We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as we could not get another night at the great Boogards B&B (see my other reviews). It's just to the right of Amsterdam Central Station so very conveniently located meaning you won't have to drag your luggage across town and yet it's very convenient to walk into town, no more than say 10 minutes to Dam Square.

The staff were very pleasant, asking if you were okay or the if the stay was good. The rooms were very comfortable with great views of the City. Speaking of which it is worth going up to the Sky Lounge on the 11th floor with more views right around the City. Again speaking of lounges, the Executive Lounge is an added bonus if you get an executive room or have the right level of Hilton HHonours card.

It is busy however but that has to be expected I guess with a major international chain of hotels.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tycariadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for sharing this information! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be very convenient in town!

I am very happy our staff were very pleasant and you felt they really cared about your stay. That is why we are here for!

I look forward to welcoming you soon to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,476 - 3,482 of 7,311 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was here for a three day weekend on July 4. Great location, there are trains direct to the airport that run every half hour from Centraal station next door and the other train that has a few stops between Centraal and the airport run every 15 minutes and the doubletree is a 2 minute walk.

I arrived late morning and my diamond status was acknowledged and no problem checking in right away which I appreciated since I wanted a shower and to change clothes after a long flight. WIth the soccer game going on and the hotels filled I wasn't expecting an upgrade, but was told I had been upgraded to their skyview suite. Room had a large living room area and bedroom, 1 1/2 baths, and a large foyer/entry way. Great view of the canal and city.

Entire staff was great. Skylounge was amazing. I really liked the TV's, There was a large screen tv in the living room and a large computer monitor in the bedroom, both with full keyboards and mice. You accessed the tv through the computer (which was sort of weird not having a remote to turn the screen on) and was great being able to access the internet that way.

The only reason I am giving this hotel a four instead of five is the lounge. As others have mentioned it is too crowded and the offerings are awful.

They give all gold's access instead of limiting it to Hilton diamonds and those in exec rooms. They need to start giving gold's a voucher for the starbuck's in the hotel for breakfast or giving diamonds a full breakfast. The offerings at breakfast were awful, most US Hilton lounges have a better breakfast. Scrambled eggs and only a couple bread choices and they only had one two-slice toaster. No access to OJ except at breakfast and no access to soda except from 6 to 8 p.m. where most lounges have access to soft drinks whenever the lounge is open. The variety of jarred candies was nice and unusual though.

If they improved the lounge offerings and only gave access to Diamonds and those on the exec floor per the HH T&C, I would give this hotel five stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many thanks for this great review! I will be sure to pass on the compliments to the team, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will surely consider your recommendations regarding our Executive Lounge, we are always looking to improve our service. - Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

One of our worst hotel experiences in several years. The sleek, modern design belies the completely inadequate soundproofing between floors. We were kept awake most of the night from the impact noise of the floor above us. The extremely modern rooms were visually interesting, but lacked functionality, such as the undersized closet, and a 17" Apple Mac doubling as a TV. The
location is only desirable if you have an early train.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the tenth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jordan232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for your reply. I regret reading about your experience and I offer my sincere apologies. The hotel was build according strict soundproof demands, and it should have happened you were kept awake from the noise. Could you please reach out to the hotel directly so we can get more details on your stay and solve this issue. Thank you very much. - Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I are both HH Diamonds and we each had a award stay for 1 night as we neede 2 rooms. The hotel is very convenient to the train station and the wifi works great. Nothing special for diamond members. Originally we were not offered any upgrades but when I politely asked them they offered us Exective rooms. Although the rooms were very average they had the views of the canal. No TV (computer and monitor doubled as a TV), no hairdryer and no coffee in the room. As others mentioned the Executive lounge was very crowded at breakfast. They had the door open so anyone could walk in! At other times there was onky water, coffee and candy. The sodas and juices were locked except during 6 to 8pm which we missed as we were at dinner. The hotel is okay for a 1 day dtay but for a longer stay I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DisneyFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have shared your feedback with the team, and we will make sure to improve the breakfast at the Executive Lounge. Please note that the hairdryer and coffee/tea facilities are available in each room, you can find them in the drawers of the desk and wardrobe. Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you again so we can show do provide quality service we are so proud of! - Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

After a previous disappointing stay in the Double Tree we decided to give it another chance since the location in Amsterdam is perfect. What a difference it was! Service was spot on and all details we missed previously (warm welcome, personal attention) were in place. All in all it changed our minds and will consider again for the next stay (love the sky bar, especially during day time & parking is easy and affordable for the area).

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sixleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us again! I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I am proud to read that you received the service and attention which we strive to provide to every guest. Thank you again adn we look forward to welcoming you in the future - Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Located adjacent to the Amsterdam Centraal Station this is a very convenient hotel for reaching by train of via Schipol Airport. Rooms are comfortable and clean, but quite stark. Overall very good. Would use again when transiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank LarryS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I am glad to hear you liked our hotel. I will most certainly pass on your kind words to the entire team at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful nd classy hotel with class.
We stayed there for couple of days nd out stay was great ... staff, ambience everything was good nd it's right next to train station nd has a very very beautiful ski lounge which gives a lovely view of the city...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shivam_Vig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Great to read that you have enjoyed the view from the SkyLounge that much. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,087 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,366 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £145 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing