We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis,Mn
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You have two choices getting to this hotel from the airport, take a cab ( 50 to 70 euros) or take the train (5 euros) and get off at the third stop (Central Station) and walk 5 minutes to the hotel. If you get in early, they will store you luggage until your room is ready. If you don't feel like walking around Amsterdam. The hotel does have bikes that you may want to check out. Everyone bikes in Amsterdam and there is a bike lane right in front of the hotel. When you do get to your room you will notice that there is not a TV in the room. The Apple Computer on the desk is the TV just turn it on and select TV. There are plenty of stations to choose from. The way the Hotel is laid out you may not get a view out your window. If you want a view go up to the sky lounge. There are a lot of places to eat within easy walking, and there is a restaurant on site.
The hotel is a easy walk to the river boat pier and the cruise ship pier as there is an underpass next to the hotel that allows you to go under the train tracks. We never heard the trains while we were inside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank business-traveler-Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Lovely to read you experienced the convenience of our location and that you explored Amsterdam from our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,325
    2,478
    702
    194
    131
See reviews for
856
3,000
331
1,272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of the most convenient hotels in which I have stayed. Land at the airport, purchase a 5 Euro ticket, down one flight of stairs to trains, twenty minute ride, walk out of the train station, turn left, and walk 150 yards. You are there. Easy access to the trams that run throughout the city. I observed business travelers, tourist groups, young married couples, and families staying at the hotel. Very diverse group.

The rooms are very efficient and clean, and typical of most European business hotels. Although, minimalist lobby, the traffic at times in the lobby justifies this.

There is a Starbucks at the other end of the hotel between the train station and the front lobby.

The Executive Lounge is to the left after passing the elevators on the first floor. Breakfast is plentiful, and beer and wine are available from 6:00 p.m. until 8 p.m. The gym is in the basement and is fully equipped.

Restaurants are both in the hotel, and well within a short walk. If you are flying in from North America for business in the central part of Amsterdam, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for your positive feedback! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location, its close to the rail station, cruise ship harbour, canals, city and bike paths. Our room was large, clean, quite and the staff were very helpful and friendly.I will certainly check in again when I visit Amsterdam. PJ Barker, author of the novel Changing Pillion.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review. See you next time!
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Doubletree for 4 nights last week. The hotel is clean and well organized. The staff is top notch. Request a room overlooking central Amsterdam and the highest floor you can get. The views are tremendous. The roof top bar is one of the best in Europe. Sunsets from the bar (both outdoor and indoor) are dramatic. Pictures of the church steeples of Amsterdam at sunset are spectacular. The Executive Lounge for Diamond members has a Heinekin tapper going for 3 hours each night. The breakfast and appetizers are top notch. Overall a great value and superb location. Sixt has a car rental office in the hotel. Parking is under the building and is only 10 euros per day. The hotel is directly across the street from the train station, but is enough removed to not bother guests. Canal boat rides leave from the Train Station and are only a couple minute walk from the hotel. Would recommend highly this property.

Room Tip: Room facing the city and high floor. Go to the roof top bar. This bar is as good as the Trafalga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A modern , vibrant hotel close to the harbour and 5 mins walk from Centraal railway station.
Great staff, very helpful. I booked a Queen Exec room and although not advertised, it comes with complimentary breakfast and wine, beer and nibbles in the evening.

I have never used Hilton hotels before, but if this is what you get for the money, the value is fantastic. We made so many friends in the evening over the wine and nibbles, it made it very special. I will certainly book a Hilton hotel again. Superb!

Room Tip: Book early in advance, trade up for an Exec level room, its more than worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences! It is great to read that enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I am happy to read that you will book our hotel again.

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon!

Warm Regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If the manager is reading this (and I am sure she is) I would plead with her not to put up her rates s this hotel becomes increasingly popular. What is good about the hotel? Location to start with. You get off the train at Amsterdam Central Station, you turn left and walk to the end of the station outside. From there you can see the Double Tree, which is just across the road (on the same side). First thing you will see is a Starbucks. Walk passed it to the next entrance, which takes you into the lobby. There we found wall-to-wall staff. Each one we dealt with over the course of our stay was very helpful and friendly. As Diamond members we were fortunate to get an upgraded room -- and what a room (actually a junior suite). With floor to ceiling windows we had a spectacular view of Amsterdam. It felt like we had won the jackpot. For non diamond members (we could see in open rooms) the rooms were a reasonable size and certainly bigger than you would expect for Amsterdam (and I have stayed there 40-50 times over my life). On the front of the building those room would also have a good view (sans large windows). The inner courtyard rooms looked less inviting but all hotels have some rooms like that. The hotel itself in spacious and has a good feel to it. Unlike most Double Trees, the hotel has an executive lounge, where you can get wine and beer (but no spirits) and heated snacks -- consequently the lounge was excessively full during out stay. Hey, I am not complaining. It was an unexpected bonus but be prepared for a crowded room as you down your free beer and wine!!
As for the breakfast, this was one of the better Hilton properties. Good and friendly staff, good array of food. The buffet facilitated a full English breakfast (hooray). If you are new to Amsterdam (and perhaps Holland itself) the hotel is a great landmark to find your way to and from. Just aim for the Central Station (almost every tram in the city goes there). As for touring around, the interesting canal streets are largely across the road from the hotel so if you don't have much time to spare this will save you time. Come out of the main entrance facing across to the city. Walk straight acres the road and on the other side take any of the streets straight ahead.

Room Tip: The free wi-fi was in the lobby but was none the less available. Try to get a room facing either the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks for your very kind words and your very extensive review! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am very happy with your description of the hotel!

Again thank you so much. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. Please contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed only 1 night but really enjoyed my stay. Nice clean room, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom. Loved the little touches - warm cookies on check-in and free small bottles of water at Reception. Breakfast was delicious - plenty of various meals to try - pancakes, waffles, fruit, fry up... Great location and fantastic views from the roof terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank desbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our cookies and breakfast.

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing