We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a different stay (in a positive way!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a different stay (in a positive way!)”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

After a previous disappointing stay in the Double Tree we decided to give it another chance since the location in Amsterdam is perfect. What a difference it was! Service was spot on and all details we missed previously (warm welcome, personal attention) were in place. All in all it changed our minds and will consider again for the next stay (love the sky bar, especially during day time & parking is easy and affordable for the area).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I am proud to read that you received the service and attention which we strive to provide to every guest. Thank you again adn we look forward to welcoming you in the future - Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,288
    2,445
    694
    191
    127
See reviews for
834
2,968
327
1,256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Located adjacent to the Amsterdam Centraal Station this is a very convenient hotel for reaching by train of via Schipol Airport. Rooms are comfortable and clean, but quite stark. Overall very good. Would use again when transiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank LarryS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I am glad to hear you liked our hotel. I will most certainly pass on your kind words to the entire team at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful nd classy hotel with class.
We stayed there for couple of days nd out stay was great ... staff, ambience everything was good nd it's right next to train station nd has a very very beautiful ski lounge which gives a lovely view of the city...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivam_Vig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Great to read that you have enjoyed the view from the SkyLounge that much. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Amsterdam. We chose Double Tree because I have never had a bad experience in one in the US and this property was centrally located to all transportation and attractions in Amsterdam. From check in to check out- a truly stellar experience. We had a fabulous meal in their City Cafe. Our evening drinks in The Sky Lounge provided uninstructed city-wide views in addition to wonderful service and food. Each day we caught either a Canal Bus, tram or easily walked to even our furthest point of interest. The staff was cheerful and helpful from top to bottom. Females traveling sans men will feel and be perfectly safe here. After this initial stay, I would be happy to have the opportunity to stay here again in the future. I highly recommend obtaining an upgrade so you can enjoy their complimentary service in the Executive lounge. Wonderful breakfast service and great place to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of a long sightseeing day...well worth the extra expense.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SeawindsRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay that much!

I really hope that we can welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room was large yet sparsely furnished. Two chairs were provided - an office chair with wheels and a plastic yellow 1950s type. The room over looked the rail road switching yard in Amsterdam and was very noisey throughout the day and night. We heard the clickity-clack of the trains as they passed through the city. The bathroom was sub-par. There was very little shelf space over the sink. The shower is mis-designed because there's no 'ledge' big enough to prevent the shower water from going all over the dry floor. The bathroom will accommodate the handicapped with a fold-down seat in the shower and fold-down rails on the toilet. Very commendable! On the plus side instead of a TV there's an Apple monitor which can go both ways - use as a tv or use as a computer. You have the choice of either Safari or Firefox. Guest Services in the Lobby is very good. It's a short walk to the Central Rail Station so it's cheap and easy to get to the airport. We had great luck in that we stayed on the first Friday of the month! They had a band in the Sky Lounge (Top Floor, open air) which was excellent. Frankly this entire lounge was a chick magnet open to the public. Every attractive young woman in Amsterdam was there. An dressed to the nines. No jeans or scruffy stuffy but sharp, casual. The same could be said for the men. Yet this only happens on the first Friday of the month with the band - which was super excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 93raymondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback!

Sorry to read that you did experience noise coming from the trainstation. Our building has been constructed according to the strictest norms in sound proofing which should reduce any noise caused by passing trains to a more then acceptable level. Next time you visit the hotel, please ask my colleagues at the reception for a courd yard room. These are facing the yard and really quiet.

Great that you have enjoyed the band in the SkyLounge that much!

I really hope that we can welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

If you are arriving in Amsterdam by train, this hotel's location is conveniently within walking distance. Turn to your left, proceeding by a few thousand parked bicycles and the hotel will come into view. Though we had HH status, the room we were initially offered had a view of -- other hotel rooms. We accepted another room which had a view of the railroad tracks, which actually was fine with us as we are train fans. The room was OK but rather small. This is not like a US Doubletree; more like a European hotel with their famously small rooms. The Executive Lounge for HH guests offered complete breakfasts, though the room was too small at times for the number of guests and there were often people backed up in the line for food or coffee. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly and made extra efforts to make us comfortable. If returning to Amsterdam I would go However to the Victoria Park Plaza which we liked more and which is right across the street from Centraal Station.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing experiences with us. It is good to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry it has been busy in our executive lounge. This lounge is designed to give our guests who are staying in our executive rooms a place to sit down and have a cup of coffee. Sometimes many of our guests visit the hotel at the same time and therefore it could get busy in there, my apologies for this. It is a pity to hear you would not return to our hotel, but thank you anyway for having stayed with us and for having shared your experiences with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights having just departed. It was our first trip to Amsterdam. The hotel was fantastic! Check in very quick and easy, given out rooms at 10.30am. Rooms were clean, modern and had everything that you need from a hotel. The Executive lounge was great for breakfast, snacks or drinks before venturing out. We celebrated our wedding anniversary whilst we were there and the hotel provided a bottle if prosecco and chocolates to our room which was a nice touch. We used the fitness suite which again was clean, modern and quite well equipped. Another nice touch was the complimentary umbrella due to the poor weather. All in all a fantastic stay at this hotel and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you celebrating your wedding anniversary at our hotel, I am happy to read everything has been according to your wishes and my colleagues have made your stay a bit more special! It is great to hear you have loved our hotel and in particular the executive lounge, I am happy you enjoyed it! Thank you for sharing these lovely experiences and hopefully we may welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,812 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#26 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,144 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing