We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring the center of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fine hotel with location close to trains and trams. Only a short walk from the center and red light district. If you need it quiet ask for a room away from the trains. However you might then get a very dark room looking into a wall. Breakfast is expensive, so we went downtown instead, where you can find plenty of places with good and cheap breakfast.

Room Tip: If you need it quiet ask for a room away from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Strikkelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

How great to hear you liked the location of our hotel and that you were able to explore the city very easily using the public transportation and also with a short walk.

With regards to the rooms facing the train station please note the hotel has been build according to the strictest norms in sound proofing, similar to airport locations. In response to earlier complaints we have already done thorough measurements and have been working with a specialized company to find the best solution.

All our Standars rooms face either the train station & harbour, which for some people is a very nice and industrial view of the imponent Amsterdam Central Station, and for others not; or our courtyard which are very nice quite rooms.

Please note for a supplement per night you can upgrade your room to a Executive caterogy which guarantees you a city view and access to our new Executive Lounge including free afternoon drinks and snacks.

With regards to our breakfast, it might be that the price is higher than in the city however note we serve a breakfast in a buffet form with a very large range of food and variation.

I hope to see you back soon to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,258 - 3,264 of 7,133 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights here, lovely and clean, big spacious suite. Central to everything.
They a have a very nice restaurant. A good buffet breakfast. Great hotel to stay in if you are going on a river cruise.

Room Tip: pick a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sallys315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am very happy you had such a nice experience at our hotel. We will certainly pass on your nice comments to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First time visiting Amsterdam and have to say for a first timer this hotel is in an excellent location. 5 mins from central station and from the trams/metro and buses which take you all over the city. We got to check in at 9:30am which was great as we had just arrived and needed to freshen up. We were offered a garden view or harbour view room and given a map of the local area. Our room was nice but a little bare. I have previously stayed in a doubletree hotel in New York Times Square where my room was slightly more spacious but this was comfortable enough for the 2 of us. The staff were great! I unfortunately was pickpocketed in Dam Square and had my money and room key stolen. I visited guest services at the hotel and the guy I dealt with was great. He gave me info on how to contact the police, issued us new room keys and gave us vouchers for free drinks at any of the hotel bars to help us unwind. We decided to use the vouchers in the sky lounge and our first drinks came very quickly. We then ordered more drinks and after 15 mins they didn't show. I asked the waitress if they were on there way which she said they were. I waited another 15 mins and still a no show. In this time the tables next to us were visited and checked on multiple times and no-one came to our table. We started to feel slightly out of place and decided to leave. I grabbed the first waitress I saw and explained how long we had waited and she was apologetic. I wrote my comments to the manager who emailed me back a few hours after checking out which was great and she said she would feed this back to the Sky Lounge staff. I still rate this hotel highly as the hotel staff and the hotel itself is nice. I would return but probably wouldn't return to the Sky Lounge

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Niknoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel.

I am very happy you found the location of our hotel to be very convenient and that you could reach the highlights of the city very easily.

It is indeed very nice you could have checked in in your room very early to freshen up. Our check in time is a from 15:00 hrs but of course if we have a room ready and our occupancy allow us to proceed with a check in, we are glad to do that.

I am sorry to read the size of our rooms were not what you expected; though, they have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.

I am sure it was a very annoying situation you got stolen at the Dam Square, however I am glad to read our Guest Service helped you to get in touch with the police as soon as possible.

On the other hand, I apologize the service at our Sky Lounge was not as excepted, we will definitely take this internally with our Sky Lounge staff and make sure it does not happen in the future. It is always appreciated you let us know about anything you are not happy with when you are still at our hotel so that we can quickly take care of it as we did.

I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back again at our hotel and Sky Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Comfort, service and environment all excellent. Particularly appreciated electric cart available for disabled user. Staff very courteous and caring. Hotel superbly located near Centraal Station. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank BlueDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words.
It makes the entire hotel happy to read your positive comments!

Kind regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our 2nd time staying here. It is a great location and central to the canal, train station and trams. Last year we booked a deluxe room but found it very small so thought this year we would upgrade to an executive room. It is the exact same size as last year. We did have a view of
the canal. Next year we will try a jr. suite and see if it is larger.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindamaebda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review!
Great to read that you had a good stay.
Also thank you for your feedback regarding the room.
We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Warm welcome at check in, friendly and helpful staff who provided a complimentary drink in the skybar as we were too late for the free drinks in the exec lounge.

Room (735) was clean, smart and comfortable with a view out onto the city.

Exec lounge served breakfast each morning which consisted of the usual continental items. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was a unexpected surprise there.

Located less than 5 minutes walk from Central station, 10 min to Dam Square and 15-20 min to Amstel.

Overall an lovely hotel and would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Amsterdam to celebrate GAY pride. The doubletree is a great place to stay very close to the train station but a bit of a walk from all the bars. The staff were extremely friendly and the room had great views and was quite spacious. We opted for the executive lounge which have free bear and wine between 6&8 pm and offered inclusive breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank NAshmead-Siers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Many thanks for your kind words.
It is great to read that you would stay again.
We are looking forward to welcome you!

Kind regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 373 in Amsterdam
300 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,188 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £149 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing