour area. I had the pleasure to get to know the hotel because of its sponsorship for the Holland Festival 2014. The Muziekgebouw aan het Ij, the municpal library, the new science centre NEMO as well as the traditionally beautiful Scheepvaartsmuzeum are all around the corner. Beautiful view from the rooftop cafe, and great internet facilities in the whole of the hotel. Breakfast buffet is fantastic, as well as the personell and the service in general. If you are more shopping minded - Kalverstraat is also in walking distance, and you might risk spending pocket money at the big Saturn electronic shop next door. The rooms are amazingly quiet. Best spot to start your city tour from! With or without bicycle...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your very nice compliments with us! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, breakfast and the SkyLounge so much. I am happy that my colleagues delivered a good service.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is right next to Centraal Station and easy walking distance to all sights in Amsterdam city center. Very friendly staff. Rooms not the biggest, or best views but very clean and well furnished. Would recommend for a business trip where the company is paying.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gazpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! It makes me happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope we can welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam!

Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I traveled to Amsterdam with my teenage son during a school holiday. We chose the hotel for its central location, its modern accomodations and its convenience to the train station. We were not disappointed! Our accomodations was a junior suite with sitting/living area where the staff set up a bed for my son; both the separate bedroom and the living area had Apple TVs and free wifi. The bathrooms were a nice size with strong shower heads. The staff throughout the property was friendly, attentive, and helpful with suggestions. Our room was large, bright and had a spectacular view of the city. As Hilton members, we used the executive lounge which was terrific at this property. There was a beautiful breakfast in the morning and delicious treats throughout the day.

We caught the train from the airport, and walked the two blocks to the hotel. It could not have been easier. The hotel's location was perfect for sightseeing, as well as venturing out in the evening for dinner at some of Amsterdam's local restaurants. When we return to Amsterdam, we will certainly stay at this property again. Last but not least, we loved the chocolate chip cookies at checkin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences! I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you're looking for a hotel close to American standards, I highly recommend staying here! They have multiple bars/restaurants, very clean and tidy, and the hotel staff was excellent! I definitely recommend staying here if you're from the US especially!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel staff delivered an excellent service. I am happy to read that you would recommend our hotel to others.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#26 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,147 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,814 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing