We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #62 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked in for a couple of nights. In town for a couple of meetings and some sightseeing. On arriving at the hotel we were told that our room wasn't ready. Fair enough it was early (10.30am) We left our bags and wandered off. Came back at 2pm room still not ready (although other guests in the queue ahead of me were all checking in with no issues at all. So I can only deduce that even though I specifically asked for an early check in prior to arriving, the rooms were still handed out on a first come first serve basis. Not good and not what I expected. The rooms themselves were ok. Small but fairly well appointed. The skylounge is very nice although the service in there is very hit and miss. Friendly but not very efficient. Breakfast was ok, nothing more, nothing less. We chose to grab breakfast out in the City instead. It's not a terrible hotel but it is VERY impersonal and the staff didn't really seem all that interested in actually helping you achieve anything! They just gave a vacuous smile and essentially ignored everything that was said to them! Would I return? Nope, probably not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. My apologies for your experience during the check in procedure. I will share this within our teams to improve our level of service.
Hopefully we may welcome you back again soon! If there is anything else you would like to discuss, please do contact me personally.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,393 - 3,399 of 7,242 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and was very impressed. The location is excellent next to Centraal Station. Easy to get to from Schiphol Airport. Check-in was a breeze with a complimentary warm cookie a nice touch and we upgraded to an executive room. This gives you a view over the city rather than the railway track to the rear, although that view is not unpleasant either, as it looks over the water as well as the tracks.
Executive room gives you access to the Executive lounge for continental breakfast and free drinks and snacks from 6pm to 8pm each evening. The lounge is quite small and at busy times the staff were having difficulty keeping up with the supply of food and drinks. We over spilled into the main bar area as there was no seating available. Special mention to David who came out from the lounge and topped us up with some wine and snacks. Well over and above our expectations. Also, there are bottles of water and apples freely available at the reception area.

In fact the staff at this hotel were the stand out feature of our stay. Every member of staff we encountered made us feel welcome from just a simple "hello" when passing in a corridor or elevator to the concierge, reception and bar staff who made us feel like they were all genuinely glad to see us. The bar manager impressively remembered our drinks order from the previous day.

A visit to the Sky Lounge is a must even if it's just for one drink. The view of the city was fantastic as we watched the sun go down and our meal was excellent.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a visit to Amsterdam and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely consider an upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Very nice to read your positive review, thank you!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights in king suite well worth the extra money,staff very pleasant and helpful ,providing a very useful map.The complementary breakfast was good,plenty of choice,we only called in the happy hour once but the snacks very lovely.Hotel right by buses,trams and station.The river boats were only a few minutes walk.call in the tourist information to book tickets for Anne franks house,saves a 2 hour queue.Ice bar an experience .

Room Tip: We had room on 8th floor overlooking railway and river,even with the trains going past it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

It is great to read you enjoyed you stay with us! I will make sure to share you compliments with the team. Thank you very much for this review.

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is a great place with an even better location. The Dutch people are great friendly people. The check-in was a bit rocky but the staff took care of things so well that you tend to overlook the bad. The concierge desk really could use some attention. It seemed like they were understaffed and unfamiliar with the job. One suggestion is to place out some of the brochures to avoid simple questions about attractions and coupons. The foodservice needs a helping hand. Start at the dish room where at every service we had we found dirty silverware, glassware and even bright lipstick on coffee cups. I think you have a chemical issue because all the glassware for breakfast was etched. The buffet was well stocked and outstanding, however, with such a bad layout the bottlenecks and cross traffic just make everything feel too rushed. The equipment seems to be the major issues in this area as well. The juice dispenser is too low to fit the glassware under it (they sell stands for this). This caused lots of juice spills. The spoon laydowns are too long and people don't know which direction to lay the spoons (causing the spoons to get covered in eggs and noticing people using their hands in the food). The toaster needs to just be set at one setting everyday (remove the knobs if people change it). It should be on some setting other than one which requires 4 times in to get a light brown color. I know this all sounds like I didn't enjoy it but I really did and I just want it to be even better when I return. So please understand that I am pointing out these items for you to correct them and I couldn't find the right person to tell while I was there.

Room Tip: watch out if you have 3 people because the only room which can fit a cot seems to be handicapped roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truthfultraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate this as through this information we can improve our service, I will be sure to communicate this with the relevant teams. We look forward to welcome you again, and if there is anything we can help you with during your stay please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You have two choices getting to this hotel from the airport, take a cab ( 50 to 70 euros) or take the train (5 euros) and get off at the third stop (Central Station) and walk 5 minutes to the hotel. If you get in early, they will store you luggage until your room is ready. If you don't feel like walking around Amsterdam. The hotel does have bikes that you may want to check out. Everyone bikes in Amsterdam and there is a bike lane right in front of the hotel. When you do get to your room you will notice that there is not a TV in the room. The Apple Computer on the desk is the TV just turn it on and select TV. There are plenty of stations to choose from. The way the Hotel is laid out you may not get a view out your window. If you want a view go up to the sky lounge. There are a lot of places to eat within easy walking, and there is a restaurant on site.
The hotel is a easy walk to the river boat pier and the cruise ship pier as there is an underpass next to the hotel that allows you to go under the train tracks. We never heard the trains while we were inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank business-traveler-Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review! Lovely to read you experienced the convenience of our location and that you explored Amsterdam from our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of the most convenient hotels in which I have stayed. Land at the airport, purchase a 5 Euro ticket, down one flight of stairs to trains, twenty minute ride, walk out of the train station, turn left, and walk 150 yards. You are there. Easy access to the trams that run throughout the city. I observed business travelers, tourist groups, young married couples, and families staying at the hotel. Very diverse group.

The rooms are very efficient and clean, and typical of most European business hotels. Although, minimalist lobby, the traffic at times in the lobby justifies this.

There is a Starbucks at the other end of the hotel between the train station and the front lobby.

The Executive Lounge is to the left after passing the elevators on the first floor. Breakfast is plentiful, and beer and wine are available from 6:00 p.m. until 8 p.m. The gym is in the basement and is fully equipped.

Restaurants are both in the hotel, and well within a short walk. If you are flying in from North America for business in the central part of Amsterdam, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Many thanks for your positive feedback! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location, its close to the rail station, cruise ship harbour, canals, city and bike paths. Our room was large, clean, quite and the staff were very helpful and friendly.I will certainly check in again when I visit Amsterdam. PJ Barker, author of the novel Changing Pillion.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review. See you next time!
Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,038 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 373 in Amsterdam
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £102 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing